Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.965
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2012

more

August 11, 2012

Food Empowerment Project is without question, an all-around ethical organization and the ONLY group I know of that links together and addresses human, animal and environmental concerns. As a result, it's impact is far more outreaching; from child slavery and the rights of farm workers, to human health and the horrors of factory farming, they truly leave no stone unturned.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2011

FEP empowers people to make a difference on issues that matter: human slavery, environmental degradation, animal suffering, climate change, worker rights, and public health, to name a few. They provid... more

August 3, 2012

The Food Empowerment Project is dedicated to social justice on multiple fronts, even when that is challenging (and challenged). Effective work for environmental issues, animal concerns, food justice, or human justice issues requires understanding the connections among all four. The Food Empowerment Project sheds the light and heat needed to illuminate and fuel powerful food justice work. Highly recommended!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2011

FEP empowers people to make a difference on issues that matter: human slavery, environmental degradation, animal suffering, climate change, worker rights, and public health, to name a few. They provide participants experiences of local changes having global impact, and that's transforming. By uncovering hidden connections among many justice issues, they boldly go where many nonprofits fear to tread. Their work is both straightforward and nuanced. And they do all of this with minimal overhead, a highly committed staff of great integrity, and expertise from years of experience in field.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

FEP has helped me develop a more strategic approach to addressing issues I care about, and helped me better understand the interlocking nature of justice issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see that its essential work was funded at a much higher level.

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

My son Chris is a volunteer, and I feel very moved by his work to bring healthy food to those in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

I love this group because it combines human and animal rights under the greater category of justice. I did not feel satisfied with activist groups who thought one was important and the other not important. The Food Empowerment Project allows me to advocate for people, animals, and the environment, and show how all 3 are related to each other. When I found out about F.E.P. I was excited to have a group represent most of my activist views, without looking down on other causes. When I volunteer for other groups there are always some who are saying they already know about that issue or were not interested. With F.E.P. I have yet to meet someone who was not interested to learn about one or more or the issues we work on. It really makes me feel great to help empower people to make the world a better place through their purchases and other of our campaigns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

I believe that the work that Food Empowerment Project is doing is vital to understanding and connecting social justice struggles. I have already learned so much by reading their literature and seeing lauren from FEP speak a few times. Our choices affect produce workers, child slavery in west africa, and animals all over the planet. Food Empowerment project has a lot of work a head of them and they can use all the help they can get!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

I helped FEP conduct focus groups among Spanish-speaking men and women in the San Jose area. In addition to the important work that FEP is conducting, the volunteers showed amazing organization skills in conducting the focus groups. They made the participants feel welcome, appreciated and empowered.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

FEP goes above and beyond in their efforts to tie together various social justice movements, including human, non-human, and environmental justice in their work. I'm very honored to be on the advisory board and to get to play some small part in the amazing work that they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2011

The Food Empowerment Project is a truly unique organization that focuses on interrelated social justice issues that have historically been addressed individually. In my experience with FEP, people see... more

July 18, 2012

The main reason I choose to work with Food Empowerment Project is because of the direct impact their work has on people in my county. Rather than suggesting solutions to the injustices they experience, Food Empowerment Project works hand in hand with members of my community to identify thoughtful solutions to the struggles they endure. In my view, this is how truly effective, long lasting change occurs. FEP pursues the root of the problem with a tenacity I haven't seen in any other group, for-profit and non-profit alike. It starts with the unparalleled passion of the founder and grows with every single dedicated volunteer. FEP fills a critical niche in the social justice movement and demonstrates an uncompromising commitment to meaningful change. I feel privileged to work with such amazing people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2011

The Food Empowerment Project is a truly unique organization that focuses on interrelated social justice issues that have historically been addressed individually. In my experience with FEP, people seem to connect very quickly with the issues and especially the approach. Most people want to be part of the solution and FEP inspires and empowers people to speak up, get involved and make meaningful changes in their lifestyle. FEP is all about education and action. They continue to demonstrate that they have the initiative to take on serious issues and the follow-through to drive change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My experience with FEP has helped me to think even deeper about my food choices. It wasn't until my work with FEP that I gained a new perspective and appreciation for the struggles endured by farm workers. From both research and first-hand experience, I'm now able to share impactful stories with friends, family and others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Well, it really isn't a change but I'd love to see FEP find a way to work with children even more. The events they've done with children so far have been extremely well received.

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

I have been analyzing FEP for my dissertation work, which focuses on critical food geographies and pro-vegan organizations. FEP is a superb example of solidarity, collaboration, and compassion. Food Empowerment Project’s goals are ‘race-conscious’, ‘class-conscious’, non-human animal compassionate, and green. FEP reveals how USA product marketing tends to conceal the social, economic, and geopolitical relations that undergird even food commodities. For example, they are working hard to expose which chocolate companies are sourcing from countries that use child slavery in the cocoa plantation. FEP fights to create a food commodity chain without (1) perpetuating racism, sexism, or poverty and (2) abusing and exploiting animals or the environment’s resources. FEP represents a vegan space that seeks solidarity with all oppressed and exploited beings and resources. FEP’s political and economic activism for exploited Latin-American laborers who harvest produce for vegans under cruel conditions. This challenges the assumption, promoted by PETA Cruelty Free Vegan Shopping Guide, that produce is vegan, therefore is ‘cruelty-free’. I have learned through FEP that ethical consumption amongst the USA status quo, obscure how race and ongoing legacies of colonialism have greatly affected the landscape of food production and who has access to purchase foods that have been labeled as "ethical," "moral," or "vegan." I also learned through FEP that organic produce, a tenet of ethical consumption philosophy, is not necessarily ethical when it comes to its reliance on the exploited Latin-American laborers. These laborers are collectively paid wages so low in the USA, they cannot even afford to buy the very organic "ethical" foods they harvest and process for ethical consumption movement dominated by socio-economically privileged American consumers . As a pro-vegan scholar and activist, FEP has also taught me that individual consumption of vegan commodities is simply not enough to create an ethical and just food system, healthy planet, or ‘cruelty-free’ commodity chain. Instead, FEP seeks to understand the limits of vegan ethics if it is within the confines of neoliberal capitalist global economy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

I have been volunteering with the Food Empowerment Project for about 2 years. I am one of their researchers. I volunteer with F.E.P. because the work that they are doing is critical. Their goal is to create a more just and sustainable world by recognizing the power of one's food choices. They work hard to educate the public about making informed choices to prevent injustices against animals, people and the environment. With many groups, you see a focus on only of those issues, but F.E.P. draws them together to show how people's choices affect animals, people AND the environment. It's all connected. It is an honor and a privilege to support F.E.P.'s work and the difference they are making in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers