Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1.222222345
Write A Review
May 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

Received two calls today...the first male caller hung up when told that I work for the VA, the second male caller was rude when I told him it was the second call today....
Called back the number and got a message that sounded a lot like the male caller.
I would not donate to this group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

I have been contacted every three months for the past two years by these people for an "annual" donation. Each time they try really hard to get my credit card number. Once they suggested I give them the routing number to my bank. They sound very disappointed when I tell them I'm sending cash. That's it. The next time I hear from them, I'm contacting my state's attorney general.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
30 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2013
30 people found this review helpful

When contacted by the Foundation for American Veterans, I reluctantly and against my better judgment agreed to the minimum contribution. Since then, I looked into the organization and now definitely feel that I was duped. I will honor my pledge, but will never give to them again. There are many worthy and upright organizations that are deserving of my charity, but this is not one of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2012
26 people found this review helpful

I get many calls and had agreed on a small donation amount. What I noticed is that the return envelopes and the bills for payment all resemble each other and all come from Michigan. They always want me to use my debit card or credit card and I refuse and ask for a bill to be mailed to me. I've spent several hours scanning the Internet and have decided that none of these organizations including Foundation for American Veterans are legitimate enough to warrant any more of my money. I suspect they all sit in the same room while making their calls. There are enough local charities in my community that I should have no trouble finding a charity of choice and give to them. From now on when I see an 877, 866, etc area code, I'm not answering my phone. I had an unlisted number and was wondering why I still get so many calls and the callers having my name. I found out that the phone company (Suddenlink) sells their listings and they do not screen out unlisted numbers. Not happy about that. So, heads up for those in doubt - hang up and give locally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2010
25 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 25, 2010
25 people found this review helpful

http://www.military-money-matters.com/foundation-for-american-veterans.html is a good website to check out The Foundation for American Veterans. I just got a call moments ago solicting for care packages to be sent to the troops in Iraq. There is nothing on their website indicating this project is underway. I said I would donate ONLY if they checked out on-line and they do not check out. The Foundation for American Veterans does not publish financial information on its web site. The Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance reports that the organization failed to provide the requested information, so BBB cannot determine whether it meets their 20 standards for charity accountability. According to a Charity Navigator report in 2005, the Foundation for American Veterans used just 6 cents of every dollar raised for services for veterans.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I do not believe this organization is one to support

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers