Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

FAFS is a wonderful organization. The members are loving and loyal to those in their care. I have been a Foster Mom for over 6 years and have gotten all the help and support I need for my "sons". I am proud and happy to be associated with Union County Local West. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

This is an agency that has a deep dedication to the safety,and well being of each child in New Jersey's child welfae system. It has a staff dedicated to advocating for resource parents so that their homes contribute to the well being of each child in their care. This agency is an excellent caretake of the funds that they receive as demonstrated in their annual audit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My family has fostered children for over 20 years. Throughout that time, the Middlesex County support network of FAFS has been there for us - providing training, support, and opportunities to meet with other families working with the child welfare system.

Our children have grown up
attending FAFS events with us. My youngest, adopted at age 6 and now 20 years old, has made some of her closest friends at FAFS meetings. It has always been important to her to connect with other children and youth who understand what it is like to have been in foster care and who understand adoption.

At the state level, FAFS has offered assistance in interpreting DCP&P policies and practice as well as excellant training in many of the issues faced by children in out-of-home placement. I don't think we could have continued to foster for as long as we have without the support of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage families who adopt through DCP&P (formerly DYFS) to stay connected, to attend events and especially to take FAFS training. I would also like to see increased funding for FAFS County Support Networks throughout the state to hold meetings and events.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FAFS is a wonderful support to our local county group. We can count on them for answers to our many questions, support emotionally with various problems and financial support for our foster/adoptive/kinship families. It is a blessing to have a group that our children can benefit from and be part of so they know they are not alone in their unique family situations. On a personal note, I have had the support from them as a foster/adoptive resource home with various issues that have come up during the years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FAFS has been the only reliable source of unbiased information and true support as we navigate adoption from the foster care system. We've been involved for 3.5 years. Their volunteers are so committed and they really try to help children in foster and kinship care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding for their programs, especially those that directly help foster youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved in FAFS five and a half years ago when i found out my goddaughter and her brother were in DYFS custody in Passaic County. We became a license foster family and got custody of the two little ones and FAFS was there to help answer all our questions, even after we adopted the two little ones the have been there to help us with getting help with programs available to us for counseling for our little ones, our oldest is now 8 and though she still has alot of trauma issues we know that there are people out there to help us through. Other Foster parents who have adopted little ones who suffer the same things, sometimes i feel so stressed out for all the pain my two are still going through four years later, but i know with FAFS i have a support system to reach out to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To reach out to the adoptive parents of kinship kids more so they know about parties, and other kids local in the area that they could socialize with that may suffer the same emotional problems they do so they dont feel so alone

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am an adoptive parent as well as a foster parent for nine years.FAFS has been there to answer all questions, direct families to needed resources, and provide awesome trainings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This group is a large group that is broken down into committees that chair certain events. The co-chairs are in place to verify that all of the smaller groups are on task and functioning well. We meet monthly as well as have teleconferences to make sure everyone has the appropriate resources. Our group is very diverse when it comes to ages, experience, and ideas. It makes for lots of positive excitement all year long. We try to get all resource parents connected. It is important for the children to be able to participate in such fun family oriented events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FAFS is a great organization. As a foster parent they are my first stop and best resource for training, support and advocacy. I had a very stressful placement and zero traction in dealing with my agency. The FAFS family advocate was there with help and advice. Our local chapter coordinator was a lifeline, ready and willing to provide help and suggestions for everything from the mundane to the extremely challenging. She is extremely knowledgeable, not only about fostering in general and who to contact for what at our local agency, but also about resources in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them funding to add more family advocates. Currently one person is supporting multiple counties, which can make it difficult to connect with her in urgent situations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FAFS is a great organization and provides wonderful support for foster children and foster families. I have felt very supported by FAFS during the 3 years I have been a foster parent. I think their programs are really great, especially their "Fostering WIshes" for foster children, summer camp and college scholarship programs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers