Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.988955
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

For the Love of Cats is the gold standard of pet rescues. They have spent many years doing their best to reduce the feral and free roaming cats on Marco Island and elsewhere with TNR and their efforts have had a very positive effect there. They also help other local cat rescue groups in different areas of Collier County, too.

They have not only worked successfully with other local rescue groups, but with local govt animal control and made some big changes there, all the better for the cats. They have also helped move local legislation through to make TNR legal in Collier County.

Their adoptions every week at PetSmart really move those kittens and Adult Cats out of cages and into lifelong loving homes, and they are scrupulous about adopting into good homes only, not just any home. They have also rescued and fostered so, so many cats and kittens, nursing them back to health and eventual adoption.

They are meticulous in their care of cats and kittens, supportive of other local groups, and are just a pleasure to work with in any capacity. They are the very best in this field--and they are all volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 6, 2013

Jim and Jan are amazing in their tireless efforts to better the lives of the cats they help. They surely must get tired---it's an endless commitment---yet they remain chipper and optimistic. They, ... more

August 23, 2014

Jim and Jan Rich did what no one else was willing or able to do--they worked tirelessly with great volunteers to clean up the feral cat population in our community via a TNR program that has been amazingly successful. Their volunteers feed an ever-smaller number of outdoor cats as the population shrinks. Now their focus is on finding homes for kittens and cats that come farther afield. Their facilities are clean and nice and their volunteers are too :-D I know many of them as friends and clients and love their devotion and the joy they receive from helping out.
October 6, 2013

Jim and Jan are amazing in their tireless efforts to better the lives of the cats they help. They surely must get tired---it's an endless commitment---yet they remain chipper and optimistic. They, and their wonderful corps of volunteers, are simply awesome!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let Jim and Jan have a vacation more often :-)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

I visited For the Love of Cats and saw the following:
--volunteers holding motherless kittens who needed bottle feeding
--an isolation area for infected animals (also given loving care by volunteers in protective outfits)
--volunteers socializing cats
--wonderful housing units where
cats can learn social skills, interactions with others, use of the litter box and so forth
For the Love of Cats, would make a great model of care for other animal agencies to utilize. They helped the entire Marco Island's cat population and have moved outward to be of service to more cats.
Dr. Kelly Gardiner PhD, APRN


March 3, 2011

more

March 3, 2011

I have known Jan & JIm for many years now. My husband and I own at the Eagles Nest Timeshare in Marco where a colony of cats are being fed by For The Love of Cats. Joyce West is the volunteer who feeds this site. I met her one time on a visit to our timeshare. As it turns out, I knew many of Joyce's coworkers at the Marriott from Atlanta where I also do cat rescue. Joyce and I began talking about the cats and she told me about Jan & Jim. I made a visit to their shelter and was very impressed by how clean and professional it is. I visit them two times a year whenever I go back to Marco Island. I have been so impressed with them that I even take one of my grand daughters who loves cats as much as I do. I know the island's cats could not survive without this organization! I am now even happier that Jan & Jim have been taking in more adult cats as they need help just as the kittens do :) Fabulous teamwork!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visited shelter and fed cats at timeshare with Joyce, donated to this organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

take in a few more adults

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer