Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 25, 2014

more

July 25, 2014

I have served as Director of a Hospice, Executive Director of a Hospice Foundation and on the board of a Hospice Foundation and this is one of the most impactful, exciting projects I have ever seen for making a real difference in the quality of life of terminal patients. Even the research supports the difference art makes in quality of life for people living out the end of their life. However, more than the reduction of pain medicine and the relief of stress from pain and suffering, there is the sheer joy experienced by patients when they are transported out of their limited circumstances to a world of color, and vibrancy, and peace and tranquility in the pictures shared on the book. We are excited to expand this project in Northeastern Oklahoma by purchasing additional books to make available to all area hospice volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

As a Volunteer Coordinator with the Circle of Life Hospice we have seen the joy The Art Book brings to our patients. It is such a delicate time in their lives and anything we can do to bring them joy or comfort is greatly appreciated. We are so thankful to For The Love Of Art and Crystal Bridges Museum for making this possible. Susan Yandell
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

As an Executive Director in the industry as well as a patient and hospice advocate, I have seen first hand the magic that is created through the "For Love and Art" organization. Bringing art from around the world to the bedside of a terminally ill patient can enhance the patient's mood, emotions & other psychological states. Using art with individuals suffering from cognitive deficit diseases can ignite interaction that is often dormant in the heart, mind & soul. My organization received the "For Love and Art" book as a gift & our staff and volunteers had an invaluable tool that they could literally take to the bedside to engage the patient in a way. The Board of Directors for this organization is passionate, creative & dedicated to enhancing the lives of patients who are ill by bringing works of art from around the world.

For Love and Art is such a blessing to healthcare organizations and patients alike. It is my prayer that this organization may see continued success and a real feeling of accomplishment as they touch thousands of individuals for many years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Digital Art Book was donated to the Mark Taper and Johnny Mercer Artists Program at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. It has been used by our Artists in Residence in the weekly art workshops we hold in the hospital for patients. We are very grateful for this donation and we are proud to showcase the amazing pieces of art collected in this book and increase arts appreciation and education in every patient and family member who see it.

More feedback...

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2013

For Love & Art blessed my life & continues to do so. I was randomly asked to write an essay for a contest that For Love & Art put on, in which my essay was honored by endowing a Digital Art Book with ... more

February 6, 2014

As a VITAS Innovative Hospice volunteer, I got to experience looking at the Digital Art Book with patients at length for the first time recently. Their eyes lit up & they were taken aback by some of the precious details of the paintings. This Digital Art Book was donated to VITAS by For Love and Art and contains neatly organized works of art divided by their respective museums all across the country.

The Digital Art Book normally stays on the hospice in-patient Unit, but I got a chance to take it to visit with patients on hospice service out in the field. Some of the patients complain of boredom, and something like this, lights up their days. Words can't describe what a beautiful collection of paintings it contains & the best thing is all types & eras of art throughout history are represented.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

For Love & Art blessed my life & continues to do so. I was randomly asked to write an essay for a contest that For Love & Art put on, in which my essay was honored by endowing a Digital Art Book with over 1000 works of art to VITAS Innovative Hospice. As a result of my involvement & friendship with Mark Lombard (co-creator), I am a part-time VITAS volunteer today, & even got accepted to the Nursing program at Brookhaven in the time that's past since. I take inspiration from the way Mark conducts himself & offers genuine compassion & love to the patients he works with in the hospice setting. I strive to conduct myself in the same way in my current clinical setting in Cardio-Thoracic Surgical Telemetry.
~Ben Berhrens

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would endow it with numerous financial donations & help it grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2013

more

November 27, 2013

Very beautiful. This project is one of the most life changing charities that I have been exposed to.
I really loved this project. Absolutely a work born out of love

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a physician I interact daily with patients confronting death and dying. Too often they have feelings of fear, loneliness and even abandonment. The virtual museum artbook gives persons with limited mobility the opportunity to experience peace, comfort and happiness. Perhaps for a brief moment they can reminisce about the joys and happy times in their lives and be known, loved and honored for a life well lived.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them out to more hospice organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Amon Carter Museum of American Art has been a partner with this organization since its' inception. Our visitors come every year to share in the common human experience of seeing the beauty of a moment through an artist’s eyes, to sense the forces that combine to give the artist the ability to translate his or her inspiration into a form that can be valued by others. In this case, FLaA uses the power of art to help folks who are unable to visit the museum feel the same thing that the artist felt. To understand an emotion, to revisit a cherished memory, to laugh at a shared joke, to escape the commonplace and replace it with the extraordinary, to provide a moment of respite from pain or despair or fear of what is coming. Sharing the moment makes it even more meaningful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

It has been such an inspiring experience working with this highly dedicated group of people. I am certain that the endowment of Virtual Museum ArtBooks (VMAs) to facilities across the globe will continue to bring the beauty of the art experience to those who need it most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

For Love and Art is such an inspiring organization. It gives people who are in their last stage of life to enjoy beauty and get lost in the magnificence of a piece of art.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish it had more publicity

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help find groups of people or a team of people to donate funds to adopt a hospice and purchase an artbook for volunteers to bring to the patients to share Volunteer