Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.809525
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

Food Finders is a model nonprofit organization in the Greater Lafayette community. Over the past five years, they have greatly increased the amount of food distributed to local food pantries. They have also started the mobile food pantry, an innovative means to distribute more food to people in need. I can think of very few other nonprofits in the area that continuously innovate and tirelessly work to improve their operations as Food Finders does. Lafayette is lucky to have caring volunteers and staff at Food Finders who are committed to alleviating hunger in this community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

My name is Lynn Johal and I'm the Director of the St. John's/LUM Food Pantry (a choice pantry) in Lafayette, IN. We are one of the largest pantries in the 16 county area served by Food Finders (FF). Last year we served a whopping 8,397 households. May of 2013 we served 694 households, representing some 2,179 family members. We have ~60 volunteers that help out at our pantry.

Last year 47% of our food came from FF + another 36% came to us as USDA/TEFAP (free commodities) via FF. Our pantry therefore relies heavily on the resources available at FF. I'm impressed with the staff at FF; they are always helpful to answer questions quickly and respond to the unique situations that arise at our pantry. The online ordering has really streamlined our process as we shop twice each week at FF. I've met on ocassion with Katy Bunder (FF director) and Kier Crites (FF outreach) and they have listened to our pantry's specific needs and given us helpful suggestions to make our pantry even more efficient. Right now we are holding monthly cooking classes for our clients, with the help of Purdue Extension, and FF staff is watching closely to see if this might be a model for other area food panties.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve emergency access to food pantries need when they are facing empty shelves. In the present situation, orders must be placed with FF at least 3 business days in advance. We faced such a situation this week after having a couple of days exceeding 60 clients/day. I recognize that emergency access to food poses challenges for an agency as large as FF.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

As a Head Start teacher and family facilitator I see many struggling families through out each school year and Food Finders Food Bank Inc. helps insure these parents they will have food to feed their children as the parents struggle to find ways to fill their other monthly needs. This food allows these children to be healthier, able to attend school, and to learn on a daily basis. Services received from Food Finders Food Bank Inc. gives these children life changing alternatives that they may not have received normally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

I see efforts at constant improvement and respectful, caring delivery of services. Easy place to volunteer for meaningful work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Food Finders is an exceptionally valued resource in surrounding communities. It has helped thousands supplement their food budget and keep from going hungry. Their food is quality items and the volu... more

May 30, 2013

This has been wonderful and very helpful. Sometimes it is the only food I have had. I am so thankful and would help volunteer if I had transportation to and from. Thank you so much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get started on time at the locations and distribute at a place that has shelter for the long waiting times. Some of us are not to be in the sun but have no choice at times. Otherwise it is run efficiently.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

Food Finders is an exceptionally valued resource in surrounding communities. It has helped thousands supplement their food budget and keep from going hungry. Their food is quality items and the volunteers are happy to help each person. They do not make you feel like a beggar. Personally I wish they would run each stop the same such as giving out numbers to the people in line so the ones that have been waiting for 3 to 4 hours (yes we have to wait that long to have a place in the line) could keep their place instead of ones coming at the last minute and line jump in front of those waiting for so long. This is so unfair to those waiting. And the person needs to be there to get their number. I have seen friends or family members take 3 to 5 numbers and then hand them to people who come at the last minute. Some of us have appointments to keep and try to get food but are pushed further back and then after waiting for hours have to leave just before we can get to the food truck. Also it would be nice if the sponsoring business had a place for clients to sit out of the sun or bad weather while waiting. due to health issues and the hot sun - I almost had a stroke one day in the sun. Otherwise this is a fabulous and much needed resource and has helped thousands of people. You get something from all the food groups and sometimes little surprises also. I hope they make the Top Rated Nonprofit list as they well deserve it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

I am a director of a food pantry and therefore a client of Foodfinders Food Bank in Lafayette. The foodbank supplies our pantry with all kinds of food to redistribute to needy people in our community. Some food is purchased at wholesale prices by the case and the majority is supplied at minimal charge to the pantry. Not only do they strive to have a large selection of foods for the hungry, the staff goes above and beyond in helping it's agencies. Always quick to answer emails, phone calls, and assisting the pantry in every way possible.......we couldn't do it without them. Last month we were able to serve 533 families because of our association with Foodfinders.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

I am so thankful for Food Finders, the food they bring helps tremendously! There has always been a great variety of food, even fresh vegetables which is something I can not afford to buy. The workers are so polite, and helpful, the first time I went and they took my food to the car for me I was totally surprised. Thanks to everyone behind the scenes and those who work with us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

Great volunteers they help out a lot! If it wasn't for local food pantrys and food finders I would struggle with food.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing they help out great.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

This program is awesome and very Christ like it shows the true meaning of love and giving in the name of Jesus. God bless food finders and its founders

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more locations

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2013

more

May 30, 2013

I started taking my niece to Foodfinders in Logansport because she only gets $16 per month in SNAP. I would drop her off and wait outside. Then she started talking me into going; I only get $708 per month in SSI and $147 in SNAP. It has helped both of us, so much so we have helped out with the Mobile Pantry our church sponsored and took some home to our neighbors because there was so much left over. They are a young couple with two small children and they really appreciated the extra boost. Foodfinders also supplies food to our local homeless shelter, Emmaus Mission Center's food bank, which recently won a grant of $20,000 from WalMart, which was deposited in their account with Foodfinders. What an awesome partnership!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't freeze the yogurt; it makes it grainy. After I got it the first time I had to throw it out; from then on I refused to take any home, rather than waste it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sort food donations, repackage cereal, make laundry soap Volunteer