Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have a gift shop that I like to use to help parrot rescues. But with the recent publicity regarding rescues that may not be good for the birds or completely aboveboard, I felt I had to pick several quality ones to investigate and be sure they met my expectations for what I'd like to see in a rescue. Not only did Florida Parrot Rescue meet those expectations but exceeded them. I am pleased and honored to endorse them and help them raise funds for their operation. They are managed well, their standards are sound, and their fostering system helps ensure that facilities never get overcrowded. Their management truly operates with a love of parrots and goes the extra mile to ensure that potential adopters are ready for life with a parrot. I wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone in the area looking for a parrot to adopt or someone looking for a good, worthy place to put their money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over 3 yrs and I couldn't be prouder of the people I have met and worked with in this group. Each and everyone of them have given so much of themselves to benefit the healt... more

April 25, 2014

When I first met the people of this organization about 5 years ago I knew they were and continue to be a wonderful group of people. From the president to each volunteer the focus is ONLY doing what is right and best for the birds that come into the rescue. A better group can't be found.
October 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for over 3 yrs and I couldn't be prouder of the people I have met and worked with in this group. Each and everyone of them have given so much of themselves to benefit the health, safety and wellbeing of birds in Florida and other states in the USA. I don't think you could find a more deserving non profit. Thanks for letting me help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Florida Parrot Rescue has been a great place to volunteer my time. The dedication of my co-volunteers - almost all of whom I have never personally met - has been amazing. So many parrots come into ... more

April 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I first moved to Florida, I wanted to learn more about parrots and found Florida Parrot Rescue on the internet. I really liked their website and decided to email for more information. Someone conatcted me promptly and explained the volunteer process, even helped me over the phone to get started. After having contact with several other volunteers, I came to the conclusion that not only is Florida Parrot Rescue a large organization, but that they are run like a well-organized company - just without the paid employees. The dedication and professionalism of the officers is top notch as is the dedication and tireless efforts of the volunteers. These people really care about the birds they are taking into the rescue and finding loving, responsible homes for. Time and time again I have seen countless volunteers (including the officers) travel great distances over Florida and beyond to transport parrots to their new homes, into the rescue or to the vet for an emergency visit. Countless hours have also been spent educating the public and assisting with behavioral issues. I am proud to serve as a volunteer myself and would highly recommend Florida Parrot Rescue to anyone interested in adopting a parrot or volunteering for a noble charity. They are truly making a difference in the lives of the birds they help and the people who have been forever changed by their efforts. My adopted parrots, Kizzy and Danny and I applaud them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Parrot Rescue has been a great place to volunteer my time. The dedication of my co-volunteers - almost all of whom I have never personally met - has been amazing. So many parrots come into rescue each year and there is always a waiting list. I have seen volunteers drive for hours just to pick up a bird (or several!) who needed help and fosters step up at a momen't notice to take a bird with nowhere else to go. In addition to all of the day to day stuff, Florida Parrot Rescue finds loving homes for well over 100 parrots each year. Pretty amazing when I think about the fact the rescue has yet to operate a brick and mortar building! It has meant a lot to me to participate in the work of Florida Parrot Reacue and I hope to keep volunteering for years to come! It has been a catalyst in my life for personal growth and fulfillment, and I never miss an opportunity to tell others about it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I have worked with the FPR for about 6 months and have been continually impressed with their commitment to the birds that they care for. Whether donating precious financial or time resources to the medical care of maltreated birds or re-evaluating standard operating procedures to maximize care of the birds it is obvious that this group really does exist to serve the unwanted and mistreated birds of Florida. I am very proud to be associated with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I adopted my beautiful perfect splayed legged B&G Kona from FPR. I LOVE him to death.
Before the adoption I was visited by another volunteer and I spoke with other on the phone. They REALLY care about their birdies !
I went to their Chopalooza event and it was amazing. So many people there
doing good for the birds.
They are awesome !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

A very professional organization. I have adopted an Umbrella Cockatoo named Lucy and a Congo African Grey named Milo from them Their screenings for these adoptions were very thorough and supportive. They truly care about what"s best for the parrots and you by giving excellent advice on caring for your new "best friend". Two thumbs up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I adopted my Rosie from Florida Parrot Rescue. They were so thorough in the screening process, ensuring I knew how to properly care for a bird, doing a home visit, meeting the foster mom. They really care about their birds. I also knew I was getting a healthy bird because all of their birds are checked by an avian vet before becoming adoptable. The foster mom took the time to talk with me and meet with me, answering questions, giving advice. The whole experience was so worth it! And Rosie is a delight!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

We adopted our parrot from Florida Parrot Rescue, they make sure all the parrots are matched up with the right adopter and have ongoing help if needed to get the new feathered friend adjusted to his new home. I now volunteer for FPR and donate when I can to the wonderful caring organization.
Leslie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I have been with the FPR for over 4 years now. I was looking for a bird to adopt and found FPR. I decided to become a foster caretaker. I did that for 4 years and volunteered. I was also a area coordinator for 3 year. I really love and respect this rescue. They are very professional and care about the birds first. That are also a wonderful group to work with. I would still be working with the group full time if my health was better. I really miss working at the events and fostering.
Thank You Florida Parrot Rescue for all that you do for the Birds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I would like to Thank FPR for all the great things they are doing in so many communities throughout the state of Florida. I am a foster and continue to be moved by the momentum that FPR provides me with the loving, caring, prompt services to rescued exotic birds. They are a A+ organization!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We always need more fosters and volunteers. Please apply if you live in FL and have a desire to help Volunteer