Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I would like to thank Food Bank for the Heartland for giving me the opportunity to volunteer for their Kids' Cruisin Kitchen program. It was a terrific experience for me and the other volunteers. The program was very organized and provides such a valuable service to families in the Omaha community. I feel very fortunate to have been part of such a worthwhile program. The Food Bank is definitely making a difference in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I volunteered for the Kids Cruisin' Kitchen this summer. What a great program! The staff was knowledgeable and dedicated to the communities they served. The communities were so appreciative. We served over 200 lunches that day; it was humbling to realize how many children needed the food. It was nice to be able to offer food to parents as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

Outstanding team who is deeply committed to their values of serving with integrity, urgency and respect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

I and the firm I work for (Clients First Business Solutions) are very grateful for our relationship with all the fine professionals at the Food Bank for the Heartland. In 2011, I upgraded their enterprise software and the staff makes maximum use of it so as to feed as many hungry people as possible. Amongst my other food bank customers, I hold out the Food Bank for the Heartland as a model because they not only utilize all available functionality to fulfill their noble mission, but have also requested software changes to do so even more effectively. It makes me proud to see so many smart people using the product I support to do so much good. I might add that they are not only customers, but also wonderful friends.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

Foodbank for the Heartland does a great job collecting and distributing food and supplies to those in need. They act kind of like a wholesale company -- many of their clients are the groups actually feeding the hungry -- soup kitchens, churches and so on -- most of their work comes through collecting the food -- thus the word "bank" in the title.

Some of the programs go toward feeding the hungry directly too.

All in all, a great place to help out, a great cause to support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

The Food Bank for the Heartland is passionate about their mission to eliminate hunger in Nebraska and western Iowa. Then need is greater than most of us know -- seniors having to chose between paying utilities or buying groceries, kids without enough food at home on the weekends, working parents struggling to make ends meet and feed a hungry family. Approximately 21,900 people receive emergency food assistance every week in the Food Bank's service area. As a board member, I have been deeply moved by stories of the lives touched by a helping hand from the Food Bank. In addition to their own programs, the Food Bank distributed over nine million pounds of food to local non-profit agencies, who then provide it directly to those in need. The Food Bank staff is committed to making every donation count -- three meals can be distributed for every $1 donated. I am so proud to be associated with this organization and the life-changing assistance they provide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

The Food Bank of the Heartland is one of the most committed, well-organized, and passionate charitable organizations in our state and the Midwest. Its role in distributing food to needy families and individuals in Nebraska and western Iowa cannot be overstated. It does more with less, making its dollars and effort go farther. Some of its most significant programs include the Kids Cafe, which provides evening meals to low-income children in the community at risk of going hungry, the BackPack Program, which provides backpacks of food to hungry children to get them through the weekend, and providing weekly food deliveries for senior citizens with limited financial resources. The Food Bank's drive to providing food to people in need and to eliminating hunger make it a vital member of our community and state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2010

more

November 29, 2010

I've been on the board for 19 years. It has grown from a small food bank to a very significant participant in food distribution to the hungry in all of Nebraska and the western third of Iowa. Among its fine programs are its Kids Cafes and Bank Pack initiatives which insure that school children begin to have enough to eat. When kids are hungry, they do not learn. I think the staff and leadership are outstanding and very much understand about feeding the hungry. I'm proud to be a part.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visiting Kids Cafes and talking to agency personnel who utilize the Food Bank's services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only wish that we had more money and more food to distribute

November 24, 2010

more

November 24, 2010

Having worked closely with the staff from the The Food Bank for the Heartland for a number of years, I have seen the great work they have done to help those in need in our community. I have personally been involved with the Kids Cafe programs that have been started as a result of the work of the Food Bank, and the impact it has had on those children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the work we are doing to end hunger in this State

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have looked into a new facility to allow for the increase in programs. However, that was just recently achieved

November 23, 2010

more

November 23, 2010

I love how Food Bank for the Heartland has brought attention to the fact that hunger is a concern right here in Omaha and surrounding areas, not just in far off cities and countries we see on TV. They reinforce this idea by sharing stories of average citizens who do their best to make ends meet, but just don't have enough at the end of each day, week or month.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing children have food to take home over the weekend by using the Backpack Program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

sort canned goods, deliver weekend BackPack meals to schools for children at-risk of hunger, pack boxes of non-perishable food and personal items for low-income elderly and/or provide office support.