Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1.333332345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 5, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I have been contacted every three months for the past two years by these people for an "annual" donation. Each time they try really hard to get my credit card number. Once they suggested I give them the routing number to my bank. They sound very disappointed when I tell them I'm sending cash. That's it. The next time I hear from them, I'm contacting my state's attorney general.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
16 people found this review helpful

I would just like to thank all the posters on this site for their information and reviews. These organizations make their plea so sincere and of course you want to help the veterans. But when only a small percent actually goes to help the veterans, forget it. I have a statement from the Founcation for American Veterans on my desk for a donation of $10.00. I do not remember if I pledged over the phone or not; I get so many. But after reading these reviews, they will not even get that $10.00. I give to other organizations, e.g. Purple Heart, Disabled Veterans of America, the USO and I sincerely hope these are all legitimate and that the greater portion does go to those whom it is intended for. I survive on social security and I have to be careful how I allot what I get. Again, thank all of you for taking the time to inform us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2013
22 people found this review helpful

I'll start with the 2011 Form 990 numbers: Total revenue: $6.2 million; Program expenditures (actually helping vets): $1.1 million (17.4% of revenue); Management and administration: $2.0 million; Fundraising: $3.7 million. You be the judge! I also was contacted by phone to donate on-the-spot with credit/debit card, which I did not do. I will not be donating to this organization! I appreciate GuideStar being here so that frauds like this organization can be exposed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 20, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

My name is Ross Jones and I'm a reporter with WXYZ-TV in Detroit. I'm doing a story looking into Michigan non-profits, including this one. I was hoping to speak with some donors to the fund and hear why they decided to donate, and your reaction to how the funds spends its money.

If you
donated to the fund, can you contact me at (248) 827-9466 or at rjones@wxyz.com?

Thanks,
Ross Jones

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

When contacted by the Foundation for American Veterans, I reluctantly and against my better judgment agreed to the minimum contribution. Since then, I looked into the organization and now definitely feel that I was duped. I will honor my pledge, but will never give to them again. There are many worthy and upright organizations that are deserving of my charity, but this is not one of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

February 14, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

I, like other reviewers, felt compelled to check on this group as they had been rather adamant about my paying by credit card which, I explained, I never do in response to phone solicitations. I was so disappointed to see that they give so little to the veterans and keep such a huge amount for "administative costs." Most of us want to support the veterans coming home from serving our country. To have these leeches taking advantage of us is intolerable. I sent my "pledged" amount to the Wounded Warriors effort instead. Now this Foundation bunch has called asking for their money, and I told them what I just told you. Today, I received another solicitation in the mail intimating that I have forgotten. With all the new legislation being passed in DC, why can't they include a law that bans a non-profit from keeping more than (40%) for themselves?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I want to thank the persons that wrote reviews. I received a call from the Foundation for American Veterans today they ask for my credit card number, I told them to send it in writing. I have never checked on a charity before. I am on a very low very fixed income, but I try to help when I can. After reading the reviews I will not be giving to this charity. It is really disheartening to think that so called charities make people like me not willing to give to any charity. Again, thank you for your reviews.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

I was very upset when I received the information through the mail. I had spoken at length with the man who initiated the donation: I wanted him to guarantee that my money would go to Montana vets. He promised, told me to go to the Attorney General's for proof of the organization's credibility, etc. THEN the letter from Michigan comes, and yes, it is virtually the same packaging as several other telephone calling organizations have used. If I want to donate to a Montana vet, I will go to Fort Harrison over Christmas break and see what I can do LOCALLY.

More feedback...

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

I got a call from them last week, Talking to me like I was thier long lost brother. Wanted to l=know if was going to donate, they wanted me to send them $ 50., when I said no they asked how about $25 I said no to that to so they sent me a form for $10 and after reading thses poses they won't get a penny They should be ashamed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

I get many calls and had agreed on a small donation amount. What I noticed is that the return envelopes and the bills for payment all resemble each other and all come from Michigan. They always want me to use my debit card or credit card and I refuse and ask for a bill to be mailed to me. I've spent several hours scanning the Internet and have decided that none of these organizations including Foundation for American Veterans are legitimate enough to warrant any more of my money. I suspect they all sit in the same room while making their calls. There are enough local charities in my community that I should have no trouble finding a charity of choice and give to them. From now on when I see an 877, 866, etc area code, I'm not answering my phone. I had an unlisted number and was wondering why I still get so many calls and the callers having my name. I found out that the phone company (Suddenlink) sells their listings and they do not screen out unlisted numbers. Not happy about that. So, heads up for those in doubt - hang up and give locally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers