Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12.775345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
December 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 11, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I will no longer donate to this charity. The Mahood family lives very well from their earnings generated by FFP. I will not support a charity that pays the CEO $388,000+. Their direct mailings are very well done and slick! I am guessing the fundraising costs are much higher than stated because this kind of advertising is VERY expensive to produce, print and mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was giving to the FFP for years, now that my income has changed I cannot give anymore. I have told them over and over that I have no money to give but for the past few years they have continued to pester me for cash. I really thought this charity was on the level but I have a feeling it is not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Please do not donate to this organization. Once you donate they will never ever stop harassing your for additional donations. I donated $100 to them over two years ago and even wrote them several times and asked them to stop mailing me requests for donations. There are far better organizations who will respect the donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
April 1, 2012

We received the pitch during our local church service. I took the Church's unspoken support of this organization instead of doing my own due diligence. Once I donated, I started to receive something... more

November 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Please do not donate to this charity. I made the mistake of giving a medium sized donation one time and I have been continually hounded by their massive marketing machine. I have written them twice and requested to be removed from their lists. I have told the paid telemarketers who call, that I will never again donate to this organization. And today, still I receive another request for more funds. If you donate to this organization, please understand the only thing that your are improving is the depths of our landfills.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

We received the pitch during our local church service. I took the Church's unspoken support of this organization instead of doing my own due diligence. Once I donated, I started to receive something in the mail from this organization every single week. I wrote them a letter and asked to be taken off their mailing list and indicating that they were spending more of my funds on mailers than they were on feeding the poor. Since that time, they have continued to send me regular junk mail. I can't tell you that I understand their organization and all of the details. I can tell you that I will personally never give to this organization again. I want to give to the poor not to direct mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I was very sorry we donated to this charity a few years ago because after we did we received a ridiculous amount of glossy mailings urging us to donate more. I finally had enough and called asking for our names to be taken off their mailing list. The woman I spoke to actually asked if I had prayed over my decision which felt like she was implying I wasn't a good person. Then I read about the CEO's compensation - way more than I'll ever make!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Like the reviewer who wrote in January, 2011, I questioned why I first heard of Food for the Poor at an appeal in a Catholic church. The online answer is that they are slick promoters. They advertise in the National Catholic Reporter and recruit priests to speak in local parishes. CharityWatch does not list Food for the Poor with their top charities, but it awards Catholic Relief Services, also working in international relief, an A+. CharityWatch does not included donated goods in its efficiency ratings. Thus, it gives Food for the Poor a lower ranking than other charity rating services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 17, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I receive constant appeals from Food for the Poor for donations through the mail and via the Internet. I used my matching gifts program at work for my last contribution to Food for the Poor. I was about to make another donation only to learn that the compensation of the President and CEO of the organization was $388,979 for a year. I prefer to make my charitable donations to organizations that do not award such a high level of compensation to its leader, and one which focuses more on the needs of the poor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have had nothing but great experiences with this charity. They demonstrate Christian values. I have been called and helped by them praying for me several times at just the right time when I needed it the most and the prayers were so awesome they had to be guided by the hand of God. How many charities do you know that are used by God in that manner? They have called to thank me and pray with me with all sincerity and I have been very blessed by their caring for me. I believe in this charity. As far as the salary of the CEO goes, I cannot judge. How do you know what this person does with his money? People who run billion dollar organizations with skill, talent and excellence deserve a fair salary. In this day and age, for that level it is not out of line. You people need to get real. You get what you pay for. Perhaps these people who are complaining about the CEO salary would like a more incompetent manager who deserves less and runs the organization into the ground.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I will not donate to a charity that pays $388,000 to a CEO. To me, that is more than anyone needs to earn especially when the money comes from donations. That salary is pure greed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It makes me sick to know how many people would be with the CEOs salary. I will not donate to a charity that has a paid CEO. It totally devalues the word charity! Very sad!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers