Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I am continually in awe of the simple, yet profound, healing that comes from art. It has a power to transcend the path of mortality and transport humans into a realm that brings hope and happiness simply by looking at it. The For Love and Art project brings this hope and healing to those in great need, yet least able to receive such an opportunity, and that is something to be celebrated; and the ability to bring the BEST of the art world to those needing beauty in thier lives is simply amazing!!!

-Melanie Davis
Founder of Love Your Veterans
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

As the Volunteer Coordinator for Envoy Hospice in Fort Worth, I was blessed to have been awarded an Art Book by the magnificent Mark Lombard, in Memory of an Amon Carter Employee's Father. Many of our Envoy Hospice Volunteers have been thrilled to share this wonderful Art experience with our Hospice patients over the past year & it has brought joy & comfort to many afflicted with life-threatening illness & are at end-of-life. Also, I was fortunate to have the book with me during one of my recent Hospice Patient reviews in a Facility. I opened the book to show it to our patient as we sat at a table in a common area. Soon, along came a lady to join us, I showed the art pictures to both of them & we each gave our thought as to what the artist may have been thinking, then a few minutes later, there were "8" people at the table, all eagerly looking, talking & laughing & sharing about the art work! It was a glorious experience for ALL of us, especially me!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can we get "push" updates?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

August 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 18, 2013

When I heard about this organization I thought...what a fantastic idea!!! For Love and Art is so smart, they bring the art museum to people that can no longer get there on their own. more

August 30, 2014

When I was told about this organization and its mission statement I thought..."BRILLIANT IDEA" i work with some senior citizens and whether its a disablility, lack of energy or a transportation issue these Virtual Art Books provide hours of enjoyment to seniors who otherwise would not have access to artwork that they were once able to admire ina gallery or musuem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more resources, volunteers to spread the word and praise

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

When I heard about this organization I thought...what a fantastic idea!!! For Love and Art is so smart, they bring the art museum to people that can no longer get there on their own.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

When my friend Mark told me about this project I thought it was such a wonderful idea that I try to spread the word whenever I see an opportunity.
Bringing art to people who would in their past have been able to go out to galleries and museums is like bringing food to a shutin, it is
nourishment for the body and soul.
These books are truly works of art.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the joy as people experience For Love and Art

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase exposure

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 24, 2011

We bought a book in honor of my mother for the hospice that took such exquisite care of her. She was a purveyor of joy, and this book mirrors that characteristic. It is so comforting to know her spi... more

August 22, 2014

I miss my dearly departed mother more days than not. The world continues despite my grief. While mom was alive, I was moved profoundly by the hospice which navigated her final days. Memories of my mom burst into my life without pretense or forethought. At those time, I find great comfort in the art book which continues the journey in her name. Her grand spirit lives on.

Consider an artbook for your local hospice. Assuage your grief. Help all the healers on their past, present and future journeys.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find them more money to expand their operations

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 24, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We bought a book in honor of my mother for the hospice that took such exquisite care of her. She was a purveyor of joy, and this book mirrors that characteristic. It is so comforting to know her spirit will live on forever.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

This organization has a blessed mission and has touched many lives with their electronic art display. Mark has a beautiful collection of many periods of artistic expression on a special device that electronically displays these to people who would otherwise not be able to have access to them. Mark has a genuine caring spirit that reaches into hearts to transform their life experience. He is awesome in action.

Kathy

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes necessary at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Having a compact device, that is easy to use and holds the BEST digital art museum in the world, that is amazing. The ArtBook is simple, beautiful, and elegant.

With all the war torn bodies and spirits in this world, right now, there are so many places in the world where it could help.
Easing the disquiet in people's hearts as their bodies, brains and hearts heals, what a grand mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Being a cancer survivor and a long time volunteer with various non-profits, I know how very very important the hospice work is. Mark has been so innovative in his work and has brought much joy to those who are so in need of a respite from their suffering! Keep up your wonderful work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

I have been impressed with Mark Lombard's caring and loving nature since meeting him at a leadership event during 1985. Though we live at opposite ends of the country, Mark has always stood steadfast in my life with upbeat and joyful communications and inspirations. What he has created with For Love and Art is such a valuable contribution to those who need it most! To present true beauty through art into lives that thirst for encouragement and motivation is the greatest gift I can think of - replacing doubt and anxiety with wonder and awe. There could hardly be a better cause, a more just recipient of support than For Love and Art. I feel better about the world we live in, just knowing that this organization continues to grow and have influence, lighting a path to the heart of the matter: the human soul requires elegance and artistry, especially when we are vulnerable and threatened by our own mortality. For Love and Art shifts the focus to a higher hope, to a more pleasing possibility, to a vision of a glorious reward.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it across our nation so that it reaches every state of the union.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Mark Lombard is not only genius with the utter brilliance of his desire to serve and contribute to people. I have been a good friend of Mark Lombard's for year and I am more than confident when I tell anyone that Mark loves people, he has a deep passion for art, and he married the two into the charity of For Love & Art.

How can anyone not fall in love with the artwork of the great maestro’s of our times? And being that their artwork touches the heart, transforms the current experience into one of joy and love, and soothes and feeds the soul, and brings peace of heart and peace of mind to the patron – what more could ever offer those who have limited ability to visit the museums?

For Love & Art brings love, charity, joy, and transcendence into the hearts and minds to those that are not able to make the trip to the museums. Instead, they bring the museum into some of the most inhospitable places they help remind those in hospices that those patients are still respected and love and cherished members of our society.

Mark has my love, my dedication, my admiration, and I feel proud to call him my friend and to say that I know such a magnificent man.

-- Grant T.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have an ArtBook placed in every hospice, every hospital ward, every senior citizens center, and any place where those with limited mobility visit or live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Mark Lombard's idea was simple. If the hospice patient can't go to the art museum, bring the art museum to the hospice patient. Why not? The best art museums in the country agreed with him. How? By donating high resolution photos of their most valuable paintings to be shown in digital tablets called Art Books. A hospice volunteer visits the patient to share the Art Book; Mark calls it "the art experience." And that's where the power and magic come in. For the length of the visit, the patient's world turns from ordinary into glorious color and the spirit is unbound by the size of the room or everyday aches and discomforts. In one afternoon Mark's visionary "art experience" took me out of my grief after my husband died, inspiring me to share this joy of seeing the world through artists' eyes. I was a volunteer who became a donor. The Art Book donated in honor of my late husband began its service in training volunteers at a VA hospital.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it 1000 times bigger -- people are hungry for beauty and inspiration outside themselves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help find groups of people or a team of people to donate funds to adopt a hospice and purchase an artbook for volunteers to bring to the patients to share Volunteer