Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.895525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I don't know where my family would be today if it wasn't for the Coalition; they have been with us since the beginning of our adoption journey - navigating the process, answering our questions (when no one else would!). Our adoption was finalized several years ago - I had no idea that our family would have such a long lasting and supportive relationship with this agency. As our kids became older, we struggled with several issues - managing our daughter's behavior took a tremendous toll on my husband and I - we didn't know what to do - we were physically and mentally exhausted. Thankfully, we reengaged with the Coalition, started attending parent support groups, and, utilized the services of an educational advocate. Our life has changed - our kids are having success in school, and, we have a supportive network of adoptive parents and professionals at the Coalition!
October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

After our adoption was final I had no idea that we would need continued help. At age 5 our son was diagnosed with fetal alcohol syndrome and autism. We have turned to the Foster Care Coalition many times and they have alway been able to serve us. From something as simple as how to sign up for services from the department of mental health to being assigned a educational advocate for my son at his school. They are the first I call when I need any type of help for my son. I'm very grateful for Foster Care Coalition.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am an adoptive parent that has been using The Foster and Adoptive Coalition for about 6 years now. It has been an incredible resource for us. I have also volunteered for the little wishes program which has made so many children happy during the holidays. They offer great services to the children and their families. What an AWESOME organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

From Cheryl _STL: There are so many positive things that I can say about this organization Foster Care Coalition, this could go on for hours. ... however, since my Introduction to the various services offered by the Foster Care Coalition of St. Louis in 2011, I have held on tight and have not let go as the benefits of their various services can and have been life changing particularly for me and my family. Our first introduction was for a crisis in my home with two of my Foster children. The crisis worker came right in and worked with us to resolve. This was a good learning process for all of us and extremely insightful, we all felt so very empowered by the process. Through this service we were introduced to Education Advocacy services which we have been utilizing since 2012 and I just can't say enough about my advocate she is amazing, absolutely amazing, she listens to my concerns and she hears me and she has compassionately guided me through the process of getting services in place for my child who has special needs. My advocate was extremely helpful recently in getting my son out of an unaccredited school district where he struggled and into an accredited school district and a better suited school environment. She guided us to a school district that could meet his needs allowing him an opportunity to excel educationally. In essence all of my encounters with this agency have greatly improved our lives in such a positive way, we could not be happier. As a result I am more engaged with this organization and have referred so many people to them for assistance as I am certain that this group will meet any challenge that comes their way in a positive and a proactive manner. I cannot stop singing your praises as long as i have a voice. FOSTER Care Coalition I could not imagine life as an adoptive parent without, thanks so very much for the support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that this group is well funded so that they can continue their efforts, make sure that there are no concerns about being able to offer the great services that are being offered adoptive parents need them

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My experience with the coalition is multi-faceted. I am not only a volunteer, I am a client and a partner. From my first experience with the coalition as a volunteer I was astounded by the deep and personal caring that each of the members of their team has for every child. They are dedicated, caring, considerate and always striving to be better for the kids.

After becoming a foster parent I have turned to many of their programs to help find clothing, resources and much needed guidance to better the lives of my kiddos! I have been able to experience from another side just how needed the programs they provide are and just how much of an impact they make.

As a community employer I have been able to partner and work with the Coalition to provide opportunity to kids aging out of the system and looking to establish themselves. This program has shown me just how committed the Coalition is to full service, broad spectrum programs that leave no child or group of children without valuable programs.

One of the most impressive things about them is there dedication to pushing for the very best for every single kid and they never sit back and think they have done good enough. They always rise to the challenge of saying that they can do better for the sake of each of these kids. It is truly a pleasure to work with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would actually like to see them be recognized and be put in charge of helping to change Missouri's foster care system.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I am a Foster/Adopt single parent. The Foster Care Coalition has provided unmeasurable training thru extravaganzas and support groups. Our family is currenly being assisted within our home environment. I, and my children view the coalition as an extension of our family-they are always there to help!

Thank you for the services you provide our community!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I am an adoptive mom who relies on the Coalition for support and always gets it. Currently, my daughter is working with an amazing art therapist. I have also had the Coalition's educational advocates come to school meetings for my son and daughter. I could not have navigated without them. Additionally, I have had crisis come up and even on the spur of the moment, they are there to help with so much love and a positive attitude. They are an amazing resource to adoptive parents.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 21, 2011

The Foster Care Coalition of St Louis is an excellent organization. They were instrumental in helping my family reunited with our two adopted sons who by birth are my husband nephews. Their monthly newsletter give us information regarding training and additional resources offered to foster-adoptive parents. Their training clasess are informational and excellent for parents as well as the children. Our adoptive sons attended their youth job training last year and both are working now due to the training they received.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have received resource informaton to assist my family with the adoption of our sons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes at this time.

February 20, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2011

One of the best investments in time and money can be made with this Coalition. The information provided is excellent and the support given is outstanding. From the educational classes to individual one/one support, they provide an interesting and helpful array of support for foster and adoptive families that crosses a wide variety of subjects and expertise. Leslie has made a lifetime of difference for my family through advocating and teaching me how to advocate for my son, Taylor, in the St. Louis School District. The people in this organization truly make a difference to the lives they touch. I thank God for them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working thru IEP issues that relate to my adopted special needs son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with additional resources and money so that they could expand and amplify what they do today.

February 16, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 16, 2011

Their newsletter has been an invaluable resource. It has informed me about educational happenings for me and fun activities for my kids. I have been able to take advantage of the offerings on a regular basis which has helped me to be a better mom-and hopefully a more insightful, learned, and happier adoptive mom.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

taking advantage of the classes and the trainings they offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't hink of any changes

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

volunteer at a parent's day out respite event, tutor a foster child once per week, provide help in our office, and so much more! Volunteer