Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
180 Reviews
1234.988895
Write A Review
October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

We have adopted two cats from For The Love of Cats. They are helpful, honest and sincere in their love of cats and desire to find good homes for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

Jan, Jim and all the volunteers make For The Love Of Cats a 5 star rating in our book! Their knowledge, compassion, dedication for felines is commendable!! We ha e adopted 2 cats from them who have become forever members of our family and can't imagine life without them. Thank you, Jim, Jan mad volunteers for all that you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at For The Love Of Cats. It is one of the most freindliest and fun shelters to work for. Jim and Jan treat all of their volunteers as if they are family and the cats and kittens get the best love and care possible. I have volunteered for them for 2 1/2 years and have enjoyed every minute. I look forward to being there many more years. If you are looking for a place to make a differance, this is the place to be. I have met so many wonderful people here who share the same love for cats as I do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

I had the pleasure of meeting Jan and Jim Rich with The Love of Cats on Marco Island at the Pet Smart on Pine Ridge Road. They are two of the nicest people, totally committed to rescuing cats and volunteering their time. I first called and spoke to Jim and told him I was looking for an orange male kitten. He was most helpful and referred me to Phyllis of VSA, another really nice woman who volunteers her time on Sundays at Pet Smart. I ended up adopting a little guy who was found in a culvert and turned in by a very nice man. This little kitten is the most affectionate, loving little soul. He actually puts his paws and cups your face and then can't clean you enough. I can speak from experience when you adopt a kitten who was rescued, there is no more loyal, appreciate little kitten.Jim and Jan Rich should be commended with their untiring work with The Love of Cats on Marco Island. I also needed a referral to a good vet and I called Jim for a referral. He referred me to Harborside in Naples and that was after being at two previous vets in the area. He was right on with this referral. They were great. Thank you so much Jim and Jan Rich for all that you do for the kittens and cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

My experience as a client with For the Love of Cats was more than I ever could have asked for! When I walked by the adoption set up at Pet Smart I had absolutely no intentions of adopting a kitten, but I just could not pass by this little orange tabby sticking his paw out of the cage. Once I held him, I imediately fell in love. The staff was extremely friendly and seemed to have a great deal of knowledge of cats. When I drove down to pick up little "Sunny" from the adoption center after impatiently waiting a week for him to be fixed, I was overwhelmed with the pure kindness and welcoming feeling from all of the staff! Although I had grown up with cats, this was the first kitten of my OWN. Originally I was pretty nervous about bringing home our new kitten to our 2 playful dogs, but all of my stresses were immediately eliviated with immense amount of valuable advice the staff had to offer me. They were able to answer all of my questions and THEN some, and made me feel completely at ease. But their kindness does not end there! A month later we had a poor stray kitten wonder to our door during a horrible lightning storm. Even though we already had 2 dogs AND our new kitten, there was no way we could just leave this kitten to fend for itself. Short on funds, and worried about how we would afford to get all of the stray's medical expenses taken care of, For the Love of Cats once again extended their hand of kindness. They helped take care of all of "Sam's" medical screening and shots, so we were able to make sure he was a healthy addition to our animal family. Now ALL of our animals are happily living, playing, and terrorizing our house together, and we could not be any happier! THANK YOU to ALL of the staff at For the Love of Cats for helping us bring more LOVE in to our home. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

We are very impressed with the work Jan and Jim have done with their rescue efforts. They are totally dedicated to the rescue and care of cats and we are inspired by their work. They have made an incredible impact on their area and we are happy to help them in any way we can. I encourage everyone I know to help them. Sue and Paul St.Hilaire

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

8 years ago we moved to naples. My now husband stopped in to Petsmart as a surprise for me because he knew I wanted to get a cat. He spoke with the people with for the love of cats (Jim and jan) and looked around. After talking with them they told him to come back the next day because they had the perfect cats for me. Long story short we still have them today. Jim and jan have helped us transition the cats to 2 new babies in our family and are still willing to help us with any questions we have. Without them a lot of animals would not get a second chance. They love what they do and have helped many animals over the years. What this organization does for cats is truly amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

As fa as I know, this organization relies 100% on private contributions and volunteers to control in a humane way the populationof feral, abandoned, and unwanted cats and kittens by a program of "Trap, Neuter, Release" for ferals, and placements with adopters for kittens and homeless housecats. Neutered ferals are fed by volunteers so they don't need to kill songbirds to survive. All adoptable cats and kittens are neutered and fitted with an ID chip before being adopted out. Beside being donors, my family has adopted two kittens from this shelter. This is a very worthwhile charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

We adopted our beautiful cats Sadie from For the Love of Cats. The organization was very professional and is a great service to our community finding homes for abandoned or unwanted cats and kittens.(Please note all fields are not populating on this form: Will you volunteer... and How much of an impact...)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

When my friend and I initiated a cat rescue on Marco Island to trap the many strays that would beg for food at some of the hotels on the Island, we asked and received so much help from FOR THE LOVE OF CATS' volunteers. When we could no longer participate, they continued on virtually "cleaning up" most of Marco's strays - and they did it with love and kindness, finding homes for those that could be adopted out and trapping and spaying/neutering those who couldn't- virtually guaranteeing there would not be a proliferation of innocent strays. There is no better way to help them carry out their important and compassionate work than to donate or volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at the shelter on Marco Island for a shift which is about 2 hours every week. Trapping and transporting cats to and from the veterinarian in Naples, FL. Volunteer