Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I have gone to El Salvador and Costa Rica, and they were both great experiences. In Costa Rica, I was able to evaluate a community's living conditions and observe the doctor. In El Salvador, we gave a presentation to students in a little community about the value of vitamins. We also did eye checks in the local school. The organization also did a very good job of making sure that the group I was with had activities to do when we weren't helping out in the clinic. I can't wait to go to Central America again this Spring Break

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I went to El Salvador last spring break on a mission with FIMRC and it was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I'm a pre-med student, so to be able to not only travel and experience a new culture, but also to help out actively with the health of the community was an amazing experience. We did so much in so little time: conduct vision checks at a local school, go on house calls, create a vitamin campaign for children that were malnourished due to mud slides that cut off the community, help out with world’s first non-monetary model of health insurance, etc. We were there to work, but FIMRC made sure we had opportunities to explore the country too. We were able to hike up a beautiful volcano, see Mayan ruins, and spend an afternoon at a lake. Highly recommend! Heading on another FIMRC trip this year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

I have spent my last two spring breaks traveling with FIMRC to Nicaragua and El Salvador. I must say that FIMRC offers one of the most unique and flexible travel schedules for college students. They make every effort to accommodate their volunteers! My experiences at both FIMRC locations were wonderful! I was able to gain extensive knowledge about the healthcare systems in both countries, and was able to interact with people in the local community on a daily basis. FIMRC was also able to incorporate other fun activities into the trips as well and offered volunteers the opportunity to visit local markets, restaurants, and other tourist locations. I would recommend traveling with FIMRC to anyone interested in serving others while having a great time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

I traveled to Alajuelita Costa Rica with members of my university's (UNC Chapel HIll) FIMRC chapter for 1 week in March 2012. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life, from working in the clinic to spending time with the children in the community. My homestay family was wonderful, and I really enjoyed the challenge of having to use spanish all the time when at home. I recommend this program, especially if you are interested in a medical or public health related career! Because it is a little costly (About $2000 for the week for both flight and trip fees) I highly recommend planning ahead to fundraise for your travels.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers