Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Living with three children with severe allergies to peanuts and tree nuts can make life difficult and very stressful at times. FARE has given me tremendous guidance and support as we deal with the questions and issues that arise. Thank you FARE, we couldn't do it with out you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I have a daughter that has a severe peanut allergy...She is now 19 years old and was diagnosed at the age of 2. When she was first diagnosed 17 years ago it was VERY uncommon. I felt like I was alone. Thanks to great advise, columns, newsletters and materials from FARE (then FANN) I was able to handle this diagnosis and feel like I wasn't alone. This organization was helpful in so many ways!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

When my son was one year old he was diagnosed with multiple life threatening anaphylactic food allergies. After viewing a 5 minute video on the use of an Epi-pen in the allergist's office, my husband and I were sent on our way with no instructions on how to safely feed a child with food allergies. We were familiar with the problem because our nephew had similar allergies but we didn't know how to manage it ourselves. We soon became very familiar with FARE and used the website to find information on safe foods and where to find them, education regarding how to deal with food allergies from other parents and used the food allergy action plan for our son's daycare and school. We soon realized that we had far more support than the parents who went before us, such as my sister, due to the amazing efforts of this organization to educate the general public about food allergies so that our dealings with teachers and other parents have most often been met with compassion and understanding. This was not so 10 years earlier for my sister who fought tooth and nail with her son's school for his right to be kept safe. We are so thankful for FARE an amazing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

As a school nurse I use materials from FARE as I educate children , parents and classmates, teachers and administrators. I love this website. When you live with life-threatening food allergy you never can let your guard down. This organization delivers 100%.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have had contact with FARE since 2008 & have gotten so much valuable information about food allergies.
I use their Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Emergency Care Plan every year, along with many other on-line resources. It's nice to know that I can call them with allergy related questions and
get knowledgeable answers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more opportunities to raise money or educate people/schools, etc., in our area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I learned of FARE when my child 7 months old at the time, was diagnosed with an Egg allergy after experiencing anaphylaxis. My daughters pediatrician was very laid back about the experience, and did not give much information. That's when I got on line and found FARE. It really helped educate me on the dangers of food allergies, and also helped answer some of my many questions. I then found out that most children see an allergist, and I found her a top pediatric allergist at the U of M. Where my questions were further answered. I love FARE for their legislation involvement in trying to make the world a little bit safer for my food allergic child.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My son has life threatening food allergies to tree nut. FARE has been my go to from the beginning! They have been there to not only guide me through advocacy issues, and educate myself and my family, but they have held my hand when I needed some emotional support! FARE is TRULY amazing and the people who work there are heroes to me. They are fighting a huge battle, and it would be impossible for me to do this alone. They are a HUGE part of my village in raising my children!

THANK YOU FARE for not just being there but doing what you do! You inspire me to know my son can be a normal child and you are my rock and support in a world where so many just don't understand!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope for more money so they can continue to educate and be advocates for the cause of food allergies which is a growing and epidemic problem!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have two sons with peanut, tree nut, & egg allergy. FARE is my go-to support line. We have done the FARE Walk in Hopkinton 5 times. It is amazing how my sons react when they see so many other kids that have to deal with food allergies. It is a wonderful event & has helped my boys cope and become a valuable family activity/tradition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hug everybody involved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

My son has a life threatening allergy to peanuts. I know everyone, when their child is small, and they introduce their child to questionable foods for the first time, they are nervous. You always hope "gosh I hope he doesn't react to this peanut butter". I remember that feeling and when I saw the reaction, I was so scared. I thought, "how am I going to navigate this scary, scary life and teach this child to navigate it too?" He's 4 now. I'm learning and he's learning and there is absolutely no way we could have done it without the resources from FARE. Advocacy & Awareness are key. I have to keep him alive every day and I have to teach everyone who comes in contact with him how to keep him, and others like him, alive every day. Its FARE that provides the best resources for us, so we CAN help others understand what to do and also the resources for us so WE know what's best for us and what helps make this life easier.
Peanuts are not his only food allergy. He has multiple food allergies. Peanuts are the scariest for me though. FARE has been great for us and so we do as much as we can to get out and support our FARE Walk.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd like to see FARE develop local support groups. We currently have a local one, but it is specific to children. I'd like to see it expanded to adults. I think FARE could help with this.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

FARE is amazing. My son has 32 food allergies, many being life threatening. This is the one source that I rely on, trust, and count on them for sending updates about accidental allergens in foods.

They have great articles, discussions and give my son and I a network of people who
understand and get our daily life with food allergies.

THANK YOU FARE!!!! We are so grateful for you!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers