Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

One of the best stories in the non-profit world! Patrick takes his work seriously and he's helping us build a healthier America.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I lost both parents to lung cancer as they were heavy smokers most of their lives. Patrick Reynolds has done so much to educate young people before they really get hooked. My parents were addicted early on, soldiers were given cigarettes during WWII. Mr Reynolds has worked tirelessly appearing at schools and hospitals telling his story. His family profited from the sale of tobacco and his own father fell victim to tobacco, the fortune he created was of no use to him at that point. We have banned cigarettes from most public places and the prices are extraordinarily high yet many young people continue to smoke. Patrick Reynolds has made it his mission to warn them of the dangers before they start, as heroin is to a drug addict, cigarettes are to the smoker.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Appear on talk shows etc. to reach more people at one time. Jon Stewart or Stephen Colbert reach a broad young audience and it would be of great benefit to have access to so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Patrick Reynolds for more than 25 years. I am a UCLA trained Surgical Oncologist and Reconstructive Surgeon. In addition,I have worked previously for many years as a scientist in the field of cancer immunology. A few years ago I lost my mom to lung cancer and I remain devastated. Patrick Reynolds and The Foundation For a Smoke Free America will save thousands more lives than I could ever hope to as a physician fighting against disease. Please give them your full support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the Concept

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patrick
I just happenned to find out about your Foundation being under review here for great non profits.
Since your visit to our schools there has been a long lasting impact not only with the children but with parents who happened to be in attendance. You were the impetus not only for the
children to stand strong against smoking and drugs but you were the impetus for some to make the final decision to quit, including a few parents. Years later, parents or students , would come up to me at our high school football games and remark about how you had helped them stand strong.
Let me take this opportunity to again thank you. Your impact is inspiring and admirable.

It is really time to schedule another visit and I will recommend it again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recommend they have greater marketing and visibility nationally such that the value is more recognizable nationally. His story is incomparable and has such a great impact for those that happen to learn about it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have lost far too many friends and loved ones to smoking related lung cancer. Preventing people from starting a habit is always better than having to help them break one, and this nonprofit tirelessly does both. We need more people, and groups, like this one in the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding in order to increase their impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When Patrick first started Foundation for a Smokefree America, I was so impressed that someone whose family had made its living in the tobacco industry had the courage to stand up against the Goliath. I have watched my own family members addicted to the ingredients in cigarettes and have watched them and loved ones die horribly painful deaths due to smoking. Cigarettes are addictive. Period. And our youth must have education in the form of speakers like Patrick to share information and reinforce to them how vitally important it is to not bend to peer pressure. Cigarettes are still sold to minors, despite laws and warning labels. Tobacco companies must be held accountable for proper disclosure of ingredients and the deleterious and damning effects they have on the body. The Foundation for a Smokefree America is taking back the lives of children, one by one, each time Mr. Reynolds gives a speech. Thank God for him and his mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding needs to be given to keep this mission going and Mr. Reynolds speaking in schools and other organizations. If he can't physically be on every campus in the country, then videos need to be shown at assemblies. A stop smoking program also needs to be followed through in schools with support and information given by school counselors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

It really helped my son see the dangers of smoking and I think he probably won't start after hearing Patrick speak.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's pretty darn great so I can't suggest any changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2011

more

September 25, 2011

My husband and I have looked into groups against smoking, and we can say with some authority the Foundation for a Smokefree America is one of the best groups in the US fighting tobacco. Their programs keep youth from getting addicted, and empower thousands of smokers to quit successfully. They have a tremendous web presence thanks in part to a major in-kind grant of $40,000 per month in free advertising on Google.

Because of this they have a great platform to educate the public about numerous tobacco issues; they are best known for their national campaign for teen smoking prevention. Every major search engine ranks Smokefree America among its top three results for "anti-smoking", "anti-tobacco" and related search phrases.

Executive Director Patrick Reynolds apprears regularly on Fox News, MSNBC, CNN, Al Jazeera and other networks, whenever tobacco stories are on the wires. We found a url at the group's site with his news coverage -- www.Anti-smoking.org/news/ Mr. Reynolds is a frequent speaker to community groups, universities and middle and high schools in the US; they are now focusing on a new international campaign.

This group also offers an acclaimed educational video, "The Truth About Tobacco, 2011 Edition," now in over 10,000 schools, health departments and libraries. We watched some clips from it at www.tobaccofree.org/clips/

The org is a tax-exempt, public 501c3 foundation, and my husband and I will continue to give all we can to support their programs and mission. We know this group, and they are really making a difference in this fight.

We are hoping to spearhead Smokefree America's endowment and capital campaign, and we hope you will join us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw Patrick Reynolds speak at a university near here a few years ago, and his talk motivated me to become more involved in this fight. My mother died from smoking when I was 25, and I have always cared about the problem of tobacco use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd like this group to devote greater resources to their capital campaign to raise an endowment. This will empower them to focus on this good work in the decades to come.

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have attended the presentation that Patrick did for students at Granbury High School in Granbury, Texas.
This was a very impressive presentation and had the attention of all students.
What I remember the most was the participation of the students.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see this organization eligible for grant money. What it does for these kids is priceless. The organization is run professionally and has so much potential beyond what it has already accomplished.

September 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have kids and they need to hear this message. the videos are hip and powerful. they do not talk down to kids...

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hopefully the results are in my boys maing the right choices. knowledge is power.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have Intelliscape make a commercial or www series for them!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers