Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.988955
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

For the Love of Cats has done a wonderful job in helping cats and kittens, first by trapping, spaying and neutering all the free roaming cats on Marco Island, FL, and now helping cats and kittens in and around Naples, Florida. They have created their own shelter in a beautifully appointed former 3-car garage of their home and they have a dedicated crew of volunteers who help care for the cats. Their adoptions take place in PetSmart in Naples. They also work with the Humane Society Naples (of which I am a Board member) to promote adoption of our cats as well. I have known this well-run organization for nearly all of the 20 years I have lived in Naples, Florida, and I have the utmost respect for Jan and Jim Rich and the way they run their shelter. The cats they adopt out have get the kindest hands-on care that is not usually available in a shelter environment.
August 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

My beloved 13 year old cat had died and I was looking to adopt. I went to their shelter for cats. It is not a shelter but more of a home. It is so clean and beautiful and the cats are basically tre... more

August 23, 2014

About 2 years ago I adopted a cat from their organization..their facility was unbelieveable..not just clean but so great for each cat/kitten they take in...each cat is in their own giant 2 compartment cage and they have plenty of medical attention, food/ water and toys...they play with them all day some of the older cats are out with them on comfortable chairs etc...and kittens socialize with them and eachother. it is just like being home for them...the entire process of adopting is very professional and if for any reason you change your mind Jan and Rich insist you bring the cat back to them....they are very available and tireless in their quest to make sure these kittens and cats are placed in ONLY LOVING FOREVER HOMES. I recommend visiting their site and then their facility if you want to adopt.
October 26, 2012

My beloved 13 year old cat had died and I was looking to adopt. I went to their shelter for cats. It is not a shelter but more of a home. It is so clean and beautiful and the cats are basically treated like this is their home for life. Everyone is so caring and understanding of the animals and the humans who come to adopt. They make sure whoever is adopting is ready to adopt for LIFE. If you are ever looking to give to a charity this is the one. It is wonderful what Jan and Rich are doing for unwanted cats and kittens. The old ones will probably stay there happy until the day they die of old age with dignity surrounded by love.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 6, 2013

Jim and Jan are amazing in their tireless efforts to better the lives of the cats they help. They surely must get tired---it's an endless commitment---yet they remain chipper and optimistic. They, ... more

August 23, 2014

Jim and Jan Rich did what no one else was willing or able to do--they worked tirelessly with great volunteers to clean up the feral cat population in our community via a TNR program that has been amazingly successful. Their volunteers feed an ever-smaller number of outdoor cats as the population shrinks. Now their focus is on finding homes for kittens and cats that come farther afield. Their facilities are clean and nice and their volunteers are too :-D I know many of them as friends and clients and love their devotion and the joy they receive from helping out.
October 6, 2013

Jim and Jan are amazing in their tireless efforts to better the lives of the cats they help. They surely must get tired---it's an endless commitment---yet they remain chipper and optimistic. They, and their wonderful corps of volunteers, are simply awesome!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let Jim and Jan have a vacation more often :-)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

For The Love Of Cats is amazing they take care of all the lost abandon or wild cats and kittens have them fixed find homes or returned to were found or a safer area!!! Thanks Jan and Rich!!!!!! more

August 23, 2014

claddagh59

For The Love Of Cats everyday goes about the job of bring end of the cruelty of pet overpopulation by rescuing abandoned cats and kittens and sterilizing the feral and stray cat population in the community and finding great forever homes!!!! There staff is amazing and
when the cats are ready to go to there forever homes they are healthy and so beautiful!!!!!!!
October 7, 2013

For The Love Of Cats is amazing they take care of all the lost abandon or wild cats and kittens have them fixed find homes or returned to were found or a safer area!!! Thanks Jan and Rich!!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2011

They are a Great Group to work with!! You call tell them about a stray you have seen and they are right out to set safe traps so they get get it help,a new home or to have it fixed and release back to were they caught it! They are great with all the cats they take care of and make sure they go to great homes!!!!!!! They have taken about 20 kittens from were I work and have found homews for all that were not to sick to find a home!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have give food and money to For the love of cats

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it bigger to help !

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

I visited For the Love of Cats and saw the following:
--volunteers holding motherless kittens who needed bottle feeding
--an isolation area for infected animals (also given loving care by volunteers in protective outfits)
--volunteers socializing cats
--wonderful housing units where
cats can learn social skills, interactions with others, use of the litter box and so forth
For the Love of Cats, would make a great model of care for other animal agencies to utilize. They helped the entire Marco Island's cat population and have moved outward to be of service to more cats.
Dr. Kelly Gardiner PhD, APRN


August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

We had cats in our lives for over 40 years and found ourselves "cat less" recently. We decided to rescue an older cat, and were confident that "For the Love of Cats" was the place to go. The people there run a very clean and happy place. They are very caring. We adopted a sweet cat that has been a great addition to our family.
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

I had moved myself and my dog to Florida from New Mexico. We had left family, both pets and humans. My dog was used to his cousins and he fell into a depression being away from family while I was at work. I met "For the Love of Cats" at Pet Smart. I told the gentleman who was in charge of the kitties my dilemma with my dog and what "kind" of a cat I would like. He brought out Petey. Petey was a year old, black and white with golden eyes. I was told of his personally, what he liked, how he behaved and other bits of personal knowledge. We took him home for a trail to make sure he would fit with us. His personally was the perfect fit for us. I love petey. He is very loving, gets along with any dog that walks in the door, is very tolerant to children and babies. He never hiss's, bites or scratches. Never has he ruined any furniture, sprayed or climbed curtains. The fact that "For the Love of Cats" knew peteys personally and was able to make the perfect fit for us all was very appreciated. I am so grateful to "For the Love of Cats". When I adopted Petey he was current with all his shots and worming. Petey is the perfect addition to our family. Him and Poncho are very good friends. If we ever add another kitty to our home, I will go back to "For the Love of Cats". Their commitment to kitty's is impressive, the knowledge of the kitty's is personally is a great plus. It was amazing to have such a perfect cat come into our lives and fit so well with no effort. I do not feel that would of been possible without the love and care that this organization puts into their program.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

Two of our three cats are from For the Love of Cats and they are beautiful, amazing, socialized, kind animals that have been nothing but an absolute gift and joy to have in our family. The staff and volunteers at For the Love of Cats are people truly care about the work they are doing and the animals they care for. They have made a real, noticeable difference in the area and they continue to be an important and meaningful part of our community.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

This great organization on Marco Island has taken in the stray cats, feeds them, neuters them, gets their required immunizations up to date, and there is one big family at their shelter. We adopted two of their cats over tens years ago, and have had great times with the two cats. When people ask us where we got our cats, we tell them from the Love of Cats on Marco Island. They are the most dedicated people dealing with cats that we have ever known. A remarkable organization.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

This is one of the best organizations I've ever dealt with in adopting new family members. They clearly live and care for these cats, ensure wonderful new homes and work with new pet owners on expectations and difficult pet situations. They are professional, compassionate and realistic in their approach. I highly recommend getting involved with them in any way you can. They deserve support!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer