Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
101 Reviews
1234.900995
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

My son Joey was diagnosed at 2 1/2 years of age, it wasn't until years later when FAST was formed that I truly had HOPE, hope for a treatment, better communication with specialists for our Angelman Community, and hope for communication. Since FAST was formed it has truly changed our lives for the better, I truly cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My son, Jimmy, was diagnosed with Angelman Syndrome at 9 months of age in 2000. There was no talk of a cure, just a life of maintaining his existence. It was heartbreaking. When I first started hearing about F.A.S.T. a few years later, I didn't pay much attention. I had already been told by PROFESSIONALS all that my son would not do.
But the foundation was not going away, in fact, it was getting stronger. It was also being supported by parents that I knew and respected.
My dreams have been replaced by bigger and better ones. If not for my child, then for someone else's child, which makes all the support worth it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything I would change about this organization. I am quite pleased.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

I nominate the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics for their continued outstanding support of my granddaughter and her fellow angels born with Angelman Syndrome. It is because of this organi... more

October 18, 2013

My granddaughter was diagnosed over six yrs ago. All the literature out there told us she would never walk, talk or do things for herself. It is by the grace of God that a mother of another child with AS had the dream of forming an organization made up up fellow Angelman families/friends that wanted more for their children. More for my granddaughter. That is when FAST was formed and they began searching for researchers that saw the possibilites, researchers that BELIEVED in our children/grandchildren. Researchers that would dedicate their lives to finding a cure for AS. To my knowledge FAST is the only organization in the world to fund a human clinical trial on Angelman Syndrome. That speak volumes considering they have only been in existence 5 yrs. My support, my prayers and my families devotion lies with the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics. They have the drive and willingness to bring our children born with AS a cure one day soon. Hope Reigns Supreme!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing~

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

I nominate the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics for their continued outstanding support of my granddaughter and her fellow angels born with Angelman Syndrome. It is because of this organization that we just completed the first ever human clinical trial on a medication that may bring hope to her and all her friends with AS. This organization has been in existence less than 5 yrs and is totally nonprofit, ran by parents and friends of those with AS and ALL funds go for research projects. Not one board member collects a pay check. They are all volunteers working towards a cure for AS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

FAST in 100% non profit and ran strictly by a board of highly professional, motivated parents and business people striving to raise awareness and fund pertinent research towards finding therapeutic treatments to enhance the lives of all children born with this rare genetic disorder. They are currently funding the first human clinical trial with Dr Edwin Weeber for which my granddaughter is one of 24 participants. This is HUGE for a organization that is less than 5yrs old and my family like many others are beyond grateful to FAST for the amount of public awareness they have raised regarding Angelman Syndrome in their short existence. They are currently bringing together researchers from around the world to work as a team sharing their individual expertise in hopes of reaching the ultimate goal of finding the cure for all our angels. May God be with them as they push forward in the days ahead. Hope Reigns Supreme, thanks to FAST's dedication and strive towards excellence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

The Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics and its entire board are the most dedicated organization for Angelman Syndrome to date. They work endlessly towards funding clinical trials to improve the lives of every single angel across the world. They ARE the greatest Non profit organization in existence when it comes to support of our angels. Every single dime is utilized towards finding a cure and not one single board member receives a penny in compensation. Thank God for F.A.S.T. and their desire to think out of the box and push towards curing AS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Over the past 35 + years my family and I have been associated with other foundations and charities by serving or being served. In our joint opinions, the Foundation for Angelman Therapeutics is rated one of the best. We became aware of them because of our 33 yr. old son who was diagnosed with Angelman Syndrome at age 10. We have been 100% satisfied with the service received through the foundation but also with the way this all volunteer organization utilized the donation of our time and money. I would not hesitate to recommend F.A.S.T. to a newly diagnosed parent looking for support and information, a donor looking for a place to donate their hard earned dollar or as a place for someone to volunteer their time and services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My daughter is 10 and has Angelman Syndrome. When we got her diagnosis 9 years ago, our neurologist cautioned us from reading the reports on the internet about people with Agelman. Since then, research has exploded. Now we expect the development of a therapeutic during her lifetime. FAST is making this possible as they funnel every cent toward research. The icing on the cake is that the staff and support and community of FAST is not just geared toward research; the support they provide (through personal relationships) is immeasurable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

FAST is an incredible organization dedicated to finding a cure for Angelman Syndrome. It has already made incredible progress and with further support will make even greater gains in the search for the cure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 24, 2012

FAST gives us hope for a cure. FAST has caused me to believe I might one day have a conversation with my son. more

November 7, 2012

After 25 years of living with Angelman Syndrome, the Foundation of Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics has located and funded research for a "cure". One day, with the help of FAST to funnel much needed research dollars, I hope to hear my son speak. Once he speaks, the world will open for him. No other organization has been able to do what FAST has done in just a few years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

FAST gives us hope for a cure. FAST has caused me to believe I might one day have a conversation with my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 2, 2012

When my daughter was first diagnosed with Angelman Syndrome, there was no cure, and little hope for one. Thankfully, FAST is working to change that. As an all-volunteer organization, every dime dona... more

November 7, 2012

When my daughter, Elena, was diagnosed with Angelman Syndrome (AS), a severely limiting neuro-genetic disorder that causes seizures, developmental delays and other challenges, there was little to no hope offered to me. Thankfully, several other parents refused to accept this and FAST, the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics, was formed. FAST's sole purpose is to facilitate a cure for AS. Along the way they have funded a very promising clinical trial, sponsored and funded up-and-coming scientists, provided education and resources for parents, and united a community of families in hope. Entirely staffed by volunteers, most of whom are parents of children with AS, 100% of every donation goes directly where it is needed - finding a cure for our kids!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When my daughter was first diagnosed with Angelman Syndrome, there was no cure, and little hope for one. Thankfully, FAST is working to change that. As an all-volunteer organization, every dime donated to FAST goes toward finding a cure for Angelman Syndrome. In 2011, FAST volunteers helped unite and inspire the AS community to win the grand prize of $250K in the Vivint Gives Back contest. A month later, one of FAST's-funded scientists discovered that a common antibiotic, minocycline, restored functioning in an Angelman Syndrome mouse-model giving us hope that our children could not only be cured, it could happen soon! Only a few months later, FAST put the prize money to great use and funded the Minocycline human clinical trials. But FAST hasn't stopped there. FAST is continuing to gather fund donations, including a recent anonymous donation of $250K, and is continuing to fund and support scientific research. I know there will be a cure for Angelman Syndrome very soon, and it will be due in large part to FAST and all of its hard work. Thank you, FAST!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the unification and hope brought about by proactively funding the scientists who are going to cure our kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people involved in trying to cure our kids fast by volunteering or donating to FAST!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Instead of allowing Angelman Syndrome to control my life and my daughter's life, by being active in finding a cure, with FAST's help I am controlling Angelman Syndrome.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful, inspired, hopeful and a part of the amazing AS community.

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

In order to supplement the national foundation, this organization was started to raise more funds for study, as I understand it. As a group of parents, there is a more personal feel to the parent involvement. With the funds already raised, a clinical trial has been started already. More power to the participants! We all are hoping while we wait for the results.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

As an advocate, volunteer, client served, and medical professional I give Kudos to this completely volunteer based organization. How such a young non profit can become so positively involved in the Angelman Community in such a short period of time speaks loudly to the passion and committment FAST has for supporting, advocating for, and funding promising Angelman Syndrome research. They go above and beyond to make those affected by AS feel empowered to "speak up" for a more inclusive life, to "speak up" for more research, and to "speak up for a viable therapeutic and cure". They fund researchers who see those with AS as people first, and research second. Reaserchers who are professionally invested and humanly invested. Thank you FAST keep up the positive message of hope that you have instilled in this community!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers