Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
125 Reviews
1234.9765
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
December 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

My cousin, Elaine Poggi, did everything she could to help her Mother fight her battle. She diligently learned all she could about the disease, associated tests, personally knew all clinical caregive... more

December 11, 2012

I have known Elaine Poggi all my life, as she is my cousin. I watched as she cared for my Great Aunt Leona battle for her life to survive cancer. Elaine worked tirelessly to provide a peaceful place for her Mom so that she could savor her time left on this Earth. The conversations, memories, and time shared during that period transformed both women. When Elaine needed to meet with doctors, run errands or get respite herself, she placed some of her photographs on the walls so that her Mom could transport her mind to another beautiful place. After my Great Aunt Leona passed, Elaine knew that the quality of life given to her Mom during that time had formulated her path to creating this Foundation. In fact, I distinctly remember the day in 2002 when she stated she was starting a Foundation to place photos in hospitals, in order to create a healing environment for all patients. Who knew--over a chicken salad lunch of all things!! While I knew she was a wonderful pianist, I was not aware she was an inspirational and talented photographer. I cannot begin to convey the untold joy I have experienced as I watched her reach beyond her grief to place thousands of photos in hospitals all over the world--all for the benefit of people she will never know in this life. It has been a privilege to have served on her Board of Directors for ten years, leaving only to address professional commitments. Elaine is a rare soul, truly dedicated to the simplistic beauty of a sunrise, the peaceful presence of a baby's sigh, and the power of holding someone's hand. And, she strives to capture these breathtaking moments and share them with the world--all in the name of nurturing their souls to optimum health. I am VERY proud of her and her selfless, generous work to make the world a better place--one photograph at a time. I love you Elaine--may your soul always be directed by the very hand of God. Always My Love & Best Wishes - Dawn Runge, Ph.D.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

My cousin, Elaine Poggi, did everything she could to help her Mother fight her battle. She diligently learned all she could about the disease, associated tests, personally knew all clinical caregivers, and even tried to put up her own photos to brighten her Mom's room. Several of the caregivers begin to comment on the photos and how they not only helped her Mom, but they all wanted to be her Mom's nurse since the photos cheered them up as well! And, if you know anything about health care, being a nurse is a difficult job to say the least. Hence, Elaine continued to not only post the photos, but change them on a regular basis to keep things interesting for everyone. Sadly, in the end, Elaine's Mom (and my Great Aunt) lost her battle. Yet, a idea was born! Elaine knew her destiny was to create beautiful, yet serene photos for patients all over the world can enjoy. For maybe a minute, patients can transport themselves to a better world where there is no pain, no worries and they are part of the beauty surrounding them. I served on the Board for 10 years, diligently working with Elaine to help fulfill her dream. And, the honor has been all mine. I am humbled to know that in a small, yet extremely powerful way, I am making a difference to patients all over the world. I love my cousin and I am VERY proud of her and her work!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

We are celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Foundation for Photo/Art in Hospitals. Elaine Poggi's tireless commitment to communicating the joy of God's creation has touched countless lives throughout the world. The Foundation receives letters of thanks not only from patients and their families, but also from doctors, nurses, and hospital administrators who tell us how the photographs brighten their day and enrich their relationships. A miracle of healing resides in a smile.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

I am honored to be part of an organization that takes an active role in changing the environment in which health care is delivered. Elaine and the Foundation's work provide a sense of beauty, comfort and distraction from the sterile, impersonal aspect of hospitals that patients usually encounter. Having the Foundation's art in a hospital setting creates a calmer and more natural setting. This can dramatically reduce fear and anxiety for patients and by doing so, has the ability to improve the mental and physical state of patients and medical staff alike. This is an important, necessary and overlooked benefit. My wish is that many more medical centers will make the changes that this Foundation helps to provide, as a part of improving the way medical care is delivered. Elaine, as founder of the Foundation, is dedicated and committed to this vision. It is inspirational to work with her.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

This foundation is truly an act of kindness and generosity. It not only impact the patients at these hospitals, but he family, friends, and staff also at these hospitals. Wonderfully simple concept with scientific fact that it helps people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

This is a wonderful project. I've been fortunate enough to donate my art to this foundation and they've handled all of the logistics of placing the art in hospitals in the far corners of the world that I will never get to visit. I love knowing that somewhere one of my pieces might be giving a brief moment of beauty and peace to busy, stressed people. I also like to know that an intimate view of my part of the world is being shared with people far away, and that they are only getting to experience that perspective because of the efforts of this foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

My experience while working with Elaine at The Foundation for Photo/Art in Hospitals could only be described as truly positive! As a graphic designer living and working abroad, it was a pleasure to donate my time and effort towards a non-profit committed to improving the lives of patients in hospitals around the world. Now, back home in Canada, I hope to one day have the chance to work with the organization again... it was a blast. Thanks Elaine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

I have known Elaine Poggi and her Foundation for many years and greatly admire her motivation, creativity, and determination. As a clinical psychologist in Florence, Italy I often encourage my patients to make their own original drawings or go out in the city and take photos of whatever may stimulate them. This allows them, especially the patients with depression to express their own feelings and to discover their own creativity. Also in my office I have many paintings and sketches, some given to me by former patients and others by professional artists both well known in Florence or novices in the art community. I frequently ask my patients to carefully observe a painting or a photo and to tell me their first impressions, their reactions, emotions they may feel while looking at it. This helps to open up some new areas of importance that might have been unconscoius or repressed before.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

Elaine Poggi, the founder and Executive Director, heard about my school's project in Cambodia. She immediately and kindly offered me photographs to bring to the hospital in Pailin, Cambodia. They were installed by the students in the various wards. Elaine is very generous in promoting beautifying hospitals around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

Foundation for Photo Art in Hospitals is a gift to those who need it the most. Having spent a lot of time with family members in the hospital, I know how the beauty of God's natural world can uplift and inspire those who live inside sterile walls for days, if not weeks and months. Elaine's photos, and the photos of other volunteers, are exceptional!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

The idea of 'place' and nature is important to us all and our surroundings are seldom more important to us then when we are ill and have been removed from our homes. It creates additional stress and fear, with little comfort or distraction. Creating a welcoming environment in hospital settings around the world is a wonderful and humanitarian mission. Elaine Poggi knows this from vast and personal experience and her founding of Healing Photo Art is a testament to her ability and her commitment to creating a healing environment to patients and hospital staff throughout the world. We are delighted to have benefited from her art work and know first hand that it brings joy and calm to an otherwise impersonal environment. Karen Simonton Executive Director Simonton Cancer Center

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers