Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
Write A Review
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Students Rising Above is an inspirational Organization focused on identifying students with personal hardships that through their daily adversity show a tremendous aptitude and will to go on to higher education. I have had the privilege to mentor a student that is now in his first year of college.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

Students Rising Above is an inspirational Organization focused on identifying students with personal hardships that through their daily adversity show a tremendous aptitude and will to go on to higher education. I have had the privilege to mentor a student that is now in his second year of college and have watched him grow in his determination to distance himself from the negative elements of his life and to be focused on how he can be a successful member of the work force. The fact that SRA is locally based, focusing on kids in the local community differentiates them from many other nonprofits
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

Students Rising Above (SRA) has opened so many doors of opportunity for me! As a young Black man growing up in the inner-city of San Francisco in an area that's filled with poverty and crime it was very difficult to see life beyond the neighborhood in which I resided, until I became apart of SRA. During my time with SRA my mindset began to transform. I was able to cultivate new skills and tools that would prepare me for life in order to now empower my neighborhood and communities of-the-like.

Throughout my affiliation with Students Rising Above I was able to attend and graduate from the #1 public university in the nation as a student-athlete at UC Berkeley, I gained valuable professional skills from multiple internships, I was able to build invaluable relationships with mentors and professionals, and I was able to participate in a prestigious national leadership training program called Coro Fellows Program in Public Affairs.

The investment from partners and supporters of Students Rising Above is what keeps it thriving & effective. Since joining SRA back in 2008 I am amazed to see how much impact they are creating for youth in the Bay Area region and how much they have grown since my time as a participant. Now as a SRA alum, I look forward to continue supporting SRA and seeing it continue to grow.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

An incredibly impactful organization because it helps students who come from the most disadvantaged backgrounds (when I say disadvantaged, I mean no parents, group homes, foster children, around drugs, gangs, abuse 24/7, extremely impoverished). These students that apply for SRA have made the decision themselves that they want a better life. They are self-motivated to succeed and SRA helps by giving them the tools and platform to do so. It's not an organization that gives fish but teaches to fish -- the most impactful kind
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

There are many organizations that focus on advancing educational opportunities for disadvantaged youth, however the thing that attracted me to Students Rising Above is the breadth of their program and their desire to give students all the tools to be successful - getting into college, graduating from college and finding jobs. The students are wonderful and really embrace all of the opportunities SRA offers them - coaching, interviewing workshops, internships and mentorships. It is very inspiring to meet these young students and to support them through their journey!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I was a recipient of Students Rising Above from the age of 16 until I graduated from University. I had a rough start to life. My family struggled financially and we ended up homeless until I was placed into foster care. I remained strong academically, but didn't know how I would (realistically) get into and let alone pay for and graduate from college.

Students Rising Above made it possible for me. Among other things, they paid for me to take an SAT training course, helped me with the complicated financial aid forms and college applications, gave me a laptop, helped to support me financially and emotionally, and with the transition from university to career.

I now have a degree in Economics and a Masters in Finance. I work in the Tech industry with a promising career and a future better than anyone with have expected from a foster kid.

Now I want to give back by volunteering with the organization, but there is no way I can ever re-pay what the organization and all the wonderful people in it, have done for me :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I became a mentor in fall of 2010 for SRA, and my life hasn't been the same since. I met Charleen my mentee who has become an important part of my life, and has inspired me on so many levels. SRA has been a constant presence in Charleen's life, helping her with funds during emergencies, academic advising support during the school year, and activities to share together. She always speaks of SRA with pride, and the program has been instrumental to her success getting into college (with two full ride scholarships!) and excelling at Berkeley. I can't speak highly enough about the professionalism and powerful spirit of SRA organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first volunteered to work on the Gala Committee 3 years ago. My experience was so positive, that last year I became a Mentor. Students Rising Above ("SRA") is an outstanding organization that not only assists talented youth with financial support needed for college, but also with academic guidance and emotional support necessary for the successful matriculation from college, and well beyond. The time I have spent on the Gala Committee, as well as with my student, has been wonderful and I highly recommend this organization. Chetuan L. Shaffer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything right now

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have been a volunteer with SRA for 7 yrs. This is a terrific program assisting motivated, sharp, interesting kids to achieve their educational aspirations by supporting them in all the most important ways. Many, many success stories are testament to the organization's great work. I have mentored three students-two are graduates of Brown and both are now teaching and traveling. This is the program where volunteers will feel a personal connection to the students and see rewards for involvement!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

they are doing fabulous work, growing and helping more kids every year..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

What makes Students Rising Above exceptional is that their commitment to students' success extends well beyond college scholarship. They realize that in addition to financial aid, disadvantaged youth need a robust network of support including mentors, health care, and college/career advisors to achieve their educational goals and find their professional path. I feel honored to have contributed to this compassionate and results oriented effort. All of the people I have met through this organization have been wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers