Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I was interested in adopting a particular bird from them and still am! But am in need of a bit more experience with that birds species. (Severe macaws.) Sometimes they can be just as challenging as bigger sized macaws just in a smaller package and to not overwhelm me, I have decided to gain experience through volunteering at a local rescue (Miss Vicki's Parrot Village.) Since I am as well out of state, but hope to be moving back to Florida--Im a native Floridian. Also, I am a minor and the person I talked to was Joanne Wood--she is such a lovely lady overall! Put up with all my questions and wasn't hesitant about telling me if I had anymore to just hit her up. As well was told not to give up adopting the bird I wish to just because of the current circumstances and I told I can't wait to work with you!
April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I adopted my beautiful perfect splayed legged B&G Kona from FPR. I LOVE him to death.
Before the adoption I was visited by another volunteer and I spoke with other on the phone. They REALLY care about their birdies !
I went to their Chopalooza event and it was amazing. So many people there
doing good for the birds.
They are awesome !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I adopted my Rosie from Florida Parrot Rescue. They were so thorough in the screening process, ensuring I knew how to properly care for a bird, doing a home visit, meeting the foster mom. They really care about their birds. I also knew I was getting a healthy bird because all of their birds are checked by an avian vet before becoming adoptable. The foster mom took the time to talk with me and meet with me, answering questions, giving advice. The whole experience was so worth it! And Rosie is a delight!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

We adopted our parrot from Florida Parrot Rescue, they make sure all the parrots are matched up with the right adopter and have ongoing help if needed to get the new feathered friend adjusted to his new home. I now volunteer for FPR and donate when I can to the wonderful caring organization.
Leslie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

FPR is a group of some of the most genuine & dedicated people I know. The dynamic of the organization--volunteer foster homes all over the state of FL rather than one central location--is a great idea, and I believe strengthens this organization's capability to rescue and provide exceptional care to the birds until they find forever homes. Yes, I do describe this organization as life-changing because a couple of months ago I adopted my precious Indian Ringneck, Willow, from them, and now I couldn't imagine life without her in it. The adoption process was thorough, and made me feel confident that these rescues were being given for adoption to qualified individuals who could provide just as good as if not better care than FPR was giving them, which leads to successful results for everyone all around. I am proud to be involved with such a great organization and feel comfortable in donating financially to this organization to help their efforts whether it be through Chip-In fundraising they occasionally have or by ordering my birds' products through their catalog so FPR can receive the profits.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There probably aren't many nonprofits that are managed and staffed by 100% volunteers, and that's what makes this organization stand out from others. With a network of people educated in avian health and well-being, and an ability to reach far and wide throughout all of Florida and some areas of the Southeast US, the Florida Parrot Rescue is able to make an impact on the health and well-being of parrots in a way that a stand-alone organization would not be able to do given its small size. I have worked with numerous nonprofits professionally throughout the years, and I don't believe I have ever found one this efficient AND effective. Because of their reach, they were able to rescue a parrot I had missing for many years. If I lived in the area, I would certainly want to volunteer for FPR.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

KAREN FROM FLORIDA PARROT RESCUE,… TO ME SHE IS AN ANGEL.
I was willing to give up my two Conures and very sad when I get in touch with Karen at Florida Parrot rescue. I had to leave US and did not know when I was going back again due to illness of my family member in Europe. Thinking for the
idea of giving up my birds was very difficult for me. More importantly finding a good loving hand for my little ones looked almost impossible.
Karen helped me board my birds at Parrot Nation own by Bonnie Graton so I did not give up my birds until I come back.
These wonderful ladies are not only affectionately helping birds but people who care for them.
You gave me a hope to unite with my babies again. Thank you Karen.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We always need more fosters and volunteers. Please apply if you live in FL and have a desire to help Volunteer