Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

FAFS is a wonderful organization. The members are loving and loyal to those in their care. I have been a Foster Mom for over 6 years and have gotten all the help and support I need for my "sons". I am proud and happy to be associated with Union County Local West. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

This is an agency that has a deep dedication to the safety,and well being of each child in New Jersey's child welfae system. It has a staff dedicated to advocating for resource parents so that their homes contribute to the well being of each child in their care. This agency is an excellent caretake of the funds that they receive as demonstrated in their annual audit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FAFS is a wonderful support to our local county group. We can count on them for answers to our many questions, support emotionally with various problems and financial support for our foster/adoptive/kinship families. It is a blessing to have a group that our children can benefit from and be part of so they know they are not alone in their unique family situations. On a personal note, I have had the support from them as a foster/adoptive resource home with various issues that have come up during the years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FAFS has been the only reliable source of unbiased information and true support as we navigate adoption from the foster care system. We've been involved for 3.5 years. Their volunteers are so committed and they really try to help children in foster and kinship care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding for their programs, especially those that directly help foster youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am an adoptive parent as well as a foster parent for nine years.FAFS has been there to answer all questions, direct families to needed resources, and provide awesome trainings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group is a large group that is broken down into committees that chair certain events. The co-chairs are in place to verify that all of the smaller groups are on task and functioning well. We meet monthly as well as have teleconferences to make sure everyone has the appropriate resources. Our group is very diverse when it comes to ages, experience, and ideas. It makes for lots of positive excitement all year long. We try to get all resource parents connected. It is important for the children to be able to participate in such fun family oriented events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Since becoming a foster parent three years ago I have to say that I was extremely grateful that FAFS was available to support foster parents. Becoming a foster parent is a big commitment and changes your life as well as your families. The children you bring in your home are amazing children and deserve a good life. Unfortunately, dealing with the children has never been an issue but sometimes dealing with the system is. FAFS staff are amazing people. They are very knowledgable in all areas of foster care and they are very supportive. When I need to call to ask a question or vent when I am frustrated I can alway count on someone at FAFS to be there for me. Besides being an amazing support system, FAFS does so much more for these presicous children. They has scholarships,special funds, do an annual backpack drive as well as holiday events and other social activities. Each county has an advocate to support the foster parents in their county. Monmouth county has Ashley who goes beyond what she needs to do. The time an energy she puts into her families gives thes foster parents the security they need to know they are not alone.
Now that I have been a foster parent and have taken on the role of Supoort Network person of Monmouth County , I feel that I am truly blessed and very proud to say that I am a part of a wonderful organization.
Phyllis DiNardi
Supoort Network of Monmouth County

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A great resource for families both fostering and adopting children through the foster care system in NJ. They help bring families in like situations together both on line and in person allowing for supportive communities to be built around these kids. FAFS also provides education for resource families, and advocacy services for families in need!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am blessed to be a part of FAFS in Sussex County NJ. I didn't know about them when we started our journey with DYFS, but only months in I was in the middle of a VERY stressful placement and ready to cry with getting no support from the child's worker at DYFS. I got a flyer in the mail advertising a training coming up the following month with Chery Novak's name and phone number on it. I thought I HAVE to go to this training and I NEED to meet other foster parents. I called the number and Cheryl was not home but her husband Larry took me under his wing and talked me down and shared some of their experiences and gave me advise on what to do next! I thank GOD for that flyer and for Cheryl and Larry being so open and helpful. Now 10+ years later I am offering the help and support to new foster parents...it is a great way to get to know others walking the same road.

FAFS offers in service training almost monthly at our local office, our local chapter plans a terrific Holiday party for all foster and adoptive families in our county each year and the kids have a fantastic time. They also try to plan something fun for our families in the summer months. At Christmas they help out with gifts for the kids.

If there is ever a crisis there is someone to talk to with their hotline. It is different that they stay with us even after we adopt...

My husband and I are fortunate to have adopted two children when they were little, they are now 16 and 10! We have had a total of 35 children come to our home in the past 16 years and with the help and assistance of FAFS we hope we are able to continue another 16 years!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers