Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1.252345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

Just received a call from 214-390-3012, the person identifying himself with his name and that he's calling on behalf of an agency working with the Foundation for American Veterans. Naturally expecting a healthy donation from me. I told him that I receive 4 to 5 of these calls every day and before I donate anything I check out the organization/charity/etc. on Guidestar or Charity Navigator and then make a determination to donate or not. His whole tone changed and within seconds terminated the call. Really, these calls are such a nuisance and I generally do not even answer the phone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been recieving numerous Nuisance & now harassing calls from this Foundation for American Vets organization from # 785-542-9517 .On the very 1st.call from these annoying people on 7/7/14 I told them to not call me anymore,to take my phone number OFF their calling list,that I cannot donate anything because I myself am on social security disability & need money for myself to live since I don't get very much on my disablity to begin with.It was like I was talking to a fricking wall,I have had 7 more calls from these irratating jerks.This last time I called them back & told them that I have again & again ask that they remove my phone number from their calling lists & stop harassing me & if they do not remove my phone number per this 8th request that I will be contacting my lawyer & sue them for phone harassment & they will also be paying my attorney his fees & any court costs.Hope these jerks listen this time.I am done with them bothering me daily up to 3 times a day now since I did request on their 1st.call to me for them to remove my phone from their calling lists.That is nothing but Harassment.Thats no way to run an organization that want people to donate to their cause.If they think that continuing to call folks that have no money to donate & harass them after their repeated request to be removed from thier call lists,then we people getting harassed by these jerks that won't take no for an answer,need to sue them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If the caller from this organization is told to stop calling & to remove a partys phone number from their call lists,then they need to do so.not continue to bother the party further like they are doing to me & my husband he has also demanded they remove our phone number from their calling list.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 3, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

I would just like to thank all the posters on this site for their information and reviews. These organizations make their plea so sincere and of course you want to help the veterans. But when only a small percent actually goes to help the veterans, forget it. I have a statement from the Founcation for American Veterans on my desk for a donation of $10.00. I do not remember if I pledged over the phone or not; I get so many. But after reading these reviews, they will not even get that $10.00. I give to other organizations, e.g. Purple Heart, Disabled Veterans of America, the USO and I sincerely hope these are all legitimate and that the greater portion does go to those whom it is intended for. I survive on social security and I have to be careful how I allot what I get. Again, thank all of you for taking the time to inform us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2013
26 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2013
26 people found this review helpful

I'll start with the 2011 Form 990 numbers: Total revenue: $6.2 million; Program expenditures (actually helping vets): $1.1 million (17.4% of revenue); Management and administration: $2.0 million; Fundraising: $3.7 million. You be the judge! I also was contacted by phone to donate on-the-spot with credit/debit card, which I did not do. I will not be donating to this organization! I appreciate GuideStar being here so that frauds like this organization can be exposed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

My name is Ross Jones and I'm a reporter with WXYZ-TV in Detroit. I'm doing a story looking into Michigan non-profits, including this one. I was hoping to speak with some donors to the fund and hear why they decided to donate, and your reaction to how the funds spends its money.

If you
donated to the fund, can you contact me at (248) 827-9466 or at rjones@wxyz.com?

Thanks,
Ross Jones

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

I, like other reviewers, felt compelled to check on this group as they had been rather adamant about my paying by credit card which, I explained, I never do in response to phone solicitations. I was so disappointed to see that they give so little to the veterans and keep such a huge amount for "administative costs." Most of us want to support the veterans coming home from serving our country. To have these leeches taking advantage of us is intolerable. I sent my "pledged" amount to the Wounded Warriors effort instead. Now this Foundation bunch has called asking for their money, and I told them what I just told you. Today, I received another solicitation in the mail intimating that I have forgotten. With all the new legislation being passed in DC, why can't they include a law that bans a non-profit from keeping more than (40%) for themselves?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

I want to thank the persons that wrote reviews. I received a call from the Foundation for American Veterans today they ask for my credit card number, I told them to send it in writing. I have never checked on a charity before. I am on a very low very fixed income, but I try to help when I can. After reading the reviews I will not be giving to this charity. It is really disheartening to think that so called charities make people like me not willing to give to any charity. Again, thank you for your reviews.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

I got a call from them last week, Talking to me like I was thier long lost brother. Wanted to l=know if was going to donate, they wanted me to send them $ 50., when I said no they asked how about $25 I said no to that to so they sent me a form for $10 and after reading thses poses they won't get a penny They should be ashamed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2010
25 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 18, 2010
25 people found this review helpful

I am married to a Vietnam vet so when I received their (unsolicited) call asking for a donation I agreed to receiving a mailed request. Having done so, I looked at their 2008 990 and see that of $4.9 million raised they spent $3 million on fundraising and only $1.2 on veterans. This is not an acceptable charitable practice.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

solicited as a donor

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers