Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12.775345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 2, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I just received a mailing from your organization asking for a donation. I for one have learned MY lesson after sending contributions to Larry Jones and Feed the Children for many years. When your "higher ups" and CEO's learn the true meaning of "charity"....please send another mailing. A significant reduction of OUR MONEY into HIS POCKET might help.....until then, please stop sending these solicitations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop giving all of the money meant for the poor to your greedy leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

People always complain about something. Just another excuse to not help. The other person was right quit complaining about the company and help feed the kids. Another good place is Lesea they send food allover the world. Also the person that can't capitalize the Lord's name straighten out your relationship with God first ;-)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

be careful of charity scams like "food for the poor"where the president of this so called charity makes a 400,000 a year salary.you know it`s a scam when they`re claiming to give these poor countries animals to raise for food.these poor countries don`t have 2500 gallons of water for 1 pound of meat or16 pounds of grain to produce 1 pound of meat.they would`nt be starving if they had that much grain and water to waste.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 29, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

more

February 29, 2012
16 people found this review helpful

While it's annoying that numerous dollars are spent on glossy donation pleas, I understand marketing is necessary. However, I did some research after reading comments on this site re: CEO salary and was astonished at what I found. Robin Mahfood, CEO, like many other charity CEO's, does make an enormous salary. They are, after all, the 2nd largest charity org in the US after American Red Cross. But ethics should be present in all business dealings, especially charitable work. Not so sure here. Mahfood's immediate family received incredible salaries and perks from this organization. His family business, Essex Exports, which he ran for years, had undergone a federal investigation for fraud and sex scandal. His brother's business received tons of money thru business deals with this org. Consider that the Catholic Archdiocese of Miami has severed ties with this org. Be a smart donor - Do research before you contribute ANYWHERE!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 30, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

Just watched a segment on Democracy Now who had a journalist in Haiti, and they showed the Food for the Poor building, a huge multi-storied pink building across from a camp of Haiti earthquake victims living in tents. They reported this camp had under 400 people. The people are staving, hungry, and you could see that they were were thin, adults and children. They said Food for the Poor does not provide any food for them although they have asked. The journalist talked to Food for the Poor and affirmed that. Something is wrong that an organization cannot resolve whatever problems there are to see that the people in the camp directly across the street from them is provided food. Seeing the CEO's whooping salary, I wonder what their priorities are. Certainly they have outreach people that should have fixed this long ago. Charities are raking in billions, as this organization is for refugees in Haiti but the people are still living in squalid conditions lacking sufficient food, clean water, and sanitary conditions.
I called the organization in Florida to talk with an administrator about this but was only allowed to talk to a customer service person who only made excuses and refused to let me talk to someone who could explain this situation and see that it is remedied. If they cannot feed under 400 people who are starving living across the street in a very squalid camp, then why do they take donations? Shame.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Did not like the lack of concern and over confident tone of "customer service person" who speaks mistruths to try to get rid of me as a concerned human being for those people suffering in Haiti. The journalist I know to be very reliable in his reporting about Food for the Poor not giving hungry people across their building in Porto Price, Haiti. This is a scandal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a CEO who will work for half the salary and use that money to feed the people in Haiti. Believe they should provide charts that show where the donations for Haiti victims has gone.

March 6, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 6, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

This charity sends unwanted goods with used donations to third world countries. THey also have a board that is primarily members of the Mahfood family. THey also collaborate with a for profit shipping company run by the Mahfood family. I wouldn't donate to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

No

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them checked out by authorities thouroughly

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers