Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
117 Reviews
1234.974365
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

Elaine Poggi, the founder and Executive Director, heard about my school's project in Cambodia. She immediately and kindly offered me photographs to bring to the hospital in Pailin, Cambodia. They were installed by the students in the various wards. Elaine is very generous in promoting beautifying hospitals around the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

Foundation for Photo Art in Hospitals is a gift to those who need it the most. Having spent a lot of time with family members in the hospital, I know how the beauty of God's natural world can uplift and inspire those who live inside sterile walls for days, if not weeks and months. Elaine's photos, and the photos of other volunteers, are exceptional!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 26, 2010

Elaine's mother, Leona, was one of my favorite people. She always encouraged and supported me, especially my musical endeavors. When she became ill, Elaine was her main support, present with her mot... more

May 25, 2012

My father wanted to express appreciation to the hospital and its staff that cared for him so well. Elaine took the extra time and effort to work with the staff of the area that was to receive the donated photos. She created a beautiful memorial to my father that was mounted appropriately and matched my father's life so well. Thank you, Elaine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 26, 2010

Elaine's mother, Leona, was one of my favorite people. She always encouraged and supported me, especially my musical endeavors. When she became ill, Elaine was her main support, present with her mother at every moment even though it meant leaving her home in Italy for months at a time. From this painful experience came this wonderful foundation, whose art provides encouragement and support for what can be the hardest time in people's lives. I'm grateful for Elaine's work and efforts, and I feel that she is keeping the spirit of her mother alive through this.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

With Elaine's positive and creative energy, the possibilities are endless. I know she would be able to imagine even more ways to bring solace and beauty to patients.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

The idea of 'place' and nature is important to us all and our surroundings are seldom more important to us then when we are ill and have been removed from our homes. It creates additional stress and fear, with little comfort or distraction. Creating a welcoming environment in hospital settings around the world is a wonderful and humanitarian mission. Elaine Poggi knows this from vast and personal experience and her founding of Healing Photo Art is a testament to her ability and her commitment to creating a healing environment to patients and hospital staff throughout the world. We are delighted to have benefited from her art work and know first hand that it brings joy and calm to an otherwise impersonal environment. Karen Simonton Executive Director Simonton Cancer Center

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I grew up with Elaine in Sparta, IL, from kindergarten to high school graduation. She was always very smart, creative, compassionate and loved life. I am not surprised to see her passion for nature and desire to help people. My wife is a 8 year breast cancer survivor and I believe the pictures promote serenity and help to calm the storm within. A sense of peace is generated when I view Elaine's pictures. The pictures are a reminder to be thankful for the beautiful world that God created. Danny M. Beard

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Elaine is my friend!

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I first learned of Elaine Poggi's work several years ago when I was in her hometown of Sparta, Illinois taping a story about a local artist (I'm a Public Television producer. I contacted Elaine in Italy and on her next trip to the states, I produced a profile of her and her foundation. I've been following the organization's growth ever since. I've been very impressed by the increasing numbers of high-caliber photographers volunteering their time to improve the quality of life for patients. From its beginnings, the Foundation for Photo Art in Hospitals has been enthusiastically received by hospital staffs and the people for whom they care. It is most worthy of recognition.

Videos

Living St Louis - The Foundation for Photo Art in Hospitals

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

As professional fine art photographer/artist, Ii came across Elaine Poggi and her wonderful Foundation for Photo Art in Hospitals serendipitously and jumped at the opportunity to be a contributing photographer. Ii know the Healing Power that is so dynamically present every moment in Nature, and how deeply it resonates with all of us the instant we come into contact with Nature. Ii am passionate about bringing that Light and Energy message to as many people as possible. Thank You Elaine, for your foundation expands this potential dynamically and precisely where Healing is most deeply needed! Ii became intimately aware of the transformational power in my own photography at the time of my Grandma's passing (of age 92y) a few years ago. While she was in hospital during her last days, Ii made a collage of Nature images for her to have at her bedside wall while she was being treated. While under heavy sedatives for pain control, she slipped into a state of panic and fear, and began exclaiming and crying that she had been left alone and abandoned in a vacant part of the hospital overnight! While this was untrue, in her current state-of-mind this is what she believed had occurred, despite the reassurances from the attending staff that this could never have happened. Suddenly she looked over to the wall and saw the Nature images Ii had given her, She boldly exclaimed: "Oh, there's my picture!" ~~~ "Yes" everyone reassured her. ~~~ "Then Ii could Not have been left alone all night!" she said. ~~~ Immediately this event had calmed her and pulled her mind out from a nightmare of personal anguish at the glance a single image. Ii was recounted this story by her son, my Dad and his wife, who witnessed this just days before her passing. "WOW" Ii thought to myself as Ii was moved to tears, that such a simple thing as a picture could have so much "instant" Healing effects. Nature is Love & Love is Nature. My Passion. Thank You again, Elaine. ~~~ "AMAZING BEAUTY SURROUNDS US AND EVERY MOMENT, AND THE MIRACLE IS: WE ARE PART OF IT" J. Michael Christophre | jchristophrephotography.com

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

Healing Photo Art kindly provided some stunning photos for our treatment room at the Tavistock NHS Mental Health Trust in London. Our patients couldn't be happier with them and the staff enjoy them too. They even framed and sent them free of charge and added some extra photos for us. Thank you Healing Photo Art and keep up your wonderful work! Siri- Assistant Psychologist Tavistock and Portman NHS Trust, The Adult Depression Study

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

The photos are amazing! Seeing a display of Elaine's photos in a hospital setting immediately made me remember the power of a beautiful photograph. You immediately become relaxed and most of your fears drift away which is important in a hospital setting. They are all so beautiful. After seeing her displays, I came back and finished hanging photos in my office. I now have a more relaxed atmosphere where I spend a lot of my time. Keep up the wonderful work Elaine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I met Elaine Poggi, Director of the Foundation for Photo Art in Hospitals through my daughter who is living in Florence. She told me about her placing the artwork in hospitals all around the world, and I have been interested in it ever since. After spending many months in a hospital setting with my Mother, I realize how art can inspire and comfort people who are hurting . The gorgeous photography which Elaine provides is absolutely beautiful and adds so much warmth to the environment of a hospital. I am looking forward to an upcoming project with the Foundation in Knoxville, Tenn. Cheryl Dickert

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers