Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.931825
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Imagine, you, the younger, running the tidal beaches, frolicking among the waves, the sun growing weary on your youthful shoulders, the world as new and fresh and interesting and unending as the longest days of summer. Imagine, you, the parent, chasing children over green grass, laughing, hair flying, happy in unending days of independence. The places you've been, the sights you've seen, the toil and labor and love and heartache and joy experienced and the years you've earned.
Imagine, you, the senior, living among others met with the similar fate of growing old. Living now with youthful years behind you, yet it is the body that grows old, not the desire for joy and love and beauty. You, the senior, can be taken away on a train of memories, drawn one at a time from the bank of the world held in your hands, a world as wondrous and awe-inspiring as the days of your youth. You are transported from your confines and back into the realm of wonder, allowing yourself to play within the new world of wonder, your imagination running wild, inspired, reflecting on the worlds at your fingertips, safe, sound, not forgotten. No one should be forgotten. No one should be without the chance to behold that which may be unexploredly new, or as comfortable as an old friend, a painting, a recreation of a point of time, a recollection of days gone by or those as yet to be seen, inexplicably intricate and detailed as you delve deeper, or as serene and simple as a passing white cloud.

That is what you hold in your hands. You look at a collection of the world's most exquisite artistic renderings in a magical book, up close, closer than an ordinary gallery patron is allowed to be and you realize you are a cherished person. Someone has cared enough to let you grasp, again, the wonders of the world.
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Mark Lombard's idea was simple. If the hospice patient can't go to the art museum, bring the art museum to the hospice patient. Why not? The best art museums in the country agreed with him. How? By donating high resolution photos of their most valuable paintings to be shown in digital tablets called Art Books. A hospice volunteer visits the patient to share the Art Book; Mark calls it "the art experience." And that's where the power and magic come in. For the length of the visit, the patient's world turns from ordinary into glorious color and the spirit is unbound by the size of the room or everyday aches and discomforts. In one afternoon Mark's visionary "art experience" took me out of my grief after my husband died, inspiring me to share this joy of seeing the world through artists' eyes. I was a volunteer who became a donor. The Art Book donated in honor of my late husband began its service in training volunteers at a VA hospital.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it 1000 times bigger -- people are hungry for beauty and inspiration outside themselves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As someone who's uncle is an admirer of art paintings and drawings I could've not think of being more proud of a man who had a bright idea in which he would go on an adventure visiting museums which behold the great works of art and think who could I share is with then came the idea of starting a project in which seniors who felt alone down sad and lonely at times would share the experience with such love and passion of art that it showed the true meaning of wat life art and love meant seeing the drawlings and paintings the for love and art project showed seniors that art paintings can being the enrichment of happyness to seniors lifes bringing the art to them when they couldn't go to museums really shows the great passion of careing for the beloved seniors the joyful ness they give the careness it delivers and the true meaning of wat the great works of art mean to them and the love that comes with it in there own life's from the great world works of art.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 18, 2013

When I heard about this organization I thought...what a fantastic idea!!! For Love and Art is so smart, they bring the art museum to people that can no longer get there on their own. more

August 30, 2014

When I was told about this organization and its mission statement I thought..."BRILLIANT IDEA" i work with some senior citizens and whether its a disablility, lack of energy or a transportation issue these Virtual Art Books provide hours of enjoyment to seniors who otherwise would not have access to artwork that they were once able to admire ina gallery or musuem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more resources, volunteers to spread the word and praise

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

When I heard about this organization I thought...what a fantastic idea!!! For Love and Art is so smart, they bring the art museum to people that can no longer get there on their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

When my friend Mark told me about this project I thought it was such a wonderful idea that I try to spread the word whenever I see an opportunity.
Bringing art to people who would in their past have been able to go out to galleries and museums is like bringing food to a shutin, it is
nourishment for the body and soul.
These books are truly works of art.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the joy as people experience For Love and Art

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase exposure

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2011

We bought a book in honor of my mother for the hospice that took such exquisite care of her. She was a purveyor of joy, and this book mirrors that characteristic. It is so comforting to know her spi... more

August 22, 2014

I miss my dearly departed mother more days than not. The world continues despite my grief. While mom was alive, I was moved profoundly by the hospice which navigated her final days. Memories of my mom burst into my life without pretense or forethought. At those time, I find great comfort in the art book which continues the journey in her name. Her grand spirit lives on.

Consider an artbook for your local hospice. Assuage your grief. Help all the healers on their past, present and future journeys.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find them more money to expand their operations

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 24, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We bought a book in honor of my mother for the hospice that took such exquisite care of her. She was a purveyor of joy, and this book mirrors that characteristic. It is so comforting to know her spirit will live on forever.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help find groups of people or a team of people to donate funds to adopt a hospice and purchase an artbook for volunteers to bring to the patients to share Volunteer