Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12.69048345
Write A Review
January 18, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 18, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to this charity for many years. The primary reason is the super high % percent of its total budget it spends on the programs and services it exists to deliver. It is over 96%. Exceptional. I know some take exception to the salary the CEO receives but considering how efficient he runs this charity I's say he is well worth it. They help the poorest of the poor and do it very efficiently. What more can I ask?
Thank you Food for the Poor for the excellent work you do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 11, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

i am sorry to say that i donated to this charity. after googling the salary of its ceo and discovered it was over 350k per year i sent them a note to stop all communications with me but they have continued sending their sollicitations. if you are for these types of salaries get a job from wall street do not get donations and pay yourself like a wall street bankster. folks we must give as this is the prescription of the lord just make sure the paycheck of the ceo is not over 150k per year and the donations are not embezzled. i hope we will continue giving but not these charities with outrageous salaries. i suggest donating directly to orphanges in poor countries directly and do the things that the lord puts in your heart as the holy spirit leads.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 1, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

January 1, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I used to give money to this charity but after reading about how much the Board makes will cease and support our local food bank. Thanks to those who did the research to uncover the massive fraud in the Mahood family. Someone should take this crook to court.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

3 years ago, I wrote to Food for the Poor asking them to only send me one annual request and I would continue to support them with one generous donation. It worked and I may get 3 letters but not the 18 that I had before.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Other people are correct in mentioning that they are relentless with their marketing. And honestly, I don't like it either. Nevertheless, when you experience what they see and realize how such a small amount such a profound difference, I think you can better appreciate why they do what they do. I lived in a developing country for a couple years, and most good people in developed countries have little appreciation of these things. A weekly mailing or two is not much of an inconvenience, relative to no food or clean water on an average day. Yes, your mailings are over-the-top Food for the Poor, but at the same time I must say: Keep up the great work!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 11, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I will no longer donate to this charity. The Mahood family lives very well from their earnings generated by FFP. I will not support a charity that pays the CEO $388,000+. Their direct mailings are very well done and slick! I am guessing the fundraising costs are much higher than stated because this kind of advertising is VERY expensive to produce, print and mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was giving to the FFP for years, now that my income has changed I cannot give anymore. I have told them over and over that I have no money to give but for the past few years they have continued to pester me for cash. I really thought this charity was on the level but I have a feeling it is not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Please do not donate to this organization. Once you donate they will never ever stop harassing your for additional donations. I donated $100 to them over two years ago and even wrote them several times and asked them to stop mailing me requests for donations. There are far better organizations who will respect the donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
April 1, 2012

We received the pitch during our local church service. I took the Church's unspoken support of this organization instead of doing my own due diligence. Once I donated, I started to receive something... more

November 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Please do not donate to this charity. I made the mistake of giving a medium sized donation one time and I have been continually hounded by their massive marketing machine. I have written them twice and requested to be removed from their lists. I have told the paid telemarketers who call, that I will never again donate to this organization. And today, still I receive another request for more funds. If you donate to this organization, please understand the only thing that your are improving is the depths of our landfills.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

We received the pitch during our local church service. I took the Church's unspoken support of this organization instead of doing my own due diligence. Once I donated, I started to receive something in the mail from this organization every single week. I wrote them a letter and asked to be taken off their mailing list and indicating that they were spending more of my funds on mailers than they were on feeding the poor. Since that time, they have continued to send me regular junk mail. I can't tell you that I understand their organization and all of the details. I can tell you that I will personally never give to this organization again. I want to give to the poor not to direct mail.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I was very sorry we donated to this charity a few years ago because after we did we received a ridiculous amount of glossy mailings urging us to donate more. I finally had enough and called asking for our names to be taken off their mailing list. The woman I spoke to actually asked if I had prayed over my decision which felt like she was implying I wasn't a good person. Then I read about the CEO's compensation - way more than I'll ever make!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers