Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Animal Control warden in Dixon, Il and personally know that this wonderful group has assisted numerous families with food, vet assistance and keeping their pets safe either with the families or with families willing to care for their Pets. They are consistantly working on helping families and pets and have assisted me with relocating pets from where I work(90 milesfrom Streator) that fell on hard times and were unable to keep or care for their Pets. Keep up the Wonderful work Karen!!! Barry DeBoor LCAC Warden, Dixon, Il.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have had several occasions to call Karen. She has helped friends the same as she has helped complete strangers. She has done everything from helping with food to transportation or help with spay/neuter costs. Most recently, she rescued a dog from a potentially dangerous situation and made sure he got a good home. She truly cares for these animals and selflessly gives her time and funds to make our little corner of the world a better place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing. If it isn't broke, don't fix it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

For the Love of Pets, founded by the amazing animal activist, Karen McCumsey, is not only responsible for helping my family, but has saved countless lives, animal and human. Karen and her family work tirelessly at all hours of the day and night, to provide for families with pets that are in crisis, or just need a little help. Thru this unique nonprofit, hundreds of pets are able to stay with the families who love them. Without their help, many animals would have been put to death, for the simple fact that their owners are having a rough time and cannot feed them. Even worse, many elderly pet owners would go without eating, just to feed the companions they love. Thank you, Karen, and all of you who give your time and energy to For the Love of Pets, for saving keeping our pets where they belong, with those who love them! ~Marie~

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

For the love of pets is a great organization! I had found a young dog running the streets and found Karen through mutual friends. Even though she was out of town, she was still able to arrange help for this dog at night! I was so impressed and grateful for the help!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about For The Love Of Pets!

Karen found me on facebook and even though I didn't know her.. we had friends in common. I'm so glad I clicked that accept button! She has been there for me 3 times that I can think of. One time when I needed some food
for my cats. Another when I found a basset hound walking around lost. The most important time was when my dog got hurt so bad that she was going to need put to sleep. One of the worst things a person will ever have to do is make that drive to the vet to have your ill pet put to sleep. I called Karen for help to make that drive for me and by God.. She did it!

I will be forever grateful to her and her group. I've sent many people her way and she has helped them all.

I tried working with people and their pets and it is a heart breaking job. You have to be a special kind of person, that's for sure! Love her Group!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Karen McCumsey - For the Love of Pets is one of my Facebook friends. Back in the beginning of this year I decided to look for a pet. I noticed one of Karen's posting caught my eye. I called Karen and discussed what she knew about this dog. I trusted Karen's judgement and said I WANT HIM!! Karen made arrangements so that I could get him. Keep in mind, Karen is in Streator, IL and I am in Oak Lawn, IL. Almost 2 hours away. But She mad it Happen!!. We are so happy with our new dog!! His name is Jetson! Jetson if spoiled rotten, has his spot on the couch and at the end of the bed. He is now part of the family, like he has been here forever! Not sure what breed he is, but we do know he is now the best breed - "Rescued" . I would highly recommend Karen McCumsy - For the Love of Pets!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

When the recession hit our home became the zoo people dumped cats and dogs in the corn field next to our home. We found homes for some but went from 2 cats and a dog to at one point 2 dogs and 12 cats.Then my husband was laid off then my older kids finally myself. I was at a loss what to do for all the animals.Then I found the Love of Pets we would not be able to care for all the animals we have without them.I can't stop people from dumping there pets but wish they would try to find them homes .I have as of today 8 cats and 1 dog and have worked hard to adopt out the pets we rescue.God bless the Love of Pets hope they get the recognition and support they deserve. Suzi Randolph

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

For The Love Of Pets is a wonderful non-profit organization that raises funds to help less fortunate people with their animal companions. They assist with veterinarian care and more. Without the aid of this group, many people would not be able to care for their pets appropriately. As the result, both humans and animals are very happy and healthy. Thank you, For The Love Of Pets, for enabling animals to be cared for by those people who love them.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was honored to be invited to the Board right at the beginning. I have personally worked making deliveries, making food pick-ups from our suppliers, and transporting sick, injured, or abandoned animals to the veterinarians in our area that work with us for the care they need. It is a great feeling of accomplishment that I see the families that we have helped, to be be able to keep their furry kids with them or to help place an animal in it's new 'furever home'..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am a volunteer with a local shelter. I want to speak about the importance of The Love of Pets to the community. For the Love of Pets helps keep pets in their homes. So many people are facing financial hardship and the last thing they want to do is give up their pets, their pets are part of their family. For the Love of Pets with Karen McCumsey at the helm helps families do this. I don't think people realize that not only is this beneficial to these families and their pets, BUT it keeps these animals out of the shelter that I personally volunteer at, and allows us the space to take in other animals in need that are not so lucky. So it fills a huge gap in our community. I also know that Karen helps the animal community in other ways, she is a person with a huge heart and works tirelessly to help people and their pets and also unwanted animals. I am happy to see that For the Love of Pets is part of the Great Non Profits family now and I hope this will be a benefit to this organization that is so greatly needed!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with research, make phone calls, deliver pet food to families in need. We are also in need of Foster people to take in Dogs/cats untill their owners can get back on their feet and give them the home they deserve. Volunteer