Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
180 Reviews
1234.988895
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

Jan and Jim Rich at For The Love Of Cats are doing amazing and wonderful things for these precious rescued kittens and cats. We adopted our first two babies from them. Anytime we called with a question or concern as new pet parents, Jan and Jim were always there for help and support. They care about the cats long after they've been adopted and that is true dedication to this cause. Please support them by donating and adopting! I have never believed in giving money to charity in fear of where the money ends up, especially since I don't have very much to give. But this is the only place I manage to scrounge up a good donation for every year because I know the good work they do first hand. I believe in this cause and these are wonderful, genuine, caring people who give their time and love to a worthy endeavor. Whether they trap/neuter/release or rescue and find homes, kittens and cats are benefitting and getting better lives than they otherwise would. My husband and I truly look up to Jan and Jim and we had decided long ago that our retirement plan would be to continue the work they are doing today. Thank you to everyone at For The Love Of Cats for all that you do! You're appreciated by humans and felines alike.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

When we lost our beloved Catherine, a tuxedo queen, to old age, we were heart broken especially my wife who adorned her Queen. We saw a tuxedo in the Naples Daily newspaper and visited For the Love of Cats and met Jan & Jim.
We were determined to adopt only ONE!!! We were in the open cage and
a long hair grey reached out and touched Karen's face, Smokey, our determination was dashed and he won her heart. Later another male tuxedo, Shadow, ignored Karen's petting. Later while we were filling out the adoption papers, we heard a loud meow and a paw was stuck out of the cage, it was Shadow calling out. Jim told us his story of being dumped behind a dumpster, adpoted and returned after 30 days because he was not Loving Enough??? We knew that cats need time and six months after our adpotionl, Shadow was purring and paws up in my arms!!! Karen sent Jan & Jim the picture with caption "NOT LOVING ENOUGH???"
We also found "YoYo" which was the kitty we came for so we left with THREE!!! All our feline family was named by our grand daughter, Isabella.
Karen is now a regular volunteer at the shelter and we can't Thank Jan & Jim & the volunteers for all they do for these wonderful animals.
September 1, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

For several years now, I have been aware of the organization For the Love of Cats. They have a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers who rescue and care for the abandoned and feral cats/kittens on ... more

September 1, 2014

Over the past several years, I have visited the shelter - For the Love of Cats - and I am always amazed at the work done by the volunteers. The cats and kittens that are rescued receive medical attention, if needed, and care that for some rescued kittens could mean 24 hours of attention. Kittens are found with no mother and need on-going bottle feeding done by the volunteers. The shelter is clean and provides a safe environment for the cats and kittens. The volunteers also provide love and attention for all the rescues and in particular for the shy and frightened ones. This attention helps the cats/kittens to become socialized, which means they can find their forever homes. In 2012, I adopted Casey and he was a mere 5 ounces when found. For the Love of Cats gave him the medical attention, love and care to make him a healthy kitten and adoptable.....good for Casey and lucky for me!


October 7, 2013

For several years now, I have been aware of the organization For the Love of Cats. They have a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers who rescue and care for the abandoned and feral cats/kittens on Marco Island and the surrounding areas. The cats/kittens receive medical care, loving attention and
then placed in their forever homes.

I have visited this shelter several times over the years to pet and play with the rescued animals, have made donations to this organization and, best of all, adopted my cat, Casey, last year.
This group deserves praise because they are an excellent organization benefiting cats/kittens in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring in more volunteers and more donations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

I adopted a kitten, Casey, in May of 2012 after he was sheltered and fostered at For the Love of Cats shelter. When he was found, he was just 5 and a half ounces; now he is 11 pounds and one year old.
For the Love of Cats has a dedicated group of volunteers who perform miracles with abused,
or
ill kittens/cats. The kittens and cats brought to them receive medical care, if needed, plus a clean and
well run home at the shelter. They also get lots of loving attention, which makes them calmer and
happier pets. I am not only a "client served" plus I am a donor, and proud to give this review.
They are all very special people who lovingly care for the cats and kittens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

I hope there is sufficient space to print my review of this wonderful non-profit organization. For the Love of Cats is a very well maintained, organized, clean, well-staffed shelter for cats and kittens. In June of 2012, I adopted a kitten that was rescued by this shelter when the kitten was just 5.5 ounces (yes, ounces). Kitten, now named Casey, was fostered at home and then placed in the shelter for adoption.I was the lucky one who took Casey home to New York. His knowledgeable care and concern gave this kitten the opportunity to live, grow and be placed in a good home. His story is not much different from the many other cats and kittens that this shelter has rescued, has given expert veterinarian enabling these animals to be well and healthy. The volunteers give generously of their time and effort, not only in caring for the animals, but they also work diligently to keep the shelter immaculately clean providing ahealthy environment for the cats and kittens. I see I have run out of space and there's more to say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 14, 2013

I am so grateful to For the Love of Cats for taking in 2 abandoned kittens in January 2010 and bringing them to health. I was looking for 2 kitties to love in February 2010 and For the Love of Cats h... more

August 26, 2014

If you are thinking of adopting a cat or kitten I highly recommend For the Love of Cats. I adopted 6 month old brother and sister in February of 2010. Love of Cats rescued them and they were looking for a home. I was looking for 2 cats. It was a perfect match. Jan and Jim have been very helpful whenever I have a question or need advice for my cats. They really love and respect cats and kittens as do their volunteers. I'm so glad they care so much.
Sue H.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone them. We need more organizations like them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

I am so grateful to For the Love of Cats for taking in 2 abandoned kittens in January 2010 and bringing them to health. I was looking for 2 kitties to love in February 2010 and For the Love of Cats had just what I needed. Jim, Jan and their volunteers give their all to both felines and human beings. For the Love of Cats is THE BEST shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open up a branch in Naples so it would be closer to me and I could volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

I got my 2 cats 3 years ago from For The Love Of Cats and it was the best thing I did. Jan and Jim were and still are available to answer any questions I have on my cats, even for emergency situations. Jan and Jim truly care about cats and kittens and go above and beyond in taking care and providing homes and advice to those who have cats and kittens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

My family was looking to adopt a cat. We found this wonderful group, FOR THE LOVE OF CATS. They rescue all cats and hand raise them for adoption into forever homes. The couple who run this organization are AMAZING PEOPLE. The love and care the give to ever kitty is wonderful. Their dedication to these animals shows through in the personalities of these rescued kitties. I adopted two little boys litter mates and the are the most loving and affectionate cats I have ever had the pleasure of adopting. You can truely tell they were hand raised, as well as LOVED by the care givers at FOR THE LOVE OF CATS. THANK YOU FOR HELPING SO MANY CATS FIND FOREVER HOMES. You not only saved my two boys but you provided my family with an amazing opportunity of welcoming our little boys into our home that they fill with happiness and joy on a daily basis.... Keep up the Blessed work you doing.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

My wife and I were looking for another cat to join our household, as we had recently lost our 20 year old tabby. We saw a picture in the local paper of a cat to be adopted, and I knew she was the one to be part of our family. I completed an application and was contacted by Jim Rich from For The Love Of Cats. We spoke and I eventually went to the shelter to see the cat. I was amazed at the facility. It is so clean and the people are all so caring. I brought "Cuddles" home a couple days later She has brought so much joy to my wife and I, as well as our other 2 cats. She simply adores "Jeter", our big handsome male. They play together, sleep together, and she follows him around and imitates him. They are so great together. Thank you, Jan and Jim!
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

We adopted Lucy from For the Love of Cats and Jan and Jim are truly outstanding in what they do. They work tirelessly to save those cats others would put down because they believe all lives are precious and worth saving.
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

For the Love of Cats is an amazing organization that does amazing work. Jim & Jan and the entire staff are loving and deeply committed to every kitten and cat that comes through their doors. I adopted two adorable fur babies and then when a stray started coming to my house for food, I gave the a call and they tracked her to where she had hidden her four, just weeks old, kittens and rescued all five of them. I then started visiting the momma and her babies at FTLOC to spend time with them and to watch their progress. I ended up adopting momma and one of her babies. Now, all four of my cats are a part of my family and my husband and I can't imagine life without them. My husband says 6 is the limit so I still have two more to go!

When I retire, I tell Jim & Jan, that I will become a volunteer and spend my days helping them in them in their mission and satisfying my need for more kitties to snuggle!
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

I have had the good fortune to adopt a wonderful 10 year old cat named Lily from this outstanding organization, and in the process I visited their impressive facilities on Marco Island and met several of their volunteers, as well as the principals, Jan and Jim. Any cat or kitten who is rescued by them is extremely lucky. The professional and loving care the cats are given and the pristine conditions in which they are housed are truly special. They are given all the veterinary care and personal attention that one would want to give to one's own pet. The volunteers are dedicated and truly enjoy their time at the facilities, including specific interaction and playtime with all the rescue cats and kittens. I have the utmost admiration for Jan and Jim Rich and their volunteers, as they give 110% to their work and do it cheerfully. They are absolutely a 5 star Great Nonprofit,
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

For the love of cats Is a wonderful, kind and loving facility to find your perfect "kitty" match with Jim and Jan's expert help! 5 star rating
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer