Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.953125
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As chinchillas are an exotic pet with an exceptionally long lifespan, the need for specialized rescue of chinchillas is a dire one. Andrea of Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue is by far the best Chinchilla specific rescue on the entire east coast. She devotes so much time, effort, money and care into her organization and it truly shows. She's helped far more chinchillas than ANY other rescue I know of both through her own facilities AND through rescue referral. She "investigates" new rescue options out of state so that should she not personally be able to help an owner, she can refer them to another rescue that is up to her high standards of care. As I said, due to chinchillas being an exotic pet the need for specialized rescue is high. In general, many local humane societies and animal shelters just cannot provide the care for these animals. Andrea does. She's very thorough with her records and application processes. She provides the animals in her care with the same type of care that animal could expect in a private setting. She's just an exceptional human being running an exceptional facility!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make 2 of them in every state! Andrea runs such a great organization that there really should be two of her for every state. While I know that's not realistic, I wish it were!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2012

more

December 6, 2012

Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescure met every one of my expectations. I work at Peaceful Acres Horses, a horse rescue and sanctuary for horses and people, so my expectations were not easily met. Prey animals like horses and chinchillas are highly neglected and cruely used for selfish purposes by humans. I love to provide care for those that cannot help themselves. I googled chinchilla rescue and Forever Feisty instantly caught my attention. The website is full of health facts, real information, and a clear message that the chins are not being sold just to get rid of them. The chins rescued by Forver Feisty are truly given every chance to have a great life and a loving forever home, even those that may have been neglected in the past. That is one purpose of a rescue-to give second, third or how ever many chances it takes for the rescued animal to have the life it deserves. Andrea, the founder of Forever Feisty, knows all you can know about the proper care for chinchillas. I trust her and her opinions. The chins that are part of this rescue are taken care of, loved and only adopted out to those who can care for them just as well, if not better. As of Sunday Dec. 2, I am the happy new mama of Hudson and Charlie-two six year old male chins. Thank you Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter recently adopted a Chinchilla from Forever Feisty Chinchilla rescue and it was such a wonderful experience. My daughter has been wanting a Chinchilla for some time and after 3 years I finally gave in. She heard about this website and we filled out the application. We heard back fairly quickly and soon scheduled a time to visit with the Chinchillas. The rescue was clean and it was obvious that Andrea has a sincere dedication towards caring for these animals. She took a lot of time to make sure we (in particular my daughter) had "done her homework". She also gave us time to play with a few Chinchillas in to see which one would be the right fit. We eventually picked "Hawkeye" :) Andrea brought him to our home and made sure again that we were going to care for him . She also made it clear that if we could not handle him that she would take him back and if we had any problems to call her no matter what time of the day. Thank you Andrea for your caring and dedication, I would recommend this rescue to anyone who is serious about caring for these beautiful endangered animals!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Andrea from Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue. She has amazed and impressed me by being one of the most honestly caring and giving people I have had the pleasure of getting to know in the world of animal welfare, and chinchillas in particular.
I
contacted her out of the blue when my two 12-year-old chinchillas were having major health issues and I was at the end of my rope (as were my several vets). I had never been to her rescue, my chinchillas and I had no real connection to her, and she had no “good” reason to offer me any sort of advice or assistance at all – except that she honestly and truly cares for the welfare of chinchillas – any chinchillas. It quickly became clear that it didn’t matter if she knew me or my chinchillas, or if I was planning on giving her a huge donation or whatever. What mattered was that my chinchillas were in trouble and that she maybe could help.
Help, she did. She spent so much time on the phone with me, offered advice, caring, reassurance, and more – all without asking a thing in return. I am so grateful for her and for all she gave out of sheer generosity and honest caring (and yes, btw, my chinchillas are still here – in part, I think, thanks to her).
Thank you, Andrea, for being there, and being the truly caring, knowledgeable and giving person you are. You are a breath of fresh air and my chinchillas and I are better off for it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Words can not describe how amazing Andrea is, when i needed help with a neglected chinchilla she came to the rescue in a heart beat. I have never met such a caring and compassionate human being. I was a complete stranger yet she was willing to drop everything and come to the aid of my chinchilla "Buddy". She gave me some first-aid supplies and a couple hours of her time. She was able to tell that he had a very bad hair ring and that it was cutting off the circulation. Andrea went above and beyond and found us a good vet in the area. She even paid for the visit, when we insisted on paying her back she told us to donate it to the rescue. She is AMAZING in every sense of the word.You can tell how much she loves the little fuzz-butts. She is very knowledgeable about the health and needs for these special little critters. Meeting Andrea has really made me view the world differently. I truly feel privileged to have met such a wonderful person, and I HIGHLY recommend her beautiful rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For many years now i have desperately wanted a chinchilla and had very little luck trying to get one through breeders so i then decided that the best thing to do would be to adopt from a rescue. i went on pet finder.com and came across Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue. I filled out an adoption application, got approved and this is when i finally got to meet Andrea. Andrea is completely and totally amazing! She is super friendly, EXTREMELY helpful, knowledgeable and chuck full of chinchilla info. When i went to her rescue to pick out the chinchilla i wanted to adopt i looked around at the cages(which were all very well kept and clean) and all of the chinchillas seemed to be very comfortable and happy. Thanks to Andrea I finally was able to get a chinchilla of my very own, Hawkeye (he's so adorable!). Looking back I'm really glad that i ultimately chose to adopt as oppose to purchasing one from a breeder, i would DEFINITELY adopt a chinchilla from her again. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

We just adopted a beautiful, healthy chin from Forever Feisty. We went and picked him out with help from Andrea, the rescue owner. She has about 100 chinchillas in her immaculate basement, and I think every little critter down there adores her. She delivered Trapper to our house herself and gave us some suggestions for our cage, and stayed with us for over an hour making sure Trapper felt safe and comfortable. I ordered a pile of chinchilla goodies from her website that she delivered to us, that I found to be better priced than Petsmart. I cannot think of a single aspect of the adoption process or the rescue itself that could be any better. I would wholeheartedly recommend anyone who wants to adopt or surrender a chinchilla to use this agency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Andrea and her Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue are amazing. Never have I seen such dedication, hard work and love go into the care of animals. Chinchillas are exotic pets and with that comes specialty care that can only be administered by knowledgable, dedicated and loving people such as Andrea and her volunteer staff. Tireless hours are spent making this rescue top notch! Their facilities are pristine and their vast experiences allows for them to match the perfect pet to the perfect home. Since so much quality time is spent with the chinchillas, personalities are assessed to provide the best match possible to the client. Their hard work is shown by the great health and happiness of each and every chin that comes through their doors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Andrea has helped me with my chinchilla's in so many ways. I recently had two that contracted coccidia. Andrea was with me every step of the way to helping them recover advising me on what to do and what questions I should be asking the vet. She was available day and night for me to talk to and was even the reason I had those two babies. She even went above advising me on their care. The ordeal lasted about a month and through no fault of my own or Andrea's advice my babies passed. Even after that on nights where I was so upset and couldn't sleep I knew I could call Andrea and she would talk to me. She became more than just a trusted adviser she became my friend. I still have three chinchillas and if I have a question about something going on with them I know I can call her and get great advice. She truly is an amazing, loving, and caring person. I will continue to support her rescue in any way that I can. I am just grateful to know her and grateful for all she does for the fur-babies that come to her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

Andrea graciously agreed to take care of our chinchilla, Chile, while we traveled abroad. Upon entering Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue for the first time, my husband and I were in awe by what we saw; over 100 chinchillas organized in a colorful, calm and cool environment. We immediately noticed the time, attention and love Andrea invests in her rescue. Every chinchilla (or chin family) has a safe, clean cage, fresh food, water, nutritious treats, and an assortment of handmade chew toys, hammocks, ledges and hideaways. All of these products are also available to buy on her website, because Andrea wants chin owners to have access to the very best for their pets.
This summer, I volunteered at Forever Feisty Chinchilla Rescue. It was not until this experience that I realized how truly incredible this non-profit rescue is. Andrea pours her heart and soul into her passion, usually working late into the night. She monitors her chins closely, interacts with them constantly and caters to all chinchillas with special needs. She knows that many of these chins will stay with her forever because of the specific care they require. If a chinchilla has any medical complication or genetic history with the chance of problems in the future, she will not adopt him out. She only allows chins that are physically, emotionally and socially sound to leave her rescue. The health and happiness of all her chinchillas is Andrea’s priority.
Thank you Andrea, for all that you do for chinchillas!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers