Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first volunteered to work on the Gala Committee 3 years ago. My experience was so positive, that last year I became a Mentor. Students Rising Above ("SRA") is an outstanding organization that not only assists talented youth with financial support needed for college, but also with academic guidance and emotional support necessary for the successful matriculation from college, and well beyond. The time I have spent on the Gala Committee, as well as with my student, has been wonderful and I highly recommend this organization. Chetuan L. Shaffer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything right now

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have been a volunteer with SRA for 7 yrs. This is a terrific program assisting motivated, sharp, interesting kids to achieve their educational aspirations by supporting them in all the most important ways. Many, many success stories are testament to the organization's great work. I have mentored three students-two are graduates of Brown and both are now teaching and traveling. This is the program where volunteers will feel a personal connection to the students and see rewards for involvement!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

they are doing fabulous work, growing and helping more kids every year..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

What makes Students Rising Above exceptional is that their commitment to students' success extends well beyond college scholarship. They realize that in addition to financial aid, disadvantaged youth need a robust network of support including mentors, health care, and college/career advisors to achieve their educational goals and find their professional path. I feel honored to have contributed to this compassionate and results oriented effort. All of the people I have met through this organization have been wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Students Rising Above (SRA) has a small but extremely dedicated and hardworking administrative team – I can’t believe the amount of work they do, putting on their various fundraising events throughout the year, including the Gala in the spring and the GRADWalk in the summer.

I’ve
volunteered at SRA’s annual Gala for over 5 years now, which is always an incredible event because it features the heartwarming and, many times, heartbreaking stories of the students they serve. Many of these students have been through so much, and yet are doing well in school, recognizing how important a good education is for their futures. I've also volunteered at all 3 GRADWalks, which is a really fun 5K walkathon in Golden Gate Park, with lots of SRA students participating. After the walk, SRA honors their high school and college graduates for the current year.

It's been impressive to see SRA's growth over the time I've been volunteering -- this year they've got 100 new students in the program! I heartily recommend SRA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

SRA is a wonderful organization that changes the lives of the students that they assist. They are able to guide the students through the college application process, financial aid applications as well as the painful process of choosing the best college fit. Advisors help with the process above and volunteer mentors enrich the students' lives with activities, new experiences and sometime the simple gift of a caring listener.

During the summer the mentors, advisors and staff help the students prepare for college by shopping together for dorm room supplies, setting up their new computers and giving seminars on college life, financial planning and much, much more.

The greatest attribute of this program is that the needs and success of the student are always the first priority.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure it had unlimited funding so that they could take every student in need of their help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Students Rising Above(SRA) is an excellent organization serving at-risk students in the San Francisco Bay Area. Their mission statement compelled me to become a part of their group of dedicated individuals focused on assisting youth achieve their goals. SRA provides the comfort, knowledge and resources the youth need to overcome their environment while developing skills to create a successful career and become a positive member of our society. This has been a very rewarding and heartfelt opportunity for me as I witnessed a student mature as she prepared for college. BHuds

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work with SRA in supporting more students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

Nearly a year ago, I was seated on a flight from SFO to Boston. It was a long flight and I immediately struck up a conversation with my rowmate. After sharing many stories, she mentioned "you should... more

September 25, 2013

Students Rising Above invests in low-income, first generation college students who have demonstrated a deep commitment to education and strength of character in overcoming tremendous odds of poverty, homelessness, and neglect. SRA help each student to realize his or her potential by guiding and supporting them through college graduation, and into the workforce. One of the ways SRA help each student is by pairing them with a mentor....my husband and I are mentors to an amazing young woman, Meagan, who is starting her Freshman year at UC Santa Cruz. Meagan is truly a Student Rising Above and we are so honored to be with her on her journey!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the reach to be nationwide....so many could benefit from this organization's approach!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

Nearly a year ago, I was seated on a flight from SFO to Boston. It was a long flight and I immediately struck up a conversation with my rowmate. After sharing many stories, she mentioned "you should be a mentor." I was flattered, but didn't really know how to respond. After a couple of hours (and more stories), she made the same comment. So, I asked "what exactly do you mean?" She went on to tell me about Students Rising Above (she was a volunteer and board member) and I was so moved. An organization so targeted and focused was very appealing to me! I was immediately sold and wanted to get involved. When I settled in to my hotel room, I called my husband and said "Honey, guess what we're going to get to do?" Fast forward to today, we are mentors with SRA and we're getting ready to throw an 18th birthday party for our student! The opportunity to share in the life of a hopeful youth is the gift SRA gives to me and my husband! Forever grateful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

SRA is an amazing program that provides an arm of academic support and also personal support for students.

SRA has an amazing academic advisor team that is extremely helpful in guiding the students through college applications and the decision making process.

On the other hand I
have had the opportunity to be a part of the mentorship program where I got to be the fun, light side of things.
It's clear that they care very much about making sure the mentor/mentee relationships are meaningful by investing a lot of time into preparing the mentors and mentees separately before they meet and setting expectations for both sides.

The whole team is very sweet and supportive, also organizing get togethers for mentors to hear from one another.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I volunteer for Students Rising Above in a small way but that is due to a lack of time. I choose my volunteer activities very carefully and I have found SRA to be a very worthwhile cause. I recently had the
chance to attend their fundraising event and was very impressed. mainly with the kids
that benefit from the donations and how they give back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't say that I would change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I learned about SRA many years ago. I started volunteering through National Charity League, a mother daughter volunteer organization. When my daughter left for college, I began independently volunteering for SRA. I have experienced many different volunteer jobs there. I am on the gala committee, I have worked with students writing resumes and I mentor two SRA students. The thing that I really appreciate about SRA is that whether you are donating time or money, you have the opportunity to talk with the students, get to know them and see just what a life changing experience your donation is providing for them. With all this interaction available, when you do become involved, you also have a life changing experience. Now that is really golden.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

simply help them grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers