Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
12.73171345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 27, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I am an anthropology professor at an American university. For the past 13 years I have been assisting with development projects in a Jamaican community. Eight years ago we established a fisherman's cooperative. Food for the Poor immediately came to our assistance, providing us with a headquarters building, a cold storage facility, and four ocean-going boats, as well as building 100 homes for extremely poor families. In addition, they stationed a fisheries expert in the village, who built artificial reefs to attract fish. With their assistance we have become the foremost fisher's group on the island and a leading environmental organization as well. We recently secured land from government for a new preschool, and FFTP will be building a 2400 square foot concrete classroom to replace three board shacks that serve over 60 children. The only stipulation they have made is that a small portion of each catch from the donated boats be set aside for community development projects. I was skeptical of them at first, worried about their religious foundation, but there has been no proselytizing whatsoever. FFTP has been an excellent partner; I can't find fault with their operations on the ground.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Like the reviewer who wrote in January, 2011, I questioned why I first heard of Food for the Poor at an appeal in a Catholic church. The online answer is that they are slick promoters. They advertise in the National Catholic Reporter and recruit priests to speak in local parishes. CharityWatch does not list Food for the Poor with their top charities, but it awards Catholic Relief Services, also working in international relief, an A+. CharityWatch does not included donated goods in its efficiency ratings. Thus, it gives Food for the Poor a lower ranking than other charity rating services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 17, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I receive constant appeals from Food for the Poor for donations through the mail and via the Internet. I used my matching gifts program at work for my last contribution to Food for the Poor. I was about to make another donation only to learn that the compensation of the President and CEO of the organization was $388,979 for a year. I prefer to make my charitable donations to organizations that do not award such a high level of compensation to its leader, and one which focuses more on the needs of the poor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have had nothing but great experiences with this charity. They demonstrate Christian values. I have been called and helped by them praying for me several times at just the right time when I needed it the most and the prayers were so awesome they had to be guided by the hand of God. How many charities do you know that are used by God in that manner? They have called to thank me and pray with me with all sincerity and I have been very blessed by their caring for me. I believe in this charity. As far as the salary of the CEO goes, I cannot judge. How do you know what this person does with his money? People who run billion dollar organizations with skill, talent and excellence deserve a fair salary. In this day and age, for that level it is not out of line. You people need to get real. You get what you pay for. Perhaps these people who are complaining about the CEO salary would like a more incompetent manager who deserves less and runs the organization into the ground.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I will not donate to a charity that pays $388,000 to a CEO. To me, that is more than anyone needs to earn especially when the money comes from donations. That salary is pure greed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It makes me sick to know how many people would be with the CEOs salary. I will not donate to a charity that has a paid CEO. It totally devalues the word charity! Very sad!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

be careful of charity scams like "food for the poor"where the president of this so called charity makes a 400,000 a year salary.you know it`s a scam when they`re claiming to give these poor countries animals to raise for food.these poor countries don`t have 2500 gallons of water for 1 pound of meat or16 pounds of grain to produce 1 pound of meat.they would`nt be starving if they had that much grain and water to waste.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I cannot in good conscience donate to Food for the Poor knowing that the President draws a $400,000/yr salary from our donations. What a shameful contradiction knowing their mission is "to serve poorest of the poor". And if that isn't enough, that salary buys the wisdom behind the excessive (junk) mail campaign

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 26, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

WHY DO THEY SEND OUT SO MANY SOLICITATIONS. I DONATED DEC. 2012. SINCE THEN I HAVE RECEIVED 7 MAIL SOLICITATIONS. I DONATED AGAIN IN APRIL AND HAVE ALREADY RECEIVED ANOTHER MAIL SOLICITATION. WOULD'NT BE BETTER TO USE THE MONEY TO HELP THE POOR INSTEAD OF MAILING ALL THESE SOLICITATIONS?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Food for the Poor is the quintessential ideal of what a charity should be. Of course they prevent people from literally starving to death. But they do so much more than that. They help others maintain their livelihood by working to build fish farms, water pumps, chicken pens, etc. They are not out to make people dependent upon charitable giving, they are out to help people make something of themselves by providing them with the tools, education, and resources to do so. This gives their beneficiaries the ability to provide for themselves in the long run. I love their marketing efforts as well. I love the fact that I know exactly what it is I am "buying" for someone with my donation. I also appreciate the fact that I can tell them how much or how little marketing from them I want to receive. Bottom line, Food for the Poor is an excellent example of a truly exceptional charity. Good work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers