Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.931825
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have served as Director of a Hospice, Executive Director of a Hospice Foundation and on the board of a Hospice Foundation and this is one of the most impactful, exciting projects I have ever seen for making a real difference in the quality of life of terminal patients. Even the research supports the difference art makes in quality of life for people living out the end of their life. However, more than the reduction of pain medicine and the relief of stress from pain and suffering, there is the sheer joy experienced by patients when they are transported out of their limited circumstances to a world of color, and vibrancy, and peace and tranquility in the pictures shared on the book. We are excited to expand this project in Northeastern Oklahoma by purchasing additional books to make available to all area hospice volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

As an Executive Director in the industry as well as a patient and hospice advocate, I have seen first hand the magic that is created through the "For Love and Art" organization. Bringing art from around the world to the bedside of a terminally ill patient can enhance the patient's mood, emotions & other psychological states. Using art with individuals suffering from cognitive deficit diseases can ignite interaction that is often dormant in the heart, mind & soul. My organization received the "For Love and Art" book as a gift & our staff and volunteers had an invaluable tool that they could literally take to the bedside to engage the patient in a way. The Board of Directors for this organization is passionate, creative & dedicated to enhancing the lives of patients who are ill by bringing works of art from around the world.

For Love and Art is such a blessing to healthcare organizations and patients alike. It is my prayer that this organization may see continued success and a real feeling of accomplishment as they touch thousands of individuals for many years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a physician I interact daily with patients confronting death and dying. Too often they have feelings of fear, loneliness and even abandonment. The virtual museum artbook gives persons with limited mobility the opportunity to experience peace, comfort and happiness. Perhaps for a brief moment they can reminisce about the joys and happy times in their lives and be known, loved and honored for a life well lived.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them out to more hospice organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Amon Carter Museum of American Art has been a partner with this organization since its' inception. Our visitors come every year to share in the common human experience of seeing the beauty of a moment through an artist’s eyes, to sense the forces that combine to give the artist the ability to translate his or her inspiration into a form that can be valued by others. In this case, FLaA uses the power of art to help folks who are unable to visit the museum feel the same thing that the artist felt. To understand an emotion, to revisit a cherished memory, to laugh at a shared joke, to escape the commonplace and replace it with the extraordinary, to provide a moment of respite from pain or despair or fear of what is coming. Sharing the moment makes it even more meaningful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I helped to provide direction for the website's hosting environment, mission, marketing and over all web visibility. I provided small donations here and there & volunteered my time. I witnessed the donation money purchase a digital artbook that was placed into the hands of volunteers at the VA Hospital in Dallas. It is truly remarkable how these veterans saw something for themselves in these art master pieces and came to life again!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get more donor dollars.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Truth beauty and goodness are ways we transend our ordinary daily experiences and conect with the eternal within ourselves and others. For Live and Art re-connects those who are at the end of life with the art experience allowing them to transcend their daily experience. As a nurse working in hospitals we know by incorporating works or art and nature we reduce the stress levels of those who enter our facilities - For Love and Art is transforming the experience of those who are seen by hospice volunteers who take these digital works of art to the patients as they visit and share with them the experience of art, connecting together easing the suffering and sharing joyful moments.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

The For Love & Art Project is a true blessing; the art books give our volunteers the opportunity to connect with their patients and experience art in a completely new way. For the patient who can phyically no longer walk the gallery of a museum; we can now bring the beuatiful art to them. For the patient who never went to a musuem; they can now see what they have missed.

The art book allows all patients to learn, grow, enjoy and even love art in a more intimate way. Being able to share so many works of art, there is no doubt that each patient can find at least on work that speaks to their soul. When that one piece is found the patient and volunteer have the freedom to talk about it and share what it means to them. They create a new memory, a new bond, and prove that no matter what your age or circumstance; art can enrich your life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Using the art book with the volunteers and patients at Lion Hospice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awarness and funding so that more art books are available to be shared with others.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help find groups of people or a team of people to donate funds to adopt a hospice and purchase an artbook for volunteers to bring to the patients to share Volunteer