Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
134 Reviews
1234.985075
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I met Jim and Jan Rich as they were adopting out cats and kittens. Jim was very compassionate and helpful in finding me the perfect cat to add to our family. We got Gus, an abandoned cat that was rescued, about three months ago and he has become a well-loved and loving member of our home. Jim and Jan show a commitment to living out their mission and spare no expense or time to seeing that through. I feel they make a significant difference to the lives of both cats and people. Well Done! Theo Etzel

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 19, 2012

For The Love of Cats is a 24 by 7 dedicated volunteer no kill shelter. We have adopted two wonderful cats from Love of Cats. But, more than that they are constantly keeping strays fed and healthy to... more

October 7, 2013

For The Love Of Cats is a team of dedicated people who unselfishly provide their time and talent day in and day out taking care of helpless animals. This organization is a gift that definitely understands what selfless giving is all about. Kindness abounds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing...there are great leaders in place who see the big picture.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

For The Love of Cats is a 24 by 7 dedicated volunteer no kill shelter. We have adopted two wonderful cats from Love of Cats. But, more than that they are constantly keeping strays fed and healthy to go to loving homes. Feral cats are spayed, neutered, fed and have shelters in the wild and SWFL is wild to many predators. One weekend I found two very unkept, fur balled, flea infested and starving beautiful Persian cats. Within hours The Love of Cats had them to the vets and taken care of health wise. Within a few weeks these cats were healthy and were adopted. This is the most efficient and well run organization I have seen. Again, more importantly the care given to the animals as well as the volunteers is full of love and compassion. Corky Miller

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2011

Jan and Jim Rich, and all the volunteers extend themselves far beyond 150%. Recently, I discovered a badly matted, unkempt Persian cat. My husband I transported the cat to a local vet. We called a volunteer at The Love Cats who put me in touch with Jim Rich who went directly to the vet's office to assess the cat and do more research. This type of immediate, knowledgable on-the-spot caring and positive attitudeis what For the Love of Cats is all about from the entire team.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adoption

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish I had more finances to donate as they manage funds totally For the Love of Cats.

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

For the Love of Cats on Marco Island has changed my life. I moved to Florida in 1/2012 when my job transfered me from Ohio. I have always been a pet lover and have had cats and dogs my whole life as part of our family. I had to leave not only my children back in Ohio who are all finally out of school but also my beloved cat and dog there. I soon became very lonely and depressed here in Florida. I finally made the decision to adopt a cat. When I met Jan and Jim at their cat palace on Marco Island I knew I would be leaving with a new family member and companion. There were so many adorable cats and kittens that I found it hard to decide which one to take home with me. I originally wanted an adult cat because of the long commute I have to work each day but finally decided on a kitten. Jim and Jan let me hold and play with the kittens to make sure I would be a good fit for them. They also insisted with the kittens that I take 2 from the same litter so they would not get lonely. I have had Ash and Scarlet now since they were 4 months old and they have most definetly changed my life. I agree that it would not have been right to just take one of them. They play, and romp, and groom each other for hours. They sleep in each others arms. They have brought me so much laughter and joy that I finally feel that I can make it here without my human family. These two kittens are the joy of my life now and it is all because of the Love that Jan and Jim have for these beautiful cats and kittens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

When we decided to adopt some kittens, Jan & Jim personally searched for just the right two kittens, and then followed up with us to make sure we were perfectly satisfied... All along they have been helpful, caring, and very loving. The work they do is unbelievably great... The cats and kittens that have been saved and adopted out to loving homes is incredible. We love all the work they do and Marco Island appreciates their hard work also. The Island is a better place today thanks to For The Love of Cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing could improve this organization...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 7, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 8, 2013

I adopted a kitten, Casey, in May of 2012 after he was sheltered and fostered at For the Love of Cats shelter. When he was found, he was just 5 and a half ounces; now he is 11 pounds and one year old... more

October 7, 2013

For several years now, I have been aware of the organization For the Love of Cats. They have a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers who rescue and care for the abandoned and feral cats/kittens on Marco Island and the surrounding areas. The cats/kittens receive medical care, loving attention and
then placed in their forever homes.

I have visited this shelter several times over the years to pet and play with the rescued animals, have made donations to this organization and, best of all, adopted my cat, Casey, last year.
This group deserves praise because they are an excellent organization benefiting cats/kittens in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring in more volunteers and more donations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

I adopted a kitten, Casey, in May of 2012 after he was sheltered and fostered at For the Love of Cats shelter. When he was found, he was just 5 and a half ounces; now he is 11 pounds and one year old.
For the Love of Cats has a dedicated group of volunteers who perform miracles with abused,
or
ill kittens/cats. The kittens and cats brought to them receive medical care, if needed, plus a clean and
well run home at the shelter. They also get lots of loving attention, which makes them calmer and
happier pets. I am not only a "client served" plus I am a donor, and proud to give this review.
They are all very special people who lovingly care for the cats and kittens.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

I hope there is sufficient space to print my review of this wonderful non-profit organization. For the Love of Cats is a very well maintained, organized, clean, well-staffed shelter for cats and kittens. In June of 2012, I adopted a kitten that was rescued by this shelter when the kitten was just 5.5 ounces (yes, ounces). Kitten, now named Casey, was fostered at home and then placed in the shelter for adoption.I was the lucky one who took Casey home to New York. His knowledgeable care and concern gave this kitten the opportunity to live, grow and be placed in a good home. His story is not much different from the many other cats and kittens that this shelter has rescued, has given expert veterinarian enabling these animals to be well and healthy. The volunteers give generously of their time and effort, not only in caring for the animals, but they also work diligently to keep the shelter immaculately clean providing ahealthy environment for the cats and kittens. I see I have run out of space and there's more to say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Before becoming a volunteer with this organization I was unaware of the many great things they do. The kittens and cats brought into the shelter are treated like family and so are the volunteers who help out. I think that because of the true love and care that goes on at the shelter is due to the sucesses. The organization cares so much about these animals it makes my heart melt. I am so happy I have joined this shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Always my Go-To guys for cat info. They really do have a Love of Cats and owners too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

They are truly a wonderful organization. Jim and Jan are so dedicated and selfless in their dedication to the cats and kittens.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

We lost our beloved Sherman. We were heart broken. After two months of sleepless nights, (no purring in my ear) and a very quiet house we decided enough of this. We had heard from our friend who lives on Marco about For the Love of Cats and the relentless care for the homeless cats in the area. I contacted Jan, told her our situation and what we would like for our pet. She said I'll get back to you, I have a couple of cats that come to mind...The next day we received the call, went to the first foster home to see if we had a match. It was love at first sight for us and Stash...
We took him to our Veterinarian immediately. She said he's in excellent health, asked where we found him. When we told her, "she said I've heard of their rescue efforts for cats. They are known all over the state."
Our Stash is wonderful, he brings joy to us every day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

It is wonderful what Love of Cats are doing. I adopted Cider to be a companion to the cat I already had. He was also a rescue from California. All kitties deserve to have a loving home & For Love of Cats is doing just that. The staff is great & love cats dearly. Keep doing this exceptional work, the cats deserve it. My cats are doing great & very happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer