Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.953125
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

Forever Feisty Chincilla Rescue Inc is a heartfelt, compassionate, dedicated, and supportive rescue which I feel fortunate to have had the experience of doing business with. The founder of this establishment provides not only rescue to chincillas, but more importantly, a temporary habitat which acts as their home. You can feel confident that any chinchilla that you have the priveledge of meeting has been taken care of with love and that the founder/owner has a genuine interest in finding them a safe and committed forever home. I am grateful for the education that was provided for me as I made the decision to adopt a chincilla from this rescue and value the dignity of this establishment. Maureen

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We contacted Forever Feisty Chinchilla about our one and a half year old Chinch for whom we needed to find a new home. While we all loved him, his care had gotten to be too much for our growing boys with too many other interests. I had tried to interest many friends and relatives in taking him but no one had room in their lives. I even called local preschools and nature centers and stumbled upon FFC's info. They were at once responsive and quickly connected me with an adoptive family. A wonderful mom with three sweet young daughters came to my house and packed up the Chinch with all his belongings. It was such a relief to find him such a warm, great home! I am very grateful to this fantastic organization, doing such important work to help animals find great new homes. Many thanks!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2012

more

September 16, 2012

I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH GREAT THINGS ABOUT THIS ORGANIZATION!! I just adopted my first chin and didn't know quite what to expect. Andrea, the founder is one crazy (in the best form of crazy!) chin lover. So professional. So smart and informative in the care of these animals. Her rescue is immaculate. Being a new chin parent I had so many questions about care and cage set up. Well the website for this rescue is amazingly comprehensive. Any other questions I had were promptly answered via email. It is more than obvious how much Andrea cares for these great animals. She makes such a great effort at pairing a chins personality with your own and that of the family he will be living with. I would very highly recommend this rescue to anyone who wants to rescue a chinchilla. Adopting my chin from Forever Feisty was a fabulous experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I adopted two chinchillas from Forever Feisty and it has been a fantastic experience! Andrea is very thorough in checking out potential adopters and took lots of time introducing us to chinchillas she thought we might do well with. Her chinchillas are all well cared for, and she works hard to help the chinchillas she rescues. I'm in love with my two girls! Thanks, Andrea!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

more

January 3, 2012

In searching for a breeder of Chinchillas our daughter was looking for another pet to fill the void of one that passed away, we found Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue. After some research we decided to adopt instead of starting with the raising of another baby. We filled out the Forever Feisty adoption application on line and started the process. After a phone call back from owner/director Andrea, we set up an appointment to go and meet some perspective adopties. After making the two hour journey and spending a couple of hours at the rescue we decided to accept a pair of two year old females. As per Forever Feisty's rules, the girls would be delivered within the next couple of weeks to our home which gave us plenty of time to get set up for our new arrivals. As promissed, we made a date and time for delivery and Andrea came to our home and placed our two girls in their new cage not without explisit instructions on how to proceed. After seeing the care and love Andrea pours into her 100 Chinchilla population and the knowlege she has and will share in caring for Chinchillas I knew we had made the right choise in adopting from Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue. We are truely fortunate in having someone as dedicated to Chinchillas as Andrea in our area who we could adopt from.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 22, 2011

more

September 22, 2011

When my son became overwhelmed by the care his adorable chinchilla needed, her care fell upon me. While I had a strong bond with her, I knew in my heart that I did not have the time she needed, and she was getting lonely and dejected. With a heavy heart, I searched for local adoption but had no luck. By very good luck, I happened upon Forever Feisty and sent off a letter about my situation. They do not serve the area where I live and I did not excpect a response. To my suprise, Andrea not only had really helpful advice about my chin's care, but said that she had a woman who was looking to adopt a 2nd female chin (and it is hard to find a non-bonded female). Andrea helped us get connected even though we are 300 miles away, and we were able to arrange for a meeting, which lead to my little Tiki going off to her new home, with a new chin friend and much more human contact that she deserves. I don't know what I would have done without Andrea's generosity of time and knowledge. Andrea also makes herself available for any questions or assistance after the adoptions take place. Even though my little Tiki is 300 miles away, I feel better knowing that she is in a prescreened, caring home and that she will be well cared for. And, yes, I will be traveling up to visit Tiki in the future. Thank you, Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue!

Wendy J.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helped me find a wonderful home for Tiki

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them obtain more resources to work in more states

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

search online

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2011

more

May 11, 2011

I recently found myself facing the hardest thing in my life thus far, I had to rehome my 2 chinchillas. I had been living in an apartment for 8 years that had black mold and no matter what we did on an over the counter level we couldn't eliminate it and it had got so bad I could no longer even contain it. Over the years I started having breathing problems and my boyfriend and I both found ourselves hospitalized due to mold inhalation. The slum lord did not care about the house and said she is just going to paint over it, what a fool... we have since called the board of health and the town and are trying to get the house condemned.
My entire life I have been a huge animal lover and while at this house I managed to collect my own little zoo but adopting a bunch of animals (all of which were dumped randomly at various pet stores in my area). I thought I was doing good by rescuing them but ended up with 3 rabbits, 2 chinchillas, and a hamster.
We finally found a new apartment that was in our price range, close to our jobs and accepted pets (as sadly most apartments here in Westchester NY do not). However there was a catch, the landlord has a 2 pet max and we have 6. She also complained about how much noise the chin's cages made, and their saucers spinning, along with their excessive gnawing on everything (in their cages). Between gnawing on their chin safe wood shelves and their lava ledges and the occasional chewing on the bars trying to get to one another.
Well 2 of my buns are a bonded pair are staying with us. The third bunny has moved 10 minutes away to my mom's house as that is her little buddy. The hamster has moved into my job at a daycare center and is going home with a co-worker on weekends.
Now I was down to my pair of black velvet chins whom I've had since the girl was less then 4 months and the boy from a few months after that.
I am beyond devastated but after spending over a year trying to find this apartment and spending a ton of money to move into it, we are at a point of rehome the chins or have all of us be homeless.
My girl chin (Clarice) is 3 months shy of turning 4 and the boy (Dallin) is a bit older but nobody really knows just how old (we are guest-a-mating 6 years old). We felt that although this has me emotionally a total wreck for the 2 months we have been looking for a new home for them that they are still both young enough that if transitioned correctly and given enough love in their new homes they should both be able to do great and have happy healthy full lives.
After exhausting all my possibilities of trying to convince one of my friends/family members to take my babies (so they'd stay close and guaranteed in good hands) I tried getting in touch with every shelter/rescue within a 3 hour drive. I got very few responses back and the ones whom did reply simply stated they were full and couldn't help.
Then I got an email back from an amazing woman named Andrea from Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue Inc. Tho her rescue was full she did everything she could to contact everyone in her power to help me find a home for my babies. Through her I met an angel named Julia up in Albany who already has 3 chins but agreed to take Clarice home. I spoke to Julia for a few days online and we began to follow each other on Facebook, I found her to be a genuinely kind person who really cares about her chins and I feel would be a good fur-mom to take over for me in raising Clarice.
SO... I packed Clarice and all her stuff into the car and drove almost 2 hours upstate to meet Julia (halfway) to introduce her to Clarice and send them home together. Tho she has only been living there for a day Julia says she appears to be adjusting well and in time she is going to try to see if she will play with the 2 other girl chins she has. We have already spoken of me going all the way up to Albany to visit Clarice in her new home once she gets all settled. One of my best friends who is also a huge animal lover and has a small zoo of her own has seen just how traumatic this has been for me and is going to try to take Dallin home (even tho she already has 5 male chins). This would keep Dallin 15 minutes from me and allow me to visit regularly and hopefully miss him a little less.
If this arrangement doesn't work, Julia has said she will take Dallin and I would bring him with me when I go to visit Clarice.
All and all this has been so stressful for me and I can't believe I have to part with my children but Andrea did an awesome job of helping me out and finding them a new home where I believe they will both go great.
A huge thank you to Andrea !!!
When we get ourselves fully economically stable and can own our own home I will get back in touch with her to hopefully bring home a new chin or a bonded pair which we will be able to keep at our forever home.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in... the genuine care and help of Andrea in re-homing my chinchillas.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would... give them a huge donation and try to find more people give these chins forever homes as well as volunteer their time and services into helping these chins have a happy life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Google search

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I rally feel like I need to take some time out to do some volunteer work at a rescue or shelter and help out more with these very busy organizations to help the little fur-babies.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 16, 2011

more

March 16, 2011

I just adopted my very first chinchilla (from a private owner) at the beginning of 2011. Since I'd been involved as a volunteer with other animals' rescue groups, I knew the best place to learn about chinchilla care would be on the rescue sites.

One of the first sites I found was the
Forever Feisty web page. As a new chinnie guardian, I really appreciated Forever Feisty's detailed info on the care of these wonderful little creatures. I eventually placed an order with the Forever Feisty store, and was very pleased with their customer service and the quality of the items I received.

When I had some specific questions regarding chinnie care, Forever Feisty's Andrea was able to answer my questions via email, and was happy to help! I really appreciate her taking the time to help me learn more about chinchillas.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see review

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

February 6, 2011

more

February 6, 2011

This wonderful group rescues and places chinchillas into deserving and loving homes. If the chinchilla cannot be placed due to abuse or neglect, they live out their life with the kind and loving volunteers at Forever Fesity Chinchilla. I have supported this wonderful group for two years now. I have honorarily adopted an abused chinchilla. They do not breed chinchillas as there are those that will buy one and realize the time involved. Thank God for this group as these beautiful creatures need a voice also.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being kept up to date on the health and welfare of my "adopted" chinchilla, and how the donation is used.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I feel they are wonderful as is. I wish I could give more.

November 11, 2010

more

November 11, 2010

We recently adopted a pair of chinchillas and have fallen in love with them right away! As soon as Andrea contacted me through the phone, you can tell that she is dedicated to her rescue! Unlike the majority of the pet stores that only wants to make a profit off of these chinchillas, she truly cares for them! With the help of her support, we were able to learn so much! To be able to give a great home for a chinchilla is rewarding!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

To be able to provide a good home for these critters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No improvement!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers