Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.807695
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

When my husband found a pitbull tied to a tree in the woods he brought him home. He was so lovable but the stigma against this breed was more than we expected. We got connected with For the Love of Pits who were more than happy to educate us and give us the tools we needed to make this sweet dog a member of our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

When my sister told me that she was having trouble owning a Pitbull mix due to prejudices against Pitbulls in her neighborhood, I took action by supporting the end of BSL through writing letters, emailing city governments, etc. Along the way, I met the president of For the Love of Pits at a training class that I enrolled my rescued racing greyhounds in. I was very impressed by the care that this organization took with the training and socialization of the dogs. I am a firm believer that all dogs need training and socialization, but that rescued dogs especially need guidance and love.For the Love of Pits does just that. As a petsitter for the past 12 years, I see many modes of care for all breeds of dog. For the Love of Pits definitely follows a great positive reinforcement path that helps dogs- many of their dogs earn CGC status.This is a fantastic group of dedicated dog lovers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Two years ago I acquired a Pit Bull that I found on the street. I was looking for a support group and found For the Love of Pits. I have followed them the past year and a half and am amazed at their dedication to this misunderstood breed. The people who run this organization are so committed and do so much to not only rescue, place and fundraise but host events throughout Cuyahoga County to raise awareness on the plight of the Pit Bull, which is a very loving and obedient dog. For the Love of Pits staff give 150% to the dogs they rescue whether or not they have the funds or the capacity. I can't say enough about their work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Several years ago I was a volunteer at the local humane shelter. 15 pitbulls had been rescued from an abandoned house and were being housed at the shelter. At that time, breed discrimination laws made it very difficult to adopt pitbulls. For the Love of Pits rescued all of the dogs and puppies and eventually found good homes for them. I was incredibly grateful for their support. This is a small rescue but the amount of work they do on behalf of the breed is amazing. I believe For the Love of Pits has single-handedly changed legislation about pitbulls in Ohio. I am so proud to be a volunteer with For the Love of Pits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I began volunteering For the Love of Pits about two years ago and I have learned so much about the breed through them and how much they truly are misunderstood. When I started volunteering I only had three Pit Bulls and now I currently have four and because of this organization I have a better understanding of my dogs and how to raise them. They are my family and I want to make sure they are happy. FTLOP are great educators as well as supporters! I might not be able to give up as much time as I would like to for them, but I am truly blesses to be apart of this wonderful organization and I can only hope to have more time in the future to help them like they've helped me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

We fostered two pit bulls from FTLOP for extended periods of time and third for a week until his foster was ready. FTLOP is very careful in the dogs they rescue to make sure they're have a good temperament, but they attempt to rescue as many dogs as possible while adhering to their standards. They also are very careful in the people they choose to foster and to adopt, to give both dogs and people the best chance to succeed and to have the best experience possible. When we fostered, everything we needed was provided, as well as copious amounts of information and even a dog therapist/psychologist/trainer when needed. Everyone we've met in the organization was friendly and helpful. Any time we needed help, it came almost instantly. We had no previous experience with having a dog or with pit bulls and loved both. The only reason we didn't adopt either dog is that we're moving to a rental house that doesn't allow pets. FTLOP is also very active in trying to get BSL removed and to educating people about how wonderful pit bulls are. They are a quality organization! I can't recommend them highly enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been in veterinary medicine for 17 years total with 11 1/2 of those years being a registered technician. I have seen many rescue groups and many, many rescued dogs. I have waited and took serious time to find a rescue to be involved with and volunteer for. For The Love Of Pits was recommended by a co-worker who also had rescued a dog through them. Part of the reason I waited so long was because I wanted a group I would be proud to be a part of. The rescue needed to be honest, ethical and morally in-tuned for me to be a part of it. I wanted to find a group who had the dog's best interest at heart. People who made smart and fair choices. For The Love Of Pits is exactly who I was searching for. I can't say enough great things about this group and I am very grateful that I started volunteering for them this year. They are great people for a great cause!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I have been involved in rescue for almost 15 years; I am so fortunate that my path crossed with For the Love of Pits rescue. Being involved in rescue, there are happy times and sad times, but being involved with For the Love of Pits is a huge warm smile in your heart. It is an amazing organization that is doing it right. They are not only involved helping rescue pit bulls in need but they also try to help and keep families and their beloved pets together through educating the public, training of their rescue dogs and training for the public, vaccination clinics to help with the expenses of people experiencing difficult times, consultations with animal behaviorists. I could go on and on about all the wonderful things this wonderful rescue and it’s amazing volunteers do on a regular bases.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 9, 2011

I originally became involved with For the Love of Pits® as a foster to an urgent dog in need. This dog faced euthanasia at the city kennel merely because of her breed. For the Love of Pits saved he... more

September 27, 2012

I started volunteering with For the Love of Pits in the Fall of 2008, after replying to an urgent plea for a foster home. What I experienced from this group was extraordinary! Unlike other rescue groups, For the Love of Pits took the time to help with the transition of dogs in my home, they provided everything that I (and the dog) needed and was always just a phone call away if I needed them. I had been involved with other rescue groups and never could understand why foster homes were always "left in the dark" after they took in a dog. For the Love of Pits understands that their foster homes are their #1 priority in saving dogs!

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2011

I originally became involved with For the Love of Pits® as a foster to an urgent dog in need. This dog faced euthanasia at the city kennel merely because of her breed. For the Love of Pits saved her but needed a place for her to heal while they searched for her forever home. As a foster, I saw how dedicated Shana was to helping not only pit bull type dogs but also their owners. Shana (and Kim) were very helpful to me as a foster and I decided that I could repay them by becoming a volunteer. We have since found a home for my foster and I am now fostering another dog and am even more involved with the group. I am proud to say that I'm a member of For the Love of Pits because not only are we helping pit bulls but also helping to raise awareness for this misunderstood breed and educate others about them.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

fostering, volunteering, fundraising and educating

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could, I would provide a facility to FTLOP's so that we could help more dogs.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

October 7, 2011

more

October 7, 2011

I have a pitbull of my own and so I am very dedicated to saving this breed and fighting the injustices that threaten these wonderful dogs. I came across For The Love of Pits and I am sure glad that I did. Shana and her team are so dedicated and have shared a lot of information that I truly found helpful. Their love and generousity for these dogs is truly amazing. I would like to become a volunteer or foster, and help them out more when my schedule permits. In the meantime, I have been and will continue to be a donor to this organization because they are doing great work and are so deserving of the public's help to continue to educate, rescue, foster, and adopt out these wonderful dogs. FTLOP is truly dedicated to the pitbulls of NE Ohio and to the humans who are owned by them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping abused and neglected pitbulls in NE Ohio, as well as provide better chances for sheltered pits to get adopted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that they had a sanctuary so that they could take in even more deserving pitbulls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Helping to get deserving dogs out of the shelters and help train them. Also, sponsor the organization so that they can keep going and help the dogs who are ill or need additonal treatments.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

For all of the above. The previous donation was to help get medical treatment for a sick and starving pit.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is a wonderful organization with great volunteers and fosters. They are truly dedicated to helping these wonderful dogs.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers