Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12.69048345
Write A Review
November 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am all for helping those in need. When I called to donate, I was told that 95% of my donation would go to help those who really need it. I asked about the 5% that didn't make it to those in need and as I was awaiting the typical response of 'overhead costs', I was surprised that all the person on the other line could tell me was that 95% was the highest amount of any charity around. All I want is a straight and honest answer. This charity is so large that 5% is millions of dollars that are not going to the hungry, homeless and ill. If it's a charitable donation, why is anyone getting paid? Shouldn't those answering phones be volunteering? Shouldn't the production company shooting the infomercial donate 100% of their services? Shouldn't the airline moving the food and those working too get it to thev people in bed be volunteering? We have doctors who are not getting paid in these countries who are volunteering their time to help heal those who are sick, there are a huge number of volunteers around the world helping, companies that are donating their resources... Why should any one be making a profit or earning money to help those in need. I'm so sick of greedy, excuse giving, reckless individuals who think that because they are 'working' to collect money from all of us, that it is a 'job' and deserve to be paid! People, volunteering for these said jobs should be what it is, free labor. The companies who can't donate 100% of there resources are forgetting what the word 'donate' means. Even at wholesale prices, it's still not enough or right. Why does anyone think they deserve anything when it comes to charitable donations and the labor and services that go along with it? Shame on anyone making a profit or earning any amount of money doing this work. God knows who you are even if you think you are hiding behind the bureaucratic curtain of charitable donations... Remember, what goes around, comes around. Karma isn't afraid of you. So, let's work on making everything a donation (from fuel for the airplanes, too those who are moving the food, to having 100% of volunteers, to all doctors and teachers... We need to work together to share our wealth of knowledge to our wallets! Let's stop the greed and learn to share. That means CEO'S, actors, mailings, telemarketers, laborers....etc. Let's show God that we love and care for one another by our actions.
July 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My role would actually be protector of my father. He is 90 years old and senile, these people will not leave him alone. I feel they are taking advantage of him, and I have asked them to stop. But here is the problem. They won't.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them not to target the elderly, and if a concerned family member asks to have someone taken off their mailing list, to please do so..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I have been giving to this organization for over 10 years. One of the main reasons is because over 90% of donations go towards feeding the poor and not into someone else's pocket. I highly recommend this charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would NOT change a thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
5 people found this review helpful


Some of the reviewers here are confusing this organization with other organizations. They help indigent people in Latin America with direct food aid, livestock, small business support, water sources, solar supplies, and housing. They deliver these things to local charities whic are already
working with the populations served. And 96% of donated funds go directly into aid. Please don't write negative reviews without getting your facts straight!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I just received a mailing from your organization asking for a donation. I for one have learned MY lesson after sending contributions to Larry Jones and Feed the Children for many years. When your "higher ups" and CEO's learn the true meaning of "charity"....please send another mailing. A significant reduction of OUR MONEY into HIS POCKET might help.....until then, please stop sending these solicitations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop giving all of the money meant for the poor to your greedy leader.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 12, 2013
24 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
24 people found this review helpful

I have donated to these people on several occasions. There mail-outs tear at your heart. I once called their offices in Florida to talk about some staff positions they had open. I am semi-retired and well-qualified to do the work they needed done, for practically no pay. I was treated with indifference.

The rudeness of their staff, and the obscene salary of the CEO will keep me from giving these people any more of my money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find people more concerned with the welfare of others than that of themselves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

This charity uses mailings to the elderly that are aimed to make them feel guilty. They duped my mother-in-law out of a great deal of her savings with the bleeding heart mailers. The management staff is overpaid and under performing for their salaries..,

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

People always complain about something. Just another excuse to not help. The other person was right quit complaining about the company and help feed the kids. Another good place is Lesea they send food allover the world. Also the person that can't capitalize the Lord's name straighten out your relationship with God first ;-)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 8, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

Overall, I think this charity does good things. I'm also concerned about the numerous mailings I get from FFTP asking for more money ( some appear to be very expensive "glossy" materials ) and the salary of the CEO is also a concern ( I'm hoping he tithes at least :) ). I must say that one thing I do appreciate is that they are praying for me - I have received periodic phone calls fro FFTP employees asking to just pray with me ( no solicitations ). I have also on occaision received letters of encouragement and prayer from them as well ( again with no solicitations ).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 6, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I am a certified fundraising professional and have great admiration for the staff and the work that Food For The Poor has accomplished the past 30 years, and continues to accomplish in the countries it serves! I have seen first hand their wonderful charitable work in Jamaica, Haiti and Honduras. FFP not only provides food and much needed supplies, but more importantly the staff strives to help those living in the countries become self-sufficient by teaching skills that will boost the families' incomes. They have certainly done an admirable job in helping rebuild Haiti after the terrible earthquake.This is truly a charity with a heart combined with good business and management skills of its leaders. Keep up the great mission!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers