Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
180 Reviews
1234.988895
Write A Review
October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

This is an incredible organization. Jan and Jim have dedicated their lives and finances to help the cat population in the Marco/Naples area. Everything is done for the good of the animal regardless of the time, cost, and care required. They have a group of dedicated volunteers who help out. It is a full time job for Jim and Jan, days, nights and weekends too. The good they do is enormous. They are exceptional people deserving of our thanks and respect. There is no organization more worthy of donations than For The Love Of Cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

For the Love of Cats is a fabulous organization made up entirely of volunteers who work tirelessly 7X24X365 to rescue, care for and ultimately find new homes for abandoned and homeless cats and kitten... more

October 6, 2013

For the Love of Cats is an all volunteer organization that rescues abandoned cats and kittens, takes care of their medical needs, socializes them, sterilizes them and finally adopts them to forever homes. The owners, board and volunteers are dedicated to the mission and making sure that all the animals in our shelter get the best care possible. For the Love of Cats also does trap, neuter, return for feral cats and maintains the colonies to ensure the feral cats are healthy and well fed. Partnerships with the local humane society, county animal control, veterinarians and other shelters have created a like minded community of animal welfare volunteers who work together on behalf of the animals. Finally, helping pet owners keep their animals is a high priority and our low income programs of providing food and medical care to those in need has helped families keep their pets when they had all but lost hope. For the Love of Cats has a strong presence in the community and is well known in Collier County for their willingness to do what it takes to save as many animals as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

For the Love of Cats is a fabulous organization made up entirely of volunteers who work tirelessly 7X24X365 to rescue, care for and ultimately find new homes for abandoned and homeless cats and kittens. A variety of fundraisers are held throughout the year to support the mission of the shelter and to take care of the animals. Every dollar raised goes right back to the animals. We have strong relationships with other shelters, the Naples Humane Society, the community and local businesses that allow us to care for hundreds of animals every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

After losing my beloved cat I decided to volunteer. I was afraid it would be a sad experience. It turned out to be the best thing. Jan and Jim and all the volunteers are like a family. They give the cats and kittens wonderful care and lots of love. I always leave the shelter with a spring in my step. One of these days I leave with a cat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

There is proof of Angels walking among us and they are in SW Florida. I tip my hat to everyone in the organization for all of your hard work and time spent. A giant hug to Jan and Jim....You've really grown since I first met you. The world is a better place because of your kindness and passion for what you believe in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My cat Taz was rescued back in 1999. Since then I've done everything possible to give him a happy healthy life. Recently he was diagnosed with kidney stones that were blocking him. He had to undergo a horrible operation called a Urethrostomy to open up his tubes so they would pass. It cost a fortune. Since he is like one of my kids I had to help him. About 7 months later he got really sick again from an infection related and I was flat broke out of work and would have been forced to put him down because he refused to take oral medication! Pills or liquid. This cat is strong. He knows the rolling up in the towel trick all to well. Only the vet mega antibiotic shot would suffice. I called a bunch of vets offering to make payments if they would only help my poor cat. Not one would. The fact of the matter is that if you are broke you DIE! Human or cat apparently. The human society offered to kill him. Someone suggested I look into asking the rescue agencies for help. That's when For the Love Of Cats came into the picture. They helped me like champions and Taz, Pixie and I love them for it! They helped save my little brother and I'll never forget it. There still is some humanity in the world. . .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

For The Love of Cats Inc is a wonderful organization. My fiance and I had been looking to make a new addition to our family and had been to countless shelters looking for the perfect kitty for our family, but couldn't seem to find the right fit. While traveling down to Key Largo from Sarasota we decided to stop by the Naples Humane Society to see a kitten we had seen on Petfinder.com. This was where we met Jim, founder of For The Love of Cats. We checked out the kitten from petfinder but she didn't seem to have much of a personality (which was essential because we wanted to be sure that our current cat would get along with our new addition). Jim introduced us to some of the kittens he had brought in from his shelter and I had never experienced such lovable kittens in my entire life. We fell in love with two black kittens (a brother and sister named Ming and Suki) and ended up taking them home with us to Sarasota. When we went to pick them up at Jim and Jan's home (and shelter), I was so impressed with the facility and could tell that every one of their cats is well taken care of. Every kitten I held never stopped purring and shows how committed they are to ensuring that their foster families are chosen with care and in the best interest of their kittens. We cannot thank them enough for bringing our babies (now named Brynja and Baldur) into our lives and would highly recommend their organization to others looking for a life-long companion.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

For The Love of Cats is exactly that!! We adopted our little Ariel from Jan and Jim and we felt like she was cared for like a memeber of a family! She is a joy and I would not hesitate to adopt from this organisation again! Thank You Jan and Jim Sandra and Kevin

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Every animal that comes through the door to this little shelter is treated as a member of our family, I have been a volunteer since 2003 and have personally seen the amount of time and concern the directors and volunteers give to their shelter. No matter what the condition of the cat, nor the age, nor its "story", every animal receives stellar vet care, good food and much love and lots of handling. We all strive to get to know each and every one of them so that when they are adopted out, their new family has a good idea of their personalities. This little shelter is an oasis and a haven for some of the most frightened and ill cats; who come to understand that they are safe and warm, clean and loved. We have had feral cats, injured cats, abandoned cats and loads of strays and all are welcomed with open arms. The true test of what we do is when a frightened animal finally realizes that you are there to help and that animal gently places its paws on your face and nuzzles you as their acceptance of we humans. There is no greater feeling. For The Love of Cats also is very active in the community educating people on the care of their animals, helping out those who have animal concerns, or need some one-on-one help. We also have a senior adoption program and are committed to county-wide TNR efforts. This is a wonder place --not only for the animals, but also for we volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

For The Love Of Cats is by far the most wonderful, clean, caring, attentive shelter I have ever visited in my life. I am proud to be a volunteer for over 5 years. All of the volunteers are second to none. These kittens and cats recieve the best care and love. They are all so well socialized and adorable. The managers of this fantastic shelter are the most selfless people I have ever met. I feel privileged to be associated with these people and this facility. It's a great place to adopt a kitten or cat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I found a kitten in the back of a pick-up truck in the parking lot of where I work. His paws were burned and so were his whiskers. I brought him home and took him directly to the vet. My husband was not keen on keeping him since we had 4 other cats. I called around to other charities and they flatly told me that they could not help because they were full. I can't imagine a charity that won't help, especially a kitten that is injured. I even offered to pay his medicial. I finally called For The Love of Cats and they immediately told me that they would take the kitten and find him a good home even though they were to the max. I felt so relieved that someone listened to me and wanted to help. As it turns out, my husband warmed to the kitten and we kept him and named him Lucky. I will always appreciate the kindness shown to me by the staff at For The Love of Cats.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer