Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
12.73171345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My role would actually be protector of my father. He is 90 years old and senile, these people will not leave him alone. I feel they are taking advantage of him, and I have asked them to stop. But here is the problem. They won't.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them not to target the elderly, and if a concerned family member asks to have someone taken off their mailing list, to please do so..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been giving to this organization for over 10 years. One of the main reasons is because over 90% of donations go towards feeding the poor and not into someone else's pocket. I highly recommend this charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would NOT change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful


Some of the reviewers here are confusing this organization with other organizations. They help indigent people in Latin America with direct food aid, livestock, small business support, water sources, solar supplies, and housing. They deliver these things to local charities whic are already
working with the populations served. And 96% of donated funds go directly into aid. Please don't write negative reviews without getting your facts straight!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I just received a mailing from your organization asking for a donation. I for one have learned MY lesson after sending contributions to Larry Jones and Feed the Children for many years. When your "higher ups" and CEO's learn the true meaning of "charity"....please send another mailing. A significant reduction of OUR MONEY into HIS POCKET might help.....until then, please stop sending these solicitations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop giving all of the money meant for the poor to your greedy leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 12, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
21 people found this review helpful

I have donated to these people on several occasions. There mail-outs tear at your heart. I once called their offices in Florida to talk about some staff positions they had open. I am semi-retired and well-qualified to do the work they needed done, for practically no pay. I was treated with indifference.

The rudeness of their staff, and the obscene salary of the CEO will keep me from giving these people any more of my money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find people more concerned with the welfare of others than that of themselves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

This charity uses mailings to the elderly that are aimed to make them feel guilty. They duped my mother-in-law out of a great deal of her savings with the bleeding heart mailers. The management staff is overpaid and under performing for their salaries..,

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

People always complain about something. Just another excuse to not help. The other person was right quit complaining about the company and help feed the kids. Another good place is Lesea they send food allover the world. Also the person that can't capitalize the Lord's name straighten out your relationship with God first ;-)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

Overall, I think this charity does good things. I'm also concerned about the numerous mailings I get from FFTP asking for more money ( some appear to be very expensive "glossy" materials ) and the salary of the CEO is also a concern ( I'm hoping he tithes at least :) ). I must say that one thing I do appreciate is that they are praying for me - I have received periodic phone calls fro FFTP employees asking to just pray with me ( no solicitations ). I have also on occaision received letters of encouragement and prayer from them as well ( again with no solicitations ).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 6, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I am a certified fundraising professional and have great admiration for the staff and the work that Food For The Poor has accomplished the past 30 years, and continues to accomplish in the countries it serves! I have seen first hand their wonderful charitable work in Jamaica, Haiti and Honduras. FFP not only provides food and much needed supplies, but more importantly the staff strives to help those living in the countries become self-sufficient by teaching skills that will boost the families' incomes. They have certainly done an admirable job in helping rebuild Haiti after the terrible earthquake.This is truly a charity with a heart combined with good business and management skills of its leaders. Keep up the great mission!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 18, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to this charity for many years. The primary reason is the super high % percent of its total budget it spends on the programs and services it exists to deliver. It is over 96%. Exceptional. I know some take exception to the salary the CEO receives but considering how efficient he runs this charity I's say he is well worth it. They help the poorest of the poor and do it very efficiently. What more can I ask?
Thank you Food for the Poor for the excellent work you do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers