Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Review of Foundation Aiding the Elderly (FATE)
From: PJ BOYD
April 27, 2013

To Whom it may concern:

The story of my mother's tragic death would be very lengthy and would be better suited and expressed in a non-fiction novel. In short, my mother burned to death in a 24 hour
care nursing home. The director of this nursing home immediately went to work to cover-up this horrible death while the police and firemen were still attempting to rescue the burning body of my Mom.

A very important part of this story, however, was the role that FATE, and Carole, played in it. Carole filed a complaint with the State of Calif regulatory Board when State Board investigator, in her report, just added to the cover up.

FATE, and Carole, were very supportive when I needed to talk to her about all the difficulties I was having in my investigation of this horrible death, and in my repeated attempts to secure an attorney. After 3+ of my role as chief investigator and legal advocate acting pro se, Carole finally found an attorney who would take my Mom's case, just when I had run out legal options to continue to battle against a corrupt law firm representing the nursing home.

With this attorney's legal expertise and experience, and all the investigative and legal work that I had done, including depositions, we were able to get the largest nursing home corporation in North America to make the changes that it needed to make, in all it's three thousand care facilities, so no one else would ever burn to death while sitting in a wheelchair and smoking a cigarette. This was the major conditions of the settlement.

Therefore and therewith, my Mom's horrible and tragic death had been given profound and far reach meaning to all dependent people in 24 hour nursing-care facilities throughout North America.

Sincerely thankful to FATE and it's Representatives,

Dr. Boyd

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

Carole is very knowledgeable and so helpful. When I told her my situation with my dad being in a skilled nursing home, she didn't hesitate to be there for me in a meeting with them even though she is very busy. I know that if I have concerns that the nursing home is not addressing, she will be there to support me and my family. And I am so thankful for her and her staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

I have known "FATE" and most of its staff since 1996, the year my father died in an Illinois nursing home.
Angry, sad and full of guilt, I spearheaded an effort to improve Illinois nursing homes via a non-profit advocacy group we named "Nursing Home Monitors". The group became successful and
has received numerous awards.

"FATE" played a very significant role in our accomplishments. They guided us and even provided the much needed financial support. At each visit to "FATE" I am amazed
at the sheer number of nursing home residents they help, their incredible organizational
skills and the number of volunteers they draw. Their work, when made public, may very well begin the much needed, true nursing home reform. Violette King, President, Nursing Home Monitors
6111 Vollmer Lane, Godfrey, IL 62035 888-801-2486 n

PS: It is the only advocacy group for nursing home residents and the elderly in the United States that is able to hold nursing homes and their owners accountable.
V.K.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 18, 2013

With Carole Herman's help and knowledge I was able to get my Aunt out of a bad health facility and into a good physical therapy facility, which I am glad to report, my Aunt is now back in her own home and getting stronger. Carole helped save her life, as she was deteriorating and I could not get her proper help or care, Carole advised and went to healthcare meeting with me and we found a way to get her out of that facility. Carole saw what was happening and acted fast, even though she was soo over-loaded with new cases. Thank goodness for her and her organization. There is a great need for this kind of help and caring. Thank You Again, my Aunt will be 90 year old next month.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

My only regret about Carole Herman is that her blessed work is oriented towards the west coast. Could we please clone her? I wish she'd been back east when my Mom was having a bad time in a New England faciity. Knowing Carole's tireless and admirable efforts in behalf of the elderly, she could have helped brighten the days of a great lady who deserved better. I'm proud to be a supporer of FATE.
Dan Levin

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I first encountered Carole Herman and the Foundation aiding the elderly in 2004. My wife Frankie Horton was in a nursing home in Redding California and was suffering abuse by the staff. I had tried to no avail to get help from the State of California and was wondering around the internet trying to get the help she needed.

The day I first contacted Carole Herman was a godsend. She pointed me in a direction as well as contacting the facility on our behalf. The abuse stopped immediately and Frankie's care began to be what we expected. She had been mentally, physically and sexually abused and all stopped and California State began action against the facility. Frankie and several other families observed the instant change and we could rest at night knowing Carole was always there and would do anything to help.

After our encounter, I informed a friend in Colorado and she again saw the immediate help we did and her mother also was immediately helped and the State of Colorado ensured it stayed the appropriate care seniors deserve.

F.A.T.E. and Carole have helped my wife on 5 different occasions over the next 7 years in 4 different states as we sought help for my wife's problems. I cannot praise her or the Organization enough. Without Carole at least a dozen people I have sent to her would not have received the help they needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

If five stars is the best rating, then Foundation Aiding the Elderly (FATE) is at least seven stars. I have the utmost respect for Carole Herman and the competent and caring assistance FATE provides to seniors and their families. FATE is helping to keep nedical and nonmedical assisted care facilities in line with the laws and regulations. When a senior or their family has a problem, FATE is there to assist them. Keep up the great work Carole!

Jerry Schreck
President
About Elder Care

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I was referred to FAIR by Planning for Seniors LLC. I had an issue with the Nursing Home my Father In-Law was living in. He lived there since August 2012. I received a called from the Nursing Home Administration that MediCal had not paid there share of cost since his admittance and they wanted me to remove him.

I talked to Carole Herman and she advised me that the issue was between MediCal and the Nursing Home not my families. She advised me to hold my ground not agree to move my Father. By doing so it would force the Nursing Home to comply with MediCal something they should have done from the beginning.

Carole followed up our conversation with a phone call. Although she wasn't treated respectively, I believe her call turned the issue around. Within two months the issue was resolved and MediCal paid their share retroactive to August 2012.

Carole's expertise and willingness to help at no cost to us was moving. Her dedication and resolve turn ed a stressful situation completely around and I cannot thank her or her organization enough.

Dale Dailey

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Foundation Aiding the Elderly is the most honest, ethical and helpful organization I have had the honor of knowing and working with. I met Carole Herman when I needed help with my father approximately twelve years ago . She went far beyond required boundaries to see that our problems were corrected. I highly recommend anyone having problems with nursing homes to contact this organization. I did some volunteer work for Carole and was amazed, during that time, at how efficient, friendly and helpful Carole and the staff are. They are always available and ready to give a helping hand!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

My name is Rick Tobin and I am a seasoned emergency manager with substantial experience in testing medical and healthcare facilities of every kind, from three-bed mom and pop's to some of the country's largest hospital systems for the JCAHO/Commission and other state licensing authorities. I've also had substantial personal experiences with hospital care for myself and my family in the last twenty years.

I found the work of Foundation Aiding the Elderly as both ground breaking and essential to the continued oversight for the public's advocacy, often against powerful organizations that unduly influence government oversight authorities. It should come as no shock to anyone reading this that our healthcare system is faltering. In that state of chaos, it is essential that all of us have a champion who is not influenced by political whims. There simply are too few who can keep our loved ones and ourselves safe from the shortcuts and inefficiencies taken by some providers in the system...those who have profits as a priority, and not the concerns for healthy outcome for patients.

I have watched the workmanship and character of FATE for over twenty years. I have seen them seek out justice for families that were left in shambles by maniacal behavior of providers. Their efforts to clean up these iniquities pushes the entire system to improve and be on notice that felonious behavior can no longer be swept under the rug as a simple medical misadventure.

FATE's record certainly does not need my accolades, as they are beloved by thousands of families across the country and touted as 'best in class' for non-profits that perform above and beyond their mission. I have worked with hundreds of non-profits across the country during disasters, and served on boards of several non-profits, including at the national level. I can think of organizations who came anywhere near the service and tenacity of FATE in protecting those most vulnerable and defenseless.

Sincerely
Rick Tobin
President
TAO Emergency Management Consulting

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers