Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.890625
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

Although I have not fostered or adopted, I support this agency because I know they really do what they say. They have been recognized nationally for their work, and it seems to me; what could be more important than finding a home for a child? That's what they do, among a lot of other things. Friendly staff, just a great charity to donate to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

The Foster and Adoptive Care is one of the best run groups that I have been involved in. The staff does an exceptional job laying out plans and then executing. They have measurables for all of the programs that they run and exceed the expectations on every one. They hold their staff accountable for results and disciplined in not taking on new programs that will stretch the group too thin or are not in keeping with the mission statement. Melanie Scheetz the Executive director brings tremendous energy to the group and the board is engaged, diverse and dynamic. I feel honored to be a part of the board and contribute to their continued success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

After our adoption was final I had no idea that we would need continued help. At age 5 our son was diagnosed with fetal alcohol syndrome and autism. We have turned to the Foster Care Coalition many times and they have alway been able to serve us. From something as simple as how to sign up for services from the department of mental health to being assigned a educational advocate for my son at his school. They are the first I call when I need any type of help for my son. I'm very grateful for Foster Care Coalition.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I have been involved in many non profit organizations for years, donated time and money. However, this organization has made a special place in my heart. 8 years ago I was introduced to them by a friend who asked me if I liked handbags...what girl doesn't? With that I was quickly put on a committee for a fundraiser called "old bags"! At first it was all about the handbags but then something happened, I started meeting amazing women who had more in common with me then their love of handbags! The handbags party was just the beginning then I became a foster friend and went on to serve as a board member. My parents have always been such an important part of my life, always there when I needed them for anything, to me every child deserves someone they can trust and who will be there for them! FACC helps children find this special bond better than anybody!! Another bonus is I have met some of the best people I know and have made friends for my lifetime that I also know will always be there for me!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am an adoptive parent that has been using The Foster and Adoptive Coalition for about 6 years now. It has been an incredible resource for us. I have also volunteered for the little wishes program which has made so many children happy during the holidays. They offer great services to the children and their families. What an AWESOME organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The Foster and Adoptive Care Coalition is one of the most amazing non-profits I work with. I started working with them in 2002. We partnered on an adoption project called A Place to Call Home. Our goal was to find forever families for children living in foster care. We have almost a 60% success rate... which is unmatched to any other program in the country. We feature hard to place children due to their age or that they are part of a sibling group. Their stories air 4 times a week on the NBC station in St. Louis.

When I started working with the Coalition, they had 2 full time and 3 part time employees. Now, they have more than 24 full time employees and 5 part time. And why have they grown? Because they are filling gaps in services for children in foster care. They don't duplicate efforts. They find needs and fill them.

But the most important thing about the Coalition, they never take their eyes off the mission: to find children forever families and to keep and retain foster parents. If a project doesn't fit one or the other, they don't do it.

Children in foster care are forgotten children. Just because they have food, shelter and clothes doesn't mean they are "taken care of." The Coalition makes it their mission to find these kids loving, permanent families and a chance at a future. Without them, I know of more than 200 kids that would still be sitting in foster care. You see A Place to Call Home has found forever families for all of those kids. Cycles are broken and lives are put back together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their funding so they can provide more services in more counties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

From Cheryl _STL: There are so many positive things that I can say about this organization Foster Care Coalition, this could go on for hours. ... however, since my Introduction to the various services offered by the Foster Care Coalition of St. Louis in 2011, I have held on tight and have not let go as the benefits of their various services can and have been life changing particularly for me and my family. Our first introduction was for a crisis in my home with two of my Foster children. The crisis worker came right in and worked with us to resolve. This was a good learning process for all of us and extremely insightful, we all felt so very empowered by the process. Through this service we were introduced to Education Advocacy services which we have been utilizing since 2012 and I just can't say enough about my advocate she is amazing, absolutely amazing, she listens to my concerns and she hears me and she has compassionately guided me through the process of getting services in place for my child who has special needs. My advocate was extremely helpful recently in getting my son out of an unaccredited school district where he struggled and into an accredited school district and a better suited school environment. She guided us to a school district that could meet his needs allowing him an opportunity to excel educationally. In essence all of my encounters with this agency have greatly improved our lives in such a positive way, we could not be happier. As a result I am more engaged with this organization and have referred so many people to them for assistance as I am certain that this group will meet any challenge that comes their way in a positive and a proactive manner. I cannot stop singing your praises as long as i have a voice. FOSTER Care Coalition I could not imagine life as an adoptive parent without, thanks so very much for the support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that this group is well funded so that they can continue their efforts, make sure that there are no concerns about being able to offer the great services that are being offered adoptive parents need them

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I am writing to give my review on Foster Care Coalition. My journey started with them, so many years ago, I was just a volunteer with the Foster Friends, and was given the opportunity to spend some time with kids in Foster Care while their Foster Parents were given a short respite to do whatever they wanted. I had a blast being with the kids, we did soccor, we did race cars, we did a play and park, each event was such fun for me and I think for the kids as well. Five years ago I became of Foster Parent and still worked with Foster Friends, I then started attending their training groups and one to one groups. I was given such great information and was able to share and get information from others. This year I became an Adoptive Mom of a foster child. I know that Foster Care Coalition will be there for me for the rest of our lives, to give support and answer questions. This is such a great organization that has helped so many in the community and I plan to be a part of it one way or another for the rest of my life. They changed my life for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more to volunteer their time to helping out with the kids. Give more training opportunities for the parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My experience with the coalition is multi-faceted. I am not only a volunteer, I am a client and a partner. From my first experience with the coalition as a volunteer I was astounded by the deep and personal caring that each of the members of their team has for every child. They are dedicated, caring, considerate and always striving to be better for the kids.

After becoming a foster parent I have turned to many of their programs to help find clothing, resources and much needed guidance to better the lives of my kiddos! I have been able to experience from another side just how needed the programs they provide are and just how much of an impact they make.

As a community employer I have been able to partner and work with the Coalition to provide opportunity to kids aging out of the system and looking to establish themselves. This program has shown me just how committed the Coalition is to full service, broad spectrum programs that leave no child or group of children without valuable programs.

One of the most impressive things about them is there dedication to pushing for the very best for every single kid and they never sit back and think they have done good enough. They always rise to the challenge of saying that they can do better for the sake of each of these kids. It is truly a pleasure to work with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would actually like to see them be recognized and be put in charge of helping to change Missouri's foster care system.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I am a Foster/Adopt single parent. The Foster Care Coalition has provided unmeasurable training thru extravaganzas and support groups. Our family is currenly being assisted within our home environment. I, and my children view the coalition as an extension of our family-they are always there to help!

Thank you for the services you provide our community!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

volunteer at a parent's day out respite event, tutor a foster child once per week, provide help in our office, and so much more! Volunteer