Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.960785
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

it just call me the attention this program and I need to do a presentation for my school and I was wondering if you jave this program in the PA area?
September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I love being a part of the Food Empowerment Project volunteer family! F.E.P. makes the critical connections between ethical and compassionate choices that transcend all species. The sooner our greater community understands the intersections between our daily decisions and the impact on tomorrow's outlook the better. Their mission resonates with me entirely; allowing me to continue learning and sharing information about worker's rights, food source implications, and improving access to healthy foods for all communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

The Food Empowerment Project taught me about the injustice that is going on not only in other countries but right in front of our door steps every single day. I was shocked when I first found out about this and I'm very grateful to have found this fantastic organization of dedicated people who work very hard to spread the word! I learned so much while volunteering for this organization, for example how your food choices affect others and the environment one meal at a time. I'm so happy for being a part of this amazing team!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

As a former board member of Food Empowerment Project (F.E.P.), I can honestly say that this all-volunteer, vegan organization is making connections and doing work that is more than commendable. From bringing awareness to the public about the plight of today's farm workers to the lack of access to healthy food in "food deserts," F.E.P. continues to educate others about the importance of their food choices, including the ease of reducing the suffering of animals raised for food. F.E.P. truly empowers people to do the most good and the least harm, which is something I continue to aspire to do and why I happily support them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to see a paid staff member so that F.E.P.'s vision could reach even more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

A hard-working and visionary group. They strive to cover as many related and interconnected issues as they can relating to food. They care about both the human side and animal side, making them quite a unique group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

The Food Empowerment Project is a fantastic organization that tackles all the injustices surrounding our food choices. As a vegan organization there is the much needed focus on animals but there is also equal concern for issues such as human slavery, environmental exploitation, the plight of farm workers, food security, environmental racism, and food deserts. FEP recognizes that these issues do not exist in a vacuum; instead, they are part of the same cycle of oppression and we need to be concerned about them all if we care about creating a more just world.
Consistent with their holistic approach to food justice, FEP is working to help new vegans stay on track by advocating going vegan for a variety of ethical reasons in their Food Chain newsletters. Instead of promoting an only-for-the-animals approach, Food Chain covers the environmental, social justice, and health reasons for going and staying vegan. This no-stone-left-unturned approach is not only more inclusive but also leaves fewer opportunities for people to make excuses or claim they don't care.
I am extremely proud to be part of the Food Empowerment Project. Volunteering for them has raised my awareness not only of how much injustice is out there but also of how far reaching an impact our food choices have on the world. It truly is empowering!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

I love this group because it combines human and animal rights under the greater category of justice. I did not feel satisfied with activist groups who thought one was important and the other not important. The Food Empowerment Project allows me to advocate for people, animals, and the environment, and show how all 3 are related to each other. When I found out about F.E.P. I was excited to have a group represent most of my activist views, without looking down on other causes. When I volunteer for other groups there are always some who are saying they already know about that issue or were not interested. With F.E.P. I have yet to meet someone who was not interested to learn about one or more or the issues we work on. It really makes me feel great to help empower people to make the world a better place through their purchases and other of our campaigns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

I helped FEP conduct focus groups among Spanish-speaking men and women in the San Jose area. In addition to the important work that FEP is conducting, the volunteers showed amazing organization skills in conducting the focus groups. They made the participants feel welcome, appreciated and empowered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2011

The Food Empowerment Project is a truly unique organization that focuses on interrelated social justice issues that have historically been addressed individually. In my experience with FEP, people see... more

July 18, 2012

The main reason I choose to work with Food Empowerment Project is because of the direct impact their work has on people in my county. Rather than suggesting solutions to the injustices they experience, Food Empowerment Project works hand in hand with members of my community to identify thoughtful solutions to the struggles they endure. In my view, this is how truly effective, long lasting change occurs. FEP pursues the root of the problem with a tenacity I haven't seen in any other group, for-profit and non-profit alike. It starts with the unparalleled passion of the founder and grows with every single dedicated volunteer. FEP fills a critical niche in the social justice movement and demonstrates an uncompromising commitment to meaningful change. I feel privileged to work with such amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2011

The Food Empowerment Project is a truly unique organization that focuses on interrelated social justice issues that have historically been addressed individually. In my experience with FEP, people seem to connect very quickly with the issues and especially the approach. Most people want to be part of the solution and FEP inspires and empowers people to speak up, get involved and make meaningful changes in their lifestyle. FEP is all about education and action. They continue to demonstrate that they have the initiative to take on serious issues and the follow-through to drive change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My experience with FEP has helped me to think even deeper about my food choices. It wasn't until my work with FEP that I gained a new perspective and appreciation for the struggles endured by farm workers. From both research and first-hand experience, I'm now able to share impactful stories with friends, family and others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Well, it really isn't a change but I'd love to see FEP find a way to work with children even more. The events they've done with children so far have been extremely well received.

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Food Empowerment Project for about 2 years. I am one of their researchers. I volunteer with F.E.P. because the work that they are doing is critical. Their goal is to create a more just and sustainable world by recognizing the power of one's food choices. They work hard to educate the public about making informed choices to prevent injustices against animals, people and the environment. With many groups, you see a focus on only of those issues, but F.E.P. draws them together to show how people's choices affect animals, people AND the environment. It's all connected. It is an honor and a privilege to support F.E.P.'s work and the difference they are making in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers