Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.518525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 9, 2014

more

May 9, 2014

My final Capstone assignment required that I ask four questions of a non-profit regarding water issues. I held out little hope that I would find anyone as late in the day as when I began calling. At the Oregon office for Food and Water Watch, I reached a fantastic person named Julia. Julia was professional, helpful, incredibly well-versed, articulate, and just a real pleasure to speak with. Julia was the kind of well-informed, passionate professional that I hope to be someday soon. Thank you Food and Water Watch, thank you Julia!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Food and Water Watch uses fear with technically inaccurate information to cause political change. Example, banning hydraulic fracturing. The effects of a successful program to ban an activity that is safe, and has been used over 2.5 million times since 1949 (JPT July 2010), would cause increased energy costs for all, and hurt the poorest in society the most.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stay with technically accurate information, not u-tube videos over the internet.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I wanted to reach out to Pennsylvanians and let them know about the dangers of Hydraulic Fracturing. I have never done anything like this before so I needed some support and guidance. I reached out to Food & Water Watch and was immediately connected with Sam Bernhardt who works for Food & Water Watch. He has been assisting and guiding me in many helpful ways. I wanted to do an event for the Global Frackdown on October 19th and Sam helped me with a few connections to find a location, discuss what I was best suited for, and obtain supplies to accomplish my goal. I was able to accomplish this and had a wonderful event at the Doylestown Farmer's Market. Sam then followed-up with me and we discussed the event and our next steps to help inform Pennsylvanian's about the dangers of Fracking. We are planning a screening of Gasland II at Snipes Farm and Nursery in Morrisville PA hopefully on 12/6/13 at 6:30. I did not have to make these strides alone. I was guided and encouraged the entire time. Thanks Food & Water Watch!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am very new and I don't have any suggestions for improvement at this point in time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I had the opportunity to volunteer as a summer intern in Food & Water Watch's Oakland office. I could not imagine a more rewarding experience. Not only is everyone who works there extremely knowledgeable and kind but they value the time and experience of their volunteers. I was given so many opportunities to truly be part of the team and learn new skills. I always felt like I was actually contributing to FWWs work and that my efforts were making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I worked with Food & Water Watch on a statewide GMO labeling campaign and was truly impressed by the professionalism of the staff and volunteers working with the organization. Food & Water Watch has an incredible reputation amongst it's members, the public, organizations, the media and legislators. Everyone was invited to participate in the campaign and was was able to contribute their skills to make the campaign a success. Food and Water Watch trains their volunteers and provides them with materials to educate the community on issues like GMO's, fracking, climate change and factory farms. If you want to make a difference, this organization will give you the vehicle to make change happen in your community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I signed a F&WW petition one day to label genetically-engineered foods and a few days later got a call inquiring if I'd like to help out. Over the next few weeks and months I had fun meeting and working with a small community of other volunteers, of all ages, united around a common concern, all giving freely of their time to make a difference. My volunteering ranged from phone banking, petition signing, making signs for demonstrations, helping put on movies at churches and libraries, and doing PR for events. I learned it feels rewarding be working towards making a difference. And even small volunteer jobs are important. Volunteering for F&WW is a feel-good activity and they are a quality organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I began volunteering with Food & Water Watch to label GMOs. I am deeply impressed with their integrity, the accuracy of their information and the positive way that they interact with volunteers and other organizations. I repeatedly hear comments about how respected and well-received this organization is from other volunteers, the general public, fellow advocacy and environmental groups and elected officials. Through their printed materials, also found on their website, I have been able to inform and educate hundreds of people at table-ing events. Myself and other volunteers have participated in phone-banking sessions, letter writing events, public rallies and coordinated community events. Staff members and directors have always provided great support & assistance. This organization champions so many great causes (ban fracking and fracking waste, prevent water privatization, take back the tap from bottled water, improving our food supply through activism on USDA, FDA policies and congressional legislation) that I will enjoy volunteering with them for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see their website be more interactive so new volunteers have a way to connect easily in their states.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've been a Food and Water Watch volunteer for a year and i have to say that it has changed my life. I signed petitions, wrote letters, made phone calls for years but FWW pulled me out of that comfort zone and into "real" activism. So far, I've worked on the Let Me Decide campaign for GE food labeling. It has given me the chance and the confidence to get out there and talk to people and actually have an influence on how people view our broken food system. I've worked a booth at our local Farmers Market five times this past summer. I've attended the labeling hearings in our state. I've even had a few articles published this past summer and fall. I've learned so much and am grateful for the opportunities that have come my way over the last year. I would never had done this if I had not met the FWW grass roots organizer last year. It's been a truly rewarding year as first a volunteer and then as the local co-ordinator. Activism does make you feel good!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm not sure. I don't feel that I'm far enough into the organization to make suggestions. I feel that the Illinois organizer has been really encouraging and very appreciative of what our local group has done and responds to questions and trusts us to do things as we get to them and do them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I met the folks at Food Water Watch in my community when I realized the oil fields near my
house we're and are being fracked for oil and gas. Since that time I have found FWW a valuable
resource to both me and the condo association I live in. Their tireless concern and efforts for
us
all for the basic rights we all deserve such as clean air, clean water and clean food sources
need to have the support of each and every one of us! -DebA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more of them!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have volunteered in various capacities over the past few years with Food and Water Watch. I became involved with them when I submitted a form on their website stating I was interested in volunteering. I was contacted promptly and have always felt that my time and skills are valued. Food and Water Watch is a great organization, affecting real systematic change and it's exciting to be a part of that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers