Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
101 Reviews
1234.900995
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 18, 2013

My beautiful granddaughter has Angelman Syndrome. Living far away, I feel helpless. It is wonderful to know that the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics is doing so much to find a cure, to e... more

July 31, 2014

The money this nonprofit collects ALL goes to research for a cure for Angelman Syndrome. They are tireless in getting the word out about the syndrome and are very supportive for families of Angels.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013

My beautiful granddaughter has Angelman Syndrome. Living far away, I feel helpless. It is wonderful to know that the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics is doing so much to find a cure, to educate, and to support families and caregivers. The volunteers who run it take their only reward in a job well done. I don't know another group that does as much for our Angels or is getting us closer to a cure. I congratulate them and thank God FAST is doing so much for our Angels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012

Thank you FAST for being a voice for Angels who cannot speak. Thank you for taking a stand for Angels who cannot stand without help. Thank you for supporting research with every dollar you get to better the lives of Angels who can't help themselves. Thank you FAST for explaining AS to the public for families of Angels who wish more people understood. Thank you for the support you give Angels' families to help them get through each day. Thank you for being all good people who are in it only for the good of Angels. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

FAST gives all parents with Angelman Syndrome hope, they are charging ahead with funding for research to help try to find treatments to help our children and hopefully a cure. They are a board of volunteers that really make the most of the money thats fundraised pumping almost all of it into research. They are not paid staff. I really think with FAST we will get a cure soon.
November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

When our son Ryland was diagnosed we were devastated! Then we were introduced to FAST! We actually have hope Ryland might one day lead a normal life. The entire FAST Organization if filled with wonderful dedicated people, without them we wouldn't have hope for a cure. We thank them from the bottom of hearts for working so hard and being so dedicated in helping our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing, it is a remarkable organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

Foundation for Angelman Syndrome therapeutics is an amazing nonprofit organization! They are made up of wonderful volunteers who give so much of their time to help find a treatment for Angelman Syndro... more

October 20, 2013

Foundation for Angelman Therapeutics is one of the best organizations I have volunteered for. They work tirelessly to help our children. The hope they have given our children and families means so much! Thank you FAST!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2012

Foundation for Angelman Syndrome therapeutics is an amazing nonprofit organization! They are made up of wonderful volunteers who give so much of their time to help find a treatment for Angelman Syndrome. I am so thankful to all of them for giving us hope for our children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

My son Joey was diagnosed at 2 1/2 years of age, it wasn't until years later when FAST was formed that I truly had HOPE, hope for a treatment, better communication with specialists for our Angelman Community, and hope for communication. Since FAST was formed it has truly changed our lives for the better, I truly cannot thank them enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

My son, Jimmy, was diagnosed with Angelman Syndrome at 9 months of age in 2000. There was no talk of a cure, just a life of maintaining his existence. It was heartbreaking. When I first started hearing about F.A.S.T. a few years later, I didn't pay much attention. I had already been told by PROFESSIONALS all that my son would not do.
But the foundation was not going away, in fact, it was getting stronger. It was also being supported by parents that I knew and respected.
My dreams have been replaced by bigger and better ones. If not for my child, then for someone else's child, which makes all the support worth it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of anything I would change about this organization. I am quite pleased.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

FAST is setting an unprecedented example of how a foundation should be run. They are streamlining the way research is conducted for individuals with Angelman Syndrome. FAST takes a very innovative approach to bridging the gap between parents' reality and research. They do a marvelous job of motivating parents to understand that a cure is within our reach. FAST's mission aligns with everything I want for my child. You can't get anything better than 100% of donations towards research to benefit our loved ones!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

I nominate the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics for their continued outstanding support of my granddaughter and her fellow angels born with Angelman Syndrome. It is because of this organi... more

October 18, 2013

My granddaughter was diagnosed over six yrs ago. All the literature out there told us she would never walk, talk or do things for herself. It is by the grace of God that a mother of another child with AS had the dream of forming an organization made up up fellow Angelman families/friends that wanted more for their children. More for my granddaughter. That is when FAST was formed and they began searching for researchers that saw the possibilites, researchers that BELIEVED in our children/grandchildren. Researchers that would dedicate their lives to finding a cure for AS. To my knowledge FAST is the only organization in the world to fund a human clinical trial on Angelman Syndrome. That speak volumes considering they have only been in existence 5 yrs. My support, my prayers and my families devotion lies with the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics. They have the drive and willingness to bring our children born with AS a cure one day soon. Hope Reigns Supreme!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing~

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

I nominate the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics for their continued outstanding support of my granddaughter and her fellow angels born with Angelman Syndrome. It is because of this organization that we just completed the first ever human clinical trial on a medication that may bring hope to her and all her friends with AS. This organization has been in existence less than 5 yrs and is totally nonprofit, ran by parents and friends of those with AS and ALL funds go for research projects. Not one board member collects a pay check. They are all volunteers working towards a cure for AS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

FAST in 100% non profit and ran strictly by a board of highly professional, motivated parents and business people striving to raise awareness and fund pertinent research towards finding therapeutic treatments to enhance the lives of all children born with this rare genetic disorder. They are currently funding the first human clinical trial with Dr Edwin Weeber for which my granddaughter is one of 24 participants. This is HUGE for a organization that is less than 5yrs old and my family like many others are beyond grateful to FAST for the amount of public awareness they have raised regarding Angelman Syndrome in their short existence. They are currently bringing together researchers from around the world to work as a team sharing their individual expertise in hopes of reaching the ultimate goal of finding the cure for all our angels. May God be with them as they push forward in the days ahead. Hope Reigns Supreme, thanks to FAST's dedication and strive towards excellence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

The Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics and its entire board are the most dedicated organization for Angelman Syndrome to date. They work endlessly towards funding clinical trials to improve the lives of every single angel across the world. They ARE the greatest Non profit organization in existence when it comes to support of our angels. Every single dime is utilized towards finding a cure and not one single board member receives a penny in compensation. Thank God for F.A.S.T. and their desire to think out of the box and push towards curing AS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Anybody who's ever received a diagnosis of a developmental and/or neurological disorder for their child knows how incredibly difficult those first few days/months are. It was no different for myself, as I can still remember the sensation of being gut punched, curled up in a corner and distraught, not even trying to contain my anger and fear.

It was only after I'd summoned up the courage to look up Angelman Syndrome online, to actually commit to understanding what life for my son (and for the rest of our family) was going to look like from here on out, that I came across FAST and their mission to fund research into Angelman Syndrome therapies. It sounded too good to be true; I went from the lowest point in my life to something resembling elation. I had to do background research on the organization to make sure that the information on the site was legitimate and not pandering to the hopes and dreams of Angelman caregivers and parents. After getting in touch with several members of the FAST board (all of whom reached out to me personally after seeing my facebook post on my son's diagnosis), I was sold on the goals and mission of FAST.

The foundation has provided hope, education and a community that galvanizes whenever there is something that can help those afflicted with Angelman Syndrome and I'm not sure where we would be right now without their hard work and commitment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

When my daughter was diagnosed at 11 months, I was saddened there was likely nothing to be done about it. I am a developmental biologist by trade so I knew that if the brain formed incorrectly, the cards had been dealt. Imagine my surprise and delight when the research began to show that Angelman Syndrome is not a developmental defect, but a biochemical defect. In other words, my daughter's brain formed fine, it just wasn't working properly.

With that knowledge, when I was asked to join the Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics (FAST) at its inception, I did not hesitate. I serve as the Chief Science Officer for FAST. Since then we have funded over 1.2 million dollars in research in just three years, have funded preclinical work that led to a clinical trial, and funded the clinical trial which ended this past March. We are a small group of dedicated parents, friends and family members in an incredible community determined to change the world for our loved ones and anyone who is dealing with a defect in learning and memory.

Through the Foundation we have also provided educational summits to the community free of charge. These summits covered communication and literacy for those with Angelman Syndrome in 2012, and this year will focus on Sleep Issues and Challenging Behaviors. We are taking any and all steps possible to make the lives of those with Angelman Syndrome the very best they can be.

Join us and be part of the miracle - www.CureAngelman.org

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the Megamillions so that we would have the 10-20 million we need to find true treatments and a cure for Angelman Syndrome.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers