Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12.775345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
June 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I cannot in good conscience donate to Food for the Poor knowing that the President draws a $400,000/yr salary from our donations. What a shameful contradiction knowing their mission is "to serve poorest of the poor". And if that isn't enough, that salary buys the wisdom behind the excessive (junk) mail campaign

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

WHY DO THEY SEND OUT SO MANY SOLICITATIONS. I DONATED DEC. 2012. SINCE THEN I HAVE RECEIVED 7 MAIL SOLICITATIONS. I DONATED AGAIN IN APRIL AND HAVE ALREADY RECEIVED ANOTHER MAIL SOLICITATION. WOULD'NT BE BETTER TO USE THE MONEY TO HELP THE POOR INSTEAD OF MAILING ALL THESE SOLICITATIONS?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Food for the Poor is the quintessential ideal of what a charity should be. Of course they prevent people from literally starving to death. But they do so much more than that. They help others maintain their livelihood by working to build fish farms, water pumps, chicken pens, etc. They are not out to make people dependent upon charitable giving, they are out to help people make something of themselves by providing them with the tools, education, and resources to do so. This gives their beneficiaries the ability to provide for themselves in the long run. I love their marketing efforts as well. I love the fact that I know exactly what it is I am "buying" for someone with my donation. I also appreciate the fact that I can tell them how much or how little marketing from them I want to receive. Bottom line, Food for the Poor is an excellent example of a truly exceptional charity. Good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated for several years now and I had to write because I am very distressed at some of the other reviews and the fact that their star rating was figured in the average. If you don't believe in helping people in other countries, that's your decision, but don't knock Food for the Poor for what they do. I wonder if some of these people have ever received a mailing from FFTP. In America, nowhere is there poverty like in the places FFTP serves. In Haiti, Guatemala and the other countries they help, there are no food banks, WIC or government programs. Children starve to death before their parents eyes and they are helpless. If you choose to ignore that, that's your privilege. The only reason I held off on 5 stars was that I don't see why a CEO of a charitable organization should make such a large salary. Could anyone address this? I have seen it many places and I just don't think it's right.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 4, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to Food for the Poor for many years now. As many others have noted, fund raising contacts are very frequent, often to the point of annoyance, but the cause is just and important and I tend to overlook it. They are not unique in this regard. Despite Robin's larger than average salary, their administrative expenses remain among the lowest of any charity. I, too, wish it was less, but accept that he has built a high performing organization. Perhaps he'll think about it. Their focus is and apparently always has been the Carribean, Central and Latin America. Few would disagree that these are among the poorest of people, nations and regions in the world and have been so for generations. There are groups that specialize in Africa and elsewhere in the world and I believe it is impossible for one organization to have any long term impact by being too scattered and fragmented in their approach, with the possible exception of the Catholic Church who has great resources, both human and financial, and the largest donor base of any organization in the world. I find the criticism by so many of those in these comments to be unfounded, unworthy and in many respects petty. Look again at the total revenues of the organization and the utilization of those revenues for the mission. it's extraordinary compared to so many other higher profile groups. Food for the Poor, along with Catholic Relief Services, also does one of the best jobs of searching out matching funds and grants. I think I first became a donor more than 10 or 12 years ago, and they, along with CRS, are my two primary humanitarian charities. I've donated money, but I've also found particular satisfaction in donating animals, equipment and infrastructure so families and communities can help themselves on a more sustainable basis. I've often given these in the names of my grandchildren at Christmas and they've always taken great pleasure in helping in this way. Food for the Poor is an outstanding charity run by people who obviously care and live the mission. They are deserving of continued support and will certainly have mine.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not personally experienced it but know of others who have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There apparently seem to be some issues with answering the phone and customer service for those who have questions and it might be good to either hire a couple of more people or attempt to address the most common concerns through a FAQ on their web site.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Just the terrible poverty and hunger in the region.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Yes

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is highly effective and worthy of substantial support by virtue of using such a high percentage of revenues for the mission.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

My problem with this organization is fund raising waste.

They blow their horns over their fund raising efficiency of .02; but nevertheless I find them wasteful. I am a monthly donor. Yet they still send mailing after mailing after mailing asking for funds. I have only so much.
Furthermore, these mailings are expensive. Full color spreads and postage are not cheap, even at the "charitable organization" rate.

Just the other day I got another mailing which contained a nickel. They asked me to send it back. This is absolutely a waste! Not only does it add 5 cents a copy to the mailing cost, it creates an administrative burden in dealing with whatever nickels are returned. Sadly, most nickels wind up in pocket change or in the trash. What a waste!

It is fund raising foolishness such as this that drives me nuts, causing me serious concern about continued donations to these people.

Please try to understand my point. The tiny amount I can give has already been spent on useless, wasteful fundraising. Tell me ___why I should continue?

My suggestions are:
Flag monthly/regular donor records - don't send more mailings --- this is wasteful --- they already give.

Don't put my donated money (nickels) in future mailings.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

n/a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My suggestions are: Flag monthly/regular donor records - don't send more mailings --- this is wasteful --- they already give. Don't put my donated money (nickels) in future mailings.

October 22, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 22, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Food for the Poor for several years. As the economy has changed, I have chosen to look more closely at the charities I have provided financial assistants. I will no longer give to Feed the Poor when the CEO is paid 403K. He is far from poor and I will not be any part of paying his salary. I will continue to feed the poor through local food banks and Food for the Hungry which has a better Charity Navigator rating.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am disgusted that an organization which is to provide the most and best it can to the poor and suffering would stoop so low as to continue paying a CEO such a high salary. Does Robin love his job or the paycheck?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire someone with fresh ideas to best distribute funds where they are most needed, at much less cost to the organization. Rather than have someone who may be working hardest to protect their position and suck up resources of a charity cause.

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers