Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.988955
Write A Review
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

We adopted twin cats and that was because we were treated in a most wonderful manner and made to feel we were the one family to provide these cats a forever home. They were right!
Thanks For the Love of Cats!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

When I originally join the shelter I was only expecting to get the volunteer hours and be done with it. But as time passed by my intentions at the shelter changed. Not only has going to the shelter helped hundreds of cats but it also helped myself and made me grow as a person. I won't forget my experience there for it was honestly one of the best times of my life.
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

AFTER FINDING A WONDERFUL CAT AT THE NAPLES SHELTER JUST BEFORE SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN DESTROYED, WE DISCOVERED THAT " FOR THE LOVE OF CATS " ON MARCO ISLAND WAS WORKING TO SAVE MANY OF THE CATS THAT OTHER ORGANIZATIONS COULD NO LONGER HELP. ARMED WITH THIS INFORMATION, WE PROCEEDED TO MARCO TO SEE FOR OURSELVES AND FOUND A CLEAN WONDERFUL FACILITY WITH MANY HAPPY CATS BEING HELPED BACK TO GOOD HEALTH BY OWNERS WHO WERE VERY HANDS ON. WE IMMEDIATELY HELPED FINANCIALLY AND HOPE OTHERS WILL DO THE SAME!
THIS IS A GRADE A OPERATION.
DESANKA & DAVE
August 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 4, 2011

For the Love of Cats has been a huge help to me over the years since they came about. They helped me spay and find a great home for a stray cat that showed up at my home a few years ago. They do suc... more

August 23, 2014

For the Love of Cats helped me many times while I lived in Naples, FL. I lived in a rural area that must have been the perfect dumping ground for unwanted cats, many of which showed up at my doorstep... For the Love of Cats either directly helped me rescue these cats and or provided some funds to help do so by paying for spay/neuter surgery and shots for these animals...
March 4, 2011

For the Love of Cats has been a huge help to me over the years since they came about. They helped me spay and find a great home for a stray cat that showed up at my home a few years ago. They do such wonderful work over on Marco Island caring for ferals and rescuing strays. Jan is always so helpful when I have contacted her in need of help regarding other stray cats that I have been taking care of. If I lived closer to their shelter I would be more than willing to volunteer there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They helped me find a home for a stray cat by having her spayed and taking her into their shelter until they could get her a home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they could open a shelter in Naples area, closer to GG Estates.

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

For the Love of Cats is the gold standard of pet rescues. They have spent many years doing their best to reduce the feral and free roaming cats on Marco Island and elsewhere with TNR and their efforts have had a very positive effect there. They also help other local cat rescue groups in different areas of Collier County, too.

They have not only worked successfully with other local rescue groups, but with local govt animal control and made some big changes there, all the better for the cats. They have also helped move local legislation through to make TNR legal in Collier County.

Their adoptions every week at PetSmart really move those kittens and Adult Cats out of cages and into lifelong loving homes, and they are scrupulous about adopting into good homes only, not just any home. They have also rescued and fostered so, so many cats and kittens, nursing them back to health and eventual adoption.

They are meticulous in their care of cats and kittens, supportive of other local groups, and are just a pleasure to work with in any capacity. They are the very best in this field--and they are all volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No change

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

I have been a volunteer for FLC for several years . There are not enough superlatives to describe this organization. They are simply amazing people , who have made an enormous difference in the lives of so many cats, and so many people. If only there were more shelters like this, because there are far too many cats that need help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish they could be bigger, so more of the many cats that need help , could benefit from their expertise!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 23, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

I have been a volunteer with For the Love of Cats since 2003 and I can tell you that you could not find a more dedicated, professional, and loving group of people anywhere. Each cat or kitten who com... more

August 23, 2014

I have volunteered @ For the Love of Cats in Marco island FL for over ten years. I can tell you that this organization is one of the best I have ever been involved with. Each cat or kitten who comes in is given the absolute best care that is possible & is loved & nurtured until we find them "forever homes". In the past few years we have rescued & saved the lives of so many abandoned & abused kittens...many of whom would not be alive today without our help. The shelter is spotlessly clean, well organized, & staffed by a wonderful group of volunteers. Jan & Jim, the founders of the organization, have dedicated their lives to saving these sweet innocent creatures.
October 7, 2013

I have been a volunteer with For the Love of Cats since 2003 and I can tell you that you could not find a more dedicated, professional, and loving group of people anywhere. Each cat or kitten who comes into our shelter is treated with the utmost respect and care and we never stop until we have found forever homes for them. It is such a great feeling to help nurse these sometimes very ill kittens back into good health. My own two cats are rescues from FLOC and they are happy and well adjusted and the love of our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2011

I have been a volunteer at For the Love of Cats since the very beginning and I can say that Jan & Jim Rich are truly two of the most dedicated people I have every had the privilege of knowing. The shelter is very well run with a large, dedicated group of volunteers. Each and every cat or kitten that comes into the shelter is given the very best of care and love until we can find their "forever" home.
My husband and I have adopted two cats from the shelter, Daisy and her half sister, Tonya. Tonya was very sick when she came to the shelter. Two different vets said that she wouldn't live as she had liver damage. But Jan & Jim and the other volunteers never gave up on her and now she is a very healthy, happy 6 year old and truly a love.
I will contiinue to volunteer at For the Love of Cats and support them in any way that I can. Their mission is very important and Marco Island is very luck to have them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I volunteer at the shelter and can see first-hand how dedicated and caring Jan & Jim are with all of the cats and kittens who come to us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish that more animal- loving people would support Jan & Jim and For the Love of Cats with their donations.

August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

The passion and commitment of the dedicated volunteers at For The Love of Cats has produced many very "LUCKY" cats over the past 12 years!

Who would have thought that such a charity on a small island in southwest Florida could 'claw' its way into the hearts of so many of us!

Bravo
and keep up the "purrfect" work!
August 23, 2014

more

August 23, 2014

An acquaintance cheated death by rescuing a kitten that was toss out of a car - This kitten was dehydrated, had road rash/burns, chipped teeth and non-stop crying. Can you imagine the fear this kitten experienced. My acquaintance asked me for help ~ I received help for this terrified kitten from The Love of Cats !!! Their magnificent facility and caring volunteers restored 'Petey' to a healthy kitten and best of all found him a forever home. Jim & Jan Rich and their staff are the best !!!

Andy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

For The Love Of Cats is a team of dedicated people who unselfishly provide their time and talent day in and day out taking care of helpless animals. This organization is a gift that definitely unders... more

August 23, 2014

Three years ago we lost our beautiful Boo. A hero, faithful friend, caregiver when ill and constant companion. We just stopped by for Love of Cats to glance. Let me rephrase. I made my husband go by as his heart was still completely broke. You see Boo sat with my husband on the weekends in a sand chair and had breakfast with him every weekend watching the sun come up; enjoyed football games with him and slept with us. He was adamant about not having any more cats. He looked away while I was looking at the kittens. I choose two brothers. By evening my husband had both on his chest having them purring loud and clear. We still think of Boo every day but with Barnstable and Frederick we have lots of fun and laughter is abundant. Thank you to everyone at For The Love of Cats. You are truly remarkable.
October 7, 2013

For The Love Of Cats is a team of dedicated people who unselfishly provide their time and talent day in and day out taking care of helpless animals. This organization is a gift that definitely understands what selfless giving is all about. Kindness abounds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...there are great leaders in place who see the big picture.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

For The Love of Cats is a 24 by 7 dedicated volunteer no kill shelter. We have adopted two wonderful cats from Love of Cats. But, more than that they are constantly keeping strays fed and healthy to go to loving homes. Feral cats are spayed, neutered, fed and have shelters in the wild and SWFL is wild to many predators. One weekend I found two very unkept, fur balled, flea infested and starving beautiful Persian cats. Within hours The Love of Cats had them to the vets and taken care of health wise. Within a few weeks these cats were healthy and were adopted. This is the most efficient and well run organization I have seen. Again, more importantly the care given to the animals as well as the volunteers is full of love and compassion. Corky Miller

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2011

Jan and Jim Rich, and all the volunteers extend themselves far beyond 150%. Recently, I discovered a badly matted, unkempt Persian cat. My husband I transported the cat to a local vet. We called a volunteer at The Love Cats who put me in touch with Jim Rich who went directly to the vet's office to assess the cat and do more research. This type of immediate, knowledgable on-the-spot caring and positive attitudeis what For the Love of Cats is all about from the entire team.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adoption

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish I had more finances to donate as they manage funds totally For the Love of Cats.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer