Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1.22345
Write A Review
March 8, 2015
20 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2015
20 people found this review helpful

A representative called @ 9:00 P M CST on Saturday night asking with a usual presentation of how they help veterans and requested that Maybe I could step up the donation to $50 or $75.00? Asked well how much did I give Iast year? He said he did not have that information, but maybe I could give $30.00? I said I would look it up as we give to numerous veterans organizations since I am retired Air Force, he said he would call back and abruptly hung up. Had no intention as I could tell this is a scam. Trust the organization you give to, ie Wounded Warriors project, etc
February 28, 2015
27 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2015
27 people found this review helpful

When these guys called they asked to speak to my wife. I saw on my phone it was from some vet foundation. i told them I was a vet and they should speak to me. They hung up. Then they called the next day and again asked to speak to my wife. I told my wife that they hung up on me the day before and to tell the them to F off. She told them in a more lady like way not to call us. they called the next day and spoke to me. I told them to not to call. they called the next day, and they keep calling every day. today I googled who they are, found out they are a scam. I am searching for legal action I can take. They are harrassing me and now I see they do this to a lot of other people. I'll do a little more searching on what legal action I can take to sue them.
December 6, 2014
56 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2014
56 people found this review helpful

This organization is a total scam...NEVER DONATE!. Check the other reviews. In addition one of their fundraisers allowed our credit card to be copied and used. Beware.
November 4, 2014
71 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2014
71 people found this review helpful

I just received a call from 845 228-8345 Found Amer Vets. The first words I heard were "well, you're harder to get ahold of than a..." and I don't remember the rest because I was just so taken aback! When the guy started with his speel about donating, I told him that I donate monthly to Wounded Warriors and USO, and he replies "yes, that's great, but you haven't donated to US!" So, I played along, verified my name and address, but refused to make a donation over the phone and told them to mail me their material. Needless to say, I WON'T be sending them a dime now that I've read all the other comments here (I always check with Charity Navigator when I come across a new solicitor). There are so many worthwhile organizations to donate to; it's a real shame that husksters like this exist.
September 16, 2014
55 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
55 people found this review helpful

Just received a call from 214-390-3012, the person identifying himself with his name and that he's calling on behalf of an agency working with the Foundation for American Veterans. Naturally expecting a healthy donation from me. I told him that I receive 4 to 5 of these calls every day and before I donate anything I check out the organization/charity/etc. on Guidestar or Charity Navigator and then make a determination to donate or not. His whole tone changed and within seconds terminated the call. Really, these calls are such a nuisance and I generally do not even answer the phone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
47 people found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
47 people found this review helpful

I have been recieving numerous Nuisance & now harassing calls from this Foundation for American Vets organization from # 785-542-9517 .On the very 1st.call from these annoying people on 7/7/14 I told them to not call me anymore,to take my phone number OFF their calling list,that I cannot donate anything because I myself am on social security disability & need money for myself to live since I don't get very much on my disablity to begin with.It was like I was talking to a fricking wall,I have had 7 more calls from these irratating jerks.This last time I called them back & told them that I have again & again ask that they remove my phone number from their calling lists & stop harassing me & if they do not remove my phone number per this 8th request that I will be contacting my lawyer & sue them for phone harassment & they will also be paying my attorney his fees & any court costs.Hope these jerks listen this time.I am done with them bothering me daily up to 3 times a day now since I did request on their 1st.call to me for them to remove my phone from their calling lists.That is nothing but Harassment.Thats no way to run an organization that want people to donate to their cause.If they think that continuing to call folks that have no money to donate & harass them after their repeated request to be removed from thier call lists,then we people getting harassed by these jerks that won't take no for an answer,need to sue them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If the caller from this organization is told to stop calling & to remove a partys phone number from their call lists,then they need to do so.not continue to bother the party further like they are doing to me & my husband he has also demanded they remove our phone number from their calling list.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
40 people found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2014
40 people found this review helpful

Received two calls today...the first male caller hung up when told that I work for the VA, the second male caller was rude when I told him it was the second call today....
Called back the number and got a message that sounded a lot like the male caller.
I would not donate to this group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
50 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
50 people found this review helpful

I have been contacted every three months for the past two years by these people for an "annual" donation. Each time they try really hard to get my credit card number. Once they suggested I give them the routing number to my bank. They sound very disappointed when I tell them I'm sending cash. That's it. The next time I hear from them, I'm contacting my state's attorney general.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013
64 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
64 people found this review helpful

I would just like to thank all the posters on this site for their information and reviews. These organizations make their plea so sincere and of course you want to help the veterans. But when only a small percent actually goes to help the veterans, forget it. I have a statement from the Founcation for American Veterans on my desk for a donation of $10.00. I do not remember if I pledged over the phone or not; I get so many. But after reading these reviews, they will not even get that $10.00. I give to other organizations, e.g. Purple Heart, Disabled Veterans of America, the USO and I sincerely hope these are all legitimate and that the greater portion does go to those whom it is intended for. I survive on social security and I have to be careful how I allot what I get. Again, thank all of you for taking the time to inform us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2013
68 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2013
68 people found this review helpful

I'll start with the 2011 Form 990 numbers: Total revenue: $6.2 million; Program expenditures (actually helping vets): $1.1 million (17.4% of revenue); Management and administration: $2.0 million; Fundraising: $3.7 million. You be the judge! I also was contacted by phone to donate on-the-spot with credit/debit card, which I did not do. I will not be donating to this organization! I appreciate GuideStar being here so that frauds like this organization can be exposed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers