Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the chance to meet several of the people who volunteer for FPR. They are willing to take time out of their day to help these poor homeless birds. Hats off to them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Parrott Rescue is an awesome group. I have been involved with animals my entire life. My involvement with FPR has been a fantastic one. I have never seen a group of people come together so quickly to help rescue the birds that are so in need and so helpless. I have fostered and I have adopted several of the birds. I would recommend anybody looking to get a bird to adopt one from Florida Parrot Rescue. All birds are vetted with in 10 days of coming to the fosters home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Originally I found out about Florida Parrot Rescue from a Facebook friend that grows orchids and also has parrots. We had chatted a while about birds when he told me about this rescue group and turned me on to Lorry Burgh (the foster coordinator for South East Florida). Having lived out of the country for many years I did not know there were rescue groups for Parrots. After contacting Lorry I filled out all the paper work and waited impatiently for my home interview. When that was done I immediately took in a 16 year old Congo African Grey. It has been bliss for both of us since. If anyone is worried about the people involved I can tell you that all volunteers and adopters are thoroughly checked out. Having also been a foster parent for children ( little unfeathered humans) I can tell you that there is a lot of paperwork for both. Working with all the volunteers has been a pleasure and I hope to continue working with this great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization takes great pains to make the absolute best choices for foster parrots being adopted out to forever homes.. They do complete background checks and interviews and well as home visits. FPR does not discriminate on vet care for any bird regardless of size and expense while they are in foster care. Each and every bird is taken to the vet within 10 days of entering rescue. FPR is the largest and most successful bird rescue in the State of Florida.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was looking on the internet for a rescue that would have exotic birds for foster/adopt and I stumbled on FPR. Within minutes they had replied to my email about becoming a foster. Finishing up with their process to apply, I started to really understand how much these people care about parrots in the community. They keep every foster up to date on new waiting lists, events coming up, parrots in emergency situations, etc. Their system really impressed me. Right now, I'm fostering my first (of many i hope) parrot and I am amazed at how thorough FPR was in getting me this cute little girl. Between sweet caring people, and a perfectly organized adoption/foster process, I've come to appreciate FPR so much I refer people to them almost every day. If you're willing to take the time and energy for beautiful feathered friend, going through FPR is your first and one of your best decisions you'll ever make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Florida Parrot Rescue on Facebook, and started to volunteer a few months ago. What an awesome group of people! The way that these folks treat the incoming birds, transition them through the foster system, and then off to their forever home is something I didn't know was possible. These precious creatures now have another chance at a long and happy future. I think bird owners are cut of a special cloth. If, by chance, there is a time to let a bird go for whatever reason, it is a relief to know that this group is willing to re-home them. I had personally considered placing my own flock in a sanctuary upon my death, as I know my relatives or friends will never provide the care and love I have for them. Without the human interaction they now receive, that choice would be a detriment to them all. Now, I feel comfortable that I can entrust FPR to handle this, as my birds are my life. Plus, the amount of information that is consistently shared throughout the group on related topics is superior! I look forward to volunteering much more, but right now I do what I can, as I also am a full time caretaker for an elderly parent. I am proud to be a part of the wonderful organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When informed that my newly diagnosed medical condition would render me unable to work, I became depressed and didn't know how I was going to be able to sit at home all day. I thought by adopting a rescue animal I would be able to help the animal and in return it would lift my spirits. So to the computer I went and started googling rescue groups. I came across the Florida Parrot Rescue (FPR) site and was impressed by what I read about the organization. I looked at the birds for adoption and came across a sorry looking bird that looked like I felt. I knew that bird was meant for me! I filled out the online application and received an immediate phone call from the rescue. One of the fosters came to my house to make sure I met the requirements for adopting one of their precious ones. My vet references were checked as well. I was impressed by the organization in making sure a good match would be made. The process was smooth and everyone at the rescue was so nice. Education of bird care was given by the volunteers so I would be sure to provide all the bird's needs. Because of the blessing I received in finding my forever friend, I made a committment to help other birds find a loving home with a person who is in need to love and be loved. I have been a foster for FPR for four months now and am in awe of the hard work and dedication of the members. I have volunteered for other organizations but by far this group surpasses any other. There are not many organizations that have as many volunteers opening their homes, time, and finances to care of our feathered friends. The volunteers sacrifice to build a network of fosters throughout the state so they can be true to their motto "no beak left behind". Our rescues don't have fur and four legs. They have feathers and faith someone will care. FPR is that someone. .....with sincerity, Terry

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I own a retail bird shop and adoption center and have had the privilege of working with FPR as a foster and volunteer. This is a totally volunteer operated organization with the the highest of standards in rescue. From the officers down to the fosters & volunteers, every single person is dedicated to doing the right thing. They are honest, ethical & responsible, often putting their own lives and families after their responsibilities to this fine organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

FPR is a group of some of the most genuine & dedicated people I know. The dynamic of the organization--volunteer foster homes all over the state of FL rather than one central location--is a great idea, and I believe strengthens this organization's capability to rescue and provide exceptional care to the birds until they find forever homes. Yes, I do describe this organization as life-changing because a couple of months ago I adopted my precious Indian Ringneck, Willow, from them, and now I couldn't imagine life without her in it. The adoption process was thorough, and made me feel confident that these rescues were being given for adoption to qualified individuals who could provide just as good as if not better care than FPR was giving them, which leads to successful results for everyone all around. I am proud to be involved with such a great organization and feel comfortable in donating financially to this organization to help their efforts whether it be through Chip-In fundraising they occasionally have or by ordering my birds' products through their catalog so FPR can receive the profits.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I started as a client served, when I adopted one of my babies from them, and was so impressed with the group that I became a volunteer. I am only one of many - this group is ENTIRELY volunteer managed and run, and still manages to be among the best and most reputable rescues I've ever worked with. The consistenly high standards of operation and treatment for the birds are a model for any rescue! The people are honest and caring, and their ethics are above reproach. The veterinarians associated with the group are some of the best in the state, and the care the birds get while in rescue is undoubtedly better than many people get.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We always need more fosters and volunteers. Please apply if you live in FL and have a desire to help Volunteer