Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
134 Reviews
1234.985075
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
January 17, 2014

more

January 17, 2014

At the end of last June my wife and I lost our Cat Cleo as a result of kidney failure one week before her eighteenth birthday. Needless to say we were pretty devastated. We agonized for at least a month about what we might do to fill the emptiness we were experiencing both emotionally and even in our daily lifestyle. Coincidentally, an article appeared in the "animal" section of our local newspaper about two unrelated "rescue" cats who had become inseparable when Jan decided to have them room together! Along with the article was a picture of these two which captured our attention. Within a week we made the decision that this beautiful couple needed us as much as we needed them and so they were adopted and we not looked back.

I should also indicate that we had been very aware of For The Love of Cats as a result of their extensive and incredibly effective work to mitigate a significant feral cat situation in our island community many years ago. We cannot say enough to capture the humane and professional expertise practiced by this organization, its devoted volunteers, and, of course, its principals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not so brash as to make any suggestions except to encourage more community support in the form of more volunteers, more contributions, and MOST important, more adoptions of these marvelous animals whose presence makes us better humans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I got my 2 cats 3 years ago from For The Love Of Cats and it was the best thing I did. Jan and Jim were and still are available to answer any questions I have on my cats, even for emergency situation... more

October 14, 2013

I am so grateful to For the Love of Cats for taking in 2 abandoned kittens in January 2010 and bringing them to health. I was looking for 2 kitties to love in February 2010 and For the Love of Cats had just what I needed. Jim, Jan and their volunteers give their all to both felines and human beings. For the Love of Cats is THE BEST shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open up a branch in Naples so it would be closer to me and I could volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

I got my 2 cats 3 years ago from For The Love Of Cats and it was the best thing I did. Jan and Jim were and still are available to answer any questions I have on my cats, even for emergency situations. Jan and Jim truly care about cats and kittens and go above and beyond in taking care and providing homes and advice to those who have cats and kittens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

We adopted two beautiful 5 year old Persians from For The Love of Cats last year. We were amazed at the cleanliness and care in the shelter. Many volunteers available to clean and play with the cats... more

October 9, 2013

I have never met such dedicated and selfless people as Jan and Jim. The many cats rescued are all kept in an immaculate and well organized facility where they are placed according to their health and needs. So many volunteers see to the needs of each cat. Jan and Jim matched us up with a brother and sister 5 year old Persians. They are perfect for us and they have brought us so much joy. Even
our older cat Spanky enjoys their company!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

We adopted two beautiful 5 year old Persians from For The Love of Cats last year. We were amazed at the cleanliness and care in the shelter. Many volunteers available to clean and play with the cats. The twins we brought home were rescued in order to keep them together and make sure they survived. For The Love of Cats is a no kill shelter so all cats are guaranteed a well cared for life. Jan & John are well known in the Naples area for all the good work they do promoting awareness. A wonderful couple doing wonderful work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I speak from personal experiece when say For the Love of Cats is a wonderful facility. My 13 year old cat passed away over a year ago. I intended to wait awhile before getting another one. I had heard about For theLove of Cats and decided to go there to just start looking. I was so impressed with the facility and Jim and Jan were so helpful. I ended up adopting Sabrina and taking her home later that day.

If anyone is thinking of adopting a kittren or adult cat I highly recommend For the Love of Cats. So many kittens and cats are looking for a "forever" home and it just might be yours!

Sally Butz

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

We adopted a 2 year old cat named Poppie from The Love of Cats and have been in love with their continued support for her. A week after we took her home they called and wanted to know how she was adjusting. They said the folks who donate their time there were all missing her since she was so sweet. We make a point of going to visit Jim and Jan on the weekends and just know their love for these stray cats is true and never ending. We also support their fund raisers as well. God Bless them for the time and energy they have in helping these cats find loving homes!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

How do you begin to thank an organization like For The Love of Cats and it's two dedicated Directors Jan and Jim Rich for all they do in the rescue and rehabilitation of so many cats and kittens. The love and genuine care given to these amazing creatures who have been lucky enough to be found by them never ceases to amaze me. They also have a fabulous group of volunteers.

Our family was adopted by two of those rescues, first in 2008 when we brought Tabitha home and then again in 2009, when we brought Mu Mu home. They have found their forever home with us and we have For The Love of Cats to thank for that.









Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, Jan and Jim know what they're doing and do it well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

We adopted Oliver (tuxedo cat) 3 yrs ago from The Love Of Cats. He was rescued by Jan and Rich and had a very extensive case of ringworm. Through the time, love, and holistic approach to his condition by everyone involved Oliver was cured. I think if it were another organization Oliver would not be here. That would have been such a loss as we love him so much and he loves us. He sleeps with us like a baby at night. He is such an important part of our family.

When we first adopted him we thought he had a medical problem and we actually called Jan and Rich at 1 am with our concerns. They took our call with a smile and worked with us to figure out what the problem was. Oliver had to be in a cage and confined from the other cats for 7 months. The night we called them was the first time we gave him the run of the house. He was running and jumping all around for the first time and became dehydrated.

Oliver walks on a leash because Elaine his devoted volunteer would take him outside for exercise and some vit.D.

Oliver turned out to be the best cat .

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This facility is the cleanest, most compassionate and well run organization I have ever visited. No changes are needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I met Jim and Jan Rich as they were adopting out cats and kittens. Jim was very compassionate and helpful in finding me the perfect cat to add to our family. We got Gus, an abandoned cat that was rescued, about three months ago and he has become a well-loved and loving member of our home. Jim and Jan show a commitment to living out their mission and spare no expense or time to seeing that through. I feel they make a significant difference to the lives of both cats and people. Well Done! Theo Etzel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2012

For The Love of Cats is a 24 by 7 dedicated volunteer no kill shelter. We have adopted two wonderful cats from Love of Cats. But, more than that they are constantly keeping strays fed and healthy to... more

October 7, 2013

For The Love Of Cats is a team of dedicated people who unselfishly provide their time and talent day in and day out taking care of helpless animals. This organization is a gift that definitely understands what selfless giving is all about. Kindness abounds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...there are great leaders in place who see the big picture.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

For The Love of Cats is a 24 by 7 dedicated volunteer no kill shelter. We have adopted two wonderful cats from Love of Cats. But, more than that they are constantly keeping strays fed and healthy to go to loving homes. Feral cats are spayed, neutered, fed and have shelters in the wild and SWFL is wild to many predators. One weekend I found two very unkept, fur balled, flea infested and starving beautiful Persian cats. Within hours The Love of Cats had them to the vets and taken care of health wise. Within a few weeks these cats were healthy and were adopted. This is the most efficient and well run organization I have seen. Again, more importantly the care given to the animals as well as the volunteers is full of love and compassion. Corky Miller

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2011

Jan and Jim Rich, and all the volunteers extend themselves far beyond 150%. Recently, I discovered a badly matted, unkempt Persian cat. My husband I transported the cat to a local vet. We called a volunteer at The Love Cats who put me in touch with Jim Rich who went directly to the vet's office to assess the cat and do more research. This type of immediate, knowledgable on-the-spot caring and positive attitudeis what For the Love of Cats is all about from the entire team.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adoption

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish I had more finances to donate as they manage funds totally For the Love of Cats.

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

For the Love of Cats on Marco Island has changed my life. I moved to Florida in 1/2012 when my job transfered me from Ohio. I have always been a pet lover and have had cats and dogs my whole life as part of our family. I had to leave not only my children back in Ohio who are all finally out of school but also my beloved cat and dog there. I soon became very lonely and depressed here in Florida. I finally made the decision to adopt a cat. When I met Jan and Jim at their cat palace on Marco Island I knew I would be leaving with a new family member and companion. There were so many adorable cats and kittens that I found it hard to decide which one to take home with me. I originally wanted an adult cat because of the long commute I have to work each day but finally decided on a kitten. Jim and Jan let me hold and play with the kittens to make sure I would be a good fit for them. They also insisted with the kittens that I take 2 from the same litter so they would not get lonely. I have had Ash and Scarlet now since they were 4 months old and they have most definetly changed my life. I agree that it would not have been right to just take one of them. They play, and romp, and groom each other for hours. They sleep in each others arms. They have brought me so much laughter and joy that I finally feel that I can make it here without my human family. These two kittens are the joy of my life now and it is all because of the Love that Jan and Jim have for these beautiful cats and kittens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer