Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great Organization which is solely operating for the benefit of our active duty military members and their families and our services members who are returning and their families. We also service any military person no matter when they may have served our country if they are in need we are their to do what we can. God Bless our heroes
October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

It is very easy to describe the level of service FSO contributes to their community, region and country. One word comes mind: dedication. For 10 years, under the direction of Lynelle Zelnar, this group has grown nationally sending over 400 care packages to troops overseas. Think about what a crew package contains. It is a slice of home that brings warmth and comfort to our men and women fighting for our freedom. Some servicemen don't even know it's being mailed to them. Toothpaste, books, pictures, snacks and snickers. You name it we have it and they get it. Beyond the tangible items there is a thought inside each package. A small token to say thank you for sacrificing your life and your time away from your family to protect us. Imagine if we all could share in this endeavor. What a better place the world world be. There's nothing better than seeing a man or woman in uniform at the airport and saying thank you. Those care packages represent the same experience without the presence of human interaction. It gives soldier a lift on the battlefield letting them know they are not forgotten. I can't think of a better non profit deserving of this recognition. Why don't you join us and spread the word about the mission of Forgotten Soldiers Outreach. You can make a difference in the lives of our military families.
October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Forgotten Soldiers from its beginning. Reading the thank you letters and meeting servicemen and women that have received packages from FSO has been the highlight. Packing events bring the action to showing our support for our US Military. The best part is knowing you've sent a piece of home and encouragement to people who are putting their lives on the line for us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 16, 2010

The mission of FSO is to insure that young men and women who volunteer to put on the uniform of our nation and then put their lives on the line every day, know and trust that people back here at home, care about their sacrifice.
We want them to know we haven't forgotten and we are willing
to show how much we respect that service by packing and mailing "Care" packages containing letters of encouragement, and items they need but can't always get in such faraway outposts near battle zones.
With donated items we recieve at our national operations center in Lake Worth, Florida, we are able to keep the packages filled with goodies, personal necessities and of course the letters, many from children, which the soldiers serving overseas truly look forward to recieving. The packages go to individual soldiers, or to squads.
Soldiers themselves can ask for the packages to be sent by mail or on line, or family members can contact us with addresses to deliver packages to their loved ones who are over there protecting our freedom.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There is nothing more heartwarming than to be at our national operation center or at a fund-raising event, when a soldier shows up who recieved one of FSO"s "Care" packages. When they come home and get a change to thank FSO their stories of how the items help morale amoung soldiers, bring tears to all eyes. One such soldier who appeared unannounced at our OPS Center, related his story to the volunteers, and was brought to tears himself over how much the "care" packages meant to him and his squad!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Because of the success of our work at FSO over the past 8 years, it might now be time to consider changing our name, from Forgotten, to American Soldiers Outreach. I would also like to see the Postal Service give us a much lower rate for postage on the packages we send overseas.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at fundraising events (info booths), assist in office with administrative tasks, help at warehouse in inventory of incoming items and placing in appropriate bins, participate in packing events, warehouse support etc Volunteer