Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This is a fabulous sanctuary for unwanted birds and other animals who get to live out the rest of their lives in the lap of luxury. The directors are wonderful people who have devoted their lives to the betterment of these creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Foster Parrots is the absolute best organization helping not only Parrots but all exotic animals that for a variety of reasons need help. The founders of this group have never lost sight of their mission, they have expanded their programs to education and defending the rights of all living creatures. They always make themselves available to advise and educate any person that needs help caring for their companion birds. Whether an exotic needs lifetime care or just transitional to find a forever home they are there providing their expertise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to other States!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The whole issue of pet parrots is fraught with potential difficulty. Foster Parrots is offering sanctuary for unwanted parrots and parrots where the owner can no longer care for their pet. They also are working hard with educational outreach and adoption where it makes sense. A wonderful place with caring and educated folks meeting a need not really met often times. I am grateful for their presence and efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2013

It is very hard to summarize or quantify the impact Foster Parrots has made and continues to make in the lives of so many birds and people. I discovered them almost 10 years ago when I was searching for information about parrots and I came across a PBS special that included Foster Parrots. I even said to myself, one day I am going to go there and meet them in person, and less than three years later, I did. I learned so much from them and spent time volunteering and helping them take care of the animals and building the sanctuary. I have seen first-hand how every single dollar goes directly to the organization; where not a single penny is wasted or spent on anything other than animal care and direct organizational needs. No money is wasted on fancy mailings or extravagant offices or expensive salaries.

One of the main reasons I love them so much is because they not only deal with rescued parrots and other animals in captivity, but they also deal with one of the major problems facing parrots in the wild- the very complicated issue of conservation and poaching. They work with Amerindian tribes in Guyana and give them an incentive to protect the wild parrots from poachers by offering ecotourism trips, which give them a more reliable (and ethical) livlihood to support their families and to preserve their native species and beautiful natural habitat. So there is a human component to this as well. It bothers me when animal breeders and zoos claim that they are participating in conservation efforts, when they are doing no such thing. Foster Parrots is one of the very few organizations that actually do participate actively in conservation efforts and have the proof to back it up.

My hope is that as more people learn about the incredible intelligence and complex emotional lives of parrots, they will understand how inappropriate it is to keep these animals as pets. Respect for animal intelligence other than our own is something humanity as a whole needs to work on developing. A dolphin flourishes in a backyard pool no more than a parrot flourishes in a living room cage. Just because we can, doesn't mean we should.

The stories behind the individual parrots they rescue are often heart-wrenching and horrific. I don't understand how they manage to continue to do what they do without losing all hope in humanity. That they maintain their emotional balance in the face of so much suffering and pain is remarkable and a testament to their utter commitment and love of what they do. Working with them, learning from them, watching them, loving them has changed the very core of who I am and made me a better person.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers