Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.988955
Write A Review
December 8, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 23, 2014

I love my job! Every Wednesday morning I get to go to work and hug and kiss all the cats and kittens we all take care of every day of the week. All the volunteers are dedicated to the health and hap... more

December 8, 2014

I have been volunteering at For the Love of Cats for several years now. It is so rewarding to heal the sick and find loving homes for all who pass through our door. We adopted Emma and Gracie and are now a happy 3-cat family. Jim and Jan are so dedicated to helping the sick and abandoned find new homes and enrich the lives of those who adopt them. So, even if you are not "in the market" for a new addition to your family at this time, we will happily take your donation to care for the ones we have. Have a Merry Christmas everyone!!
August 23, 2014

I love my job! Every Wednesday morning I get to go to work and hug and kiss all the cats and kittens we all take care of every day of the week. All the volunteers are dedicated to the health and happiness of all the cats that come through our shelter. Jim and Jan are totally dedicated to the caring and adopting of all the feral, homeless and abandoned cats. What would all these little critters do without them??
October 19, 2012

I am a volunteer For the Love of Cats. It is such a rewarding endeavor. I love taking care of the cats and kittens. Jim and Jan are as dedicated to these animals as I have ever seen. We take care of the cats and kittens and find them loving homes. We also do work for the feral cats. We trap them and neuter and spay. We have dedicated volunteers who feed the colonies daily and make sure they are all healthy. We have adoption centers at pet stores every week and find homes through fairs, advertising and other organizational outlets. Jim and Jan monitor the adoptions to make sure all the cats and kittens have been placed in loving homes and are well cared for. Our facility is clean and beautiful. All the cats and kittens are very happy in their temporary home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

It all started for me in March 2014 when my husband gave me the ok to get a kitten. My cat Rex had passed away almost 2 years ago. I was watching the "kitty cam" and spotted Opie. He stole my heart. I filled out an adoption form and called to make a visit to the shelter. Jim couldn't have been nicer. I was amazed how clean the shelter was and the professionalism of those involved. I was able to go visit Opie and his littermates for playtime. I also picked Opie's brother Shilo to come home with me. Jan and Jim answered all my questions and concerns. Their hearts are 100% dedicated to their work with these cats and kittens. They are always so upbeat and emit such joy with each adoption that takes place. I was so impressed with For the Love of Cats that I became a volunteer 2 weeks after I brought my boys home. All the cats and kittens are so well taken care of and loved while in their care. This is such a wonderful organization. They bring so much happiness to the lives of others. Please be sure to donate and adopt from this great shelter.
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

As a volunteer, it is amazing to see first hand the love and dedication of all those involved with for the Love of Cats. Imagine 2 day old kittens, abandoned, no mother, and having to be bottle fed every 4 hours day and night for weeks! And then imagine the very lucky folks who adopted each of them, what love those kittens will give back every moment of their lives! Every cat and kitten that comes through this shelter gets the same devoted attention, day and night. Now we truly understand why the 3 cats we adopted from them 6 years ago are the most loving animals we have ever had.
Pete & Karen
August 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 23, 2012

No amount of time, love, or expense is ever spared to save lives and work toward the goal of forever homes for the cats and kittens. more

August 25, 2014

The dedication of Jim and Jan and all the volunteers to providing the best care helps the cats get adopted to their forever homes. Working there is always rewarding, and has resulted in us adopting five ourselves. You can't help but fall in love with them.
November 23, 2012

No amount of time, love, or expense is ever spared to save lives and work toward the goal of forever homes for the cats and kittens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 13, 2013

The cats always come first at the shelter which is one of the main reasons it is such a pleasure to volunteer at FOR THE LOVE OF CATS. The shelter is run in a professional manner. The shelter has done... more

August 24, 2014

Jan and Jim are truly dedicated to their organization and are unwavering when it comes to the wellbeing of the cats at the shelter.
October 13, 2013

The cats always come first at the shelter which is one of the main reasons it is such a pleasure to volunteer at FOR THE LOVE OF CATS. The shelter is run in a professional manner. The shelter has done wonders for the cats on Marco Island and outlying areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2011

Professionally run shelter with outstanding owners. They go way beyond what you would expect from owners that care for cats and have knowledgeable volunteers and make sure that volunteers understand the standards expected of them. They communicate with volunteers and cat owners to ensure that their concerns and needs are being addressed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Cats are not eliminated here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

I have adopted two cats from For The Love Of Cats and could not be any happier. I volunteer because I believe in everything For The Love Of Cats stands for. Jim and Jan are two people who love what their doing and you can sense that when you talk to them. For The Love Of Cats deserves the highest rating they can achieve.
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

When I originally join the shelter I was only expecting to get the volunteer hours and be done with it. But as time passed by my intentions at the shelter changed. Not only has going to the shelter helped hundreds of cats but it also helped myself and made me grow as a person. I won't forget my experience there for it was honestly one of the best times of my life.
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

AFTER FINDING A WONDERFUL CAT AT THE NAPLES SHELTER JUST BEFORE SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN DESTROYED, WE DISCOVERED THAT " FOR THE LOVE OF CATS " ON MARCO ISLAND WAS WORKING TO SAVE MANY OF THE CATS THAT OTHER ORGANIZATIONS COULD NO LONGER HELP. ARMED WITH THIS INFORMATION, WE PROCEEDED TO MARCO TO SEE FOR OURSELVES AND FOUND A CLEAN WONDERFUL FACILITY WITH MANY HAPPY CATS BEING HELPED BACK TO GOOD HEALTH BY OWNERS WHO WERE VERY HANDS ON. WE IMMEDIATELY HELPED FINANCIALLY AND HOPE OTHERS WILL DO THE SAME!
THIS IS A GRADE A OPERATION.
DESANKA & DAVE
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

I have been a volunteer for FLC for several years . There are not enough superlatives to describe this organization. They are simply amazing people , who have made an enormous difference in the lives of so many cats, and so many people. If only there were more shelters like this, because there are far too many cats that need help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish they could be bigger, so more of the many cats that need help , could benefit from their expertise!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

I have been a volunteer with For the Love of Cats since 2003 and I can tell you that you could not find a more dedicated, professional, and loving group of people anywhere. Each cat or kitten who com... more

August 23, 2014

I have volunteered @ For the Love of Cats in Marco island FL for over ten years. I can tell you that this organization is one of the best I have ever been involved with. Each cat or kitten who comes in is given the absolute best care that is possible & is loved & nurtured until we find them "forever homes". In the past few years we have rescued & saved the lives of so many abandoned & abused kittens...many of whom would not be alive today without our help. The shelter is spotlessly clean, well organized, & staffed by a wonderful group of volunteers. Jan & Jim, the founders of the organization, have dedicated their lives to saving these sweet innocent creatures.
October 7, 2013

I have been a volunteer with For the Love of Cats since 2003 and I can tell you that you could not find a more dedicated, professional, and loving group of people anywhere. Each cat or kitten who comes into our shelter is treated with the utmost respect and care and we never stop until we have found forever homes for them. It is such a great feeling to help nurse these sometimes very ill kittens back into good health. My own two cats are rescues from FLOC and they are happy and well adjusted and the love of our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2011

I have been a volunteer at For the Love of Cats since the very beginning and I can say that Jan & Jim Rich are truly two of the most dedicated people I have every had the privilege of knowing. The shelter is very well run with a large, dedicated group of volunteers. Each and every cat or kitten that comes into the shelter is given the very best of care and love until we can find their "forever" home.
My husband and I have adopted two cats from the shelter, Daisy and her half sister, Tonya. Tonya was very sick when she came to the shelter. Two different vets said that she wouldn't live as she had liver damage. But Jan & Jim and the other volunteers never gave up on her and now she is a very healthy, happy 6 year old and truly a love.
I will contiinue to volunteer at For the Love of Cats and support them in any way that I can. Their mission is very important and Marco Island is very luck to have them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I volunteer at the shelter and can see first-hand how dedicated and caring Jan & Jim are with all of the cats and kittens who come to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish that more animal- loving people would support Jan & Jim and For the Love of Cats with their donations.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer