Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have a gift shop that I like to use to help parrot rescues. But with the recent publicity regarding rescues that may not be good for the birds or completely aboveboard, I felt I had to pick several quality ones to investigate and be sure they met my expectations for what I'd like to see in a rescue. Not only did Florida Parrot Rescue meet those expectations but exceeded them. I am pleased and honored to endorse them and help them raise funds for their operation. They are managed well, their standards are sound, and their fostering system helps ensure that facilities never get overcrowded. Their management truly operates with a love of parrots and goes the extra mile to ensure that potential adopters are ready for life with a parrot. I wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone in the area looking for a parrot to adopt or someone looking for a good, worthy place to put their money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I was interested in adopting a particular bird from them and still am! But am in need of a bit more experience with that birds species. (Severe macaws.) Sometimes they can be just as challenging as bigger sized macaws just in a smaller package and to not overwhelm me, I have decided to gain experience through volunteering at a local rescue (Miss Vicki's Parrot Village.) Since I am as well out of state, but hope to be moving back to Florida--Im a native Floridian. Also, I am a minor and the person I talked to was Joanne Wood--she is such a lovely lady overall! Put up with all my questions and wasn't hesitant about telling me if I had anymore to just hit her up. As well was told not to give up adopting the bird I wish to just because of the current circumstances and I told I can't wait to work with you!
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Their motto says it all: Don't shop, Adopt!
Giving companion parrots a new lease on life, and giving parronts plenty of advice and support.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Awesome organization! They do not just give away birds to anyone who thinks they want a bird that talks. They are very thorough in reviewing applications of anyone that is interested in adopting.
October 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

I saw Florida Parrot Rescue on petfinder and was amazed at all of the animals they had available. When I did some more research, they seemed like one of the best around so I submitted my application ... more

October 9, 2014

Love this group! They are in rescue for the right reasons! They also carefully review those who foster and adopt because they want the best for the parrots! I am so glad to be a part of this group because they NEVER give up on any parrot....medical or behaviorally and so many times those parrots have bounced back and become the best animals they could be :)
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I saw Florida Parrot Rescue on petfinder and was amazed at all of the animals they had available. When I did some more research, they seemed like one of the best around so I submitted my application to foster. Not only are they rigorous on who can foster (which is great for the well being of these birds) but once you are you are treated like family. I just received my first little foster and have gotten support from EVERYONE in this rescue. I truly have enjoyed my short experience with them and cannot wait to foster more animals and help support our great cause for the good of these amazing creatures!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over 3 yrs and I couldn't be prouder of the people I have met and worked with in this group. Each and everyone of them have given so much of themselves to benefit the healt... more

April 25, 2014

When I first met the people of this organization about 5 years ago I knew they were and continue to be a wonderful group of people. From the president to each volunteer the focus is ONLY doing what is right and best for the birds that come into the rescue. A better group can't be found.
October 19, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for over 3 yrs and I couldn't be prouder of the people I have met and worked with in this group. Each and everyone of them have given so much of themselves to benefit the health, safety and wellbeing of birds in Florida and other states in the USA. I don't think you could find a more deserving non profit. Thanks for letting me help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

Florida Parrot Rescue has been a great place to volunteer my time. The dedication of my co-volunteers - almost all of whom I have never personally met - has been amazing. So many parrots come into ... more

April 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I first moved to Florida, I wanted to learn more about parrots and found Florida Parrot Rescue on the internet. I really liked their website and decided to email for more information. Someone conatcted me promptly and explained the volunteer process, even helped me over the phone to get started. After having contact with several other volunteers, I came to the conclusion that not only is Florida Parrot Rescue a large organization, but that they are run like a well-organized company - just without the paid employees. The dedication and professionalism of the officers is top notch as is the dedication and tireless efforts of the volunteers. These people really care about the birds they are taking into the rescue and finding loving, responsible homes for. Time and time again I have seen countless volunteers (including the officers) travel great distances over Florida and beyond to transport parrots to their new homes, into the rescue or to the vet for an emergency visit. Countless hours have also been spent educating the public and assisting with behavioral issues. I am proud to serve as a volunteer myself and would highly recommend Florida Parrot Rescue to anyone interested in adopting a parrot or volunteering for a noble charity. They are truly making a difference in the lives of the birds they help and the people who have been forever changed by their efforts. My adopted parrots, Kizzy and Danny and I applaud them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Florida Parrot Rescue has been a great place to volunteer my time. The dedication of my co-volunteers - almost all of whom I have never personally met - has been amazing. So many parrots come into rescue each year and there is always a waiting list. I have seen volunteers drive for hours just to pick up a bird (or several!) who needed help and fosters step up at a momen't notice to take a bird with nowhere else to go. In addition to all of the day to day stuff, Florida Parrot Rescue finds loving homes for well over 100 parrots each year. Pretty amazing when I think about the fact the rescue has yet to operate a brick and mortar building! It has meant a lot to me to participate in the work of Florida Parrot Reacue and I hope to keep volunteering for years to come! It has been a catalyst in my life for personal growth and fulfillment, and I never miss an opportunity to tell others about it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I have worked with the FPR for about 6 months and have been continually impressed with their commitment to the birds that they care for. Whether donating precious financial or time resources to the medical care of maltreated birds or re-evaluating standard operating procedures to maximize care of the birds it is obvious that this group really does exist to serve the unwanted and mistreated birds of Florida. I am very proud to be associated with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I adopted my beautiful perfect splayed legged B&G Kona from FPR. I LOVE him to death.
Before the adoption I was visited by another volunteer and I spoke with other on the phone. They REALLY care about their birdies !
I went to their Chopalooza event and it was amazing. So many people there
doing good for the birds.
They are awesome !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

A very professional organization. I have adopted an Umbrella Cockatoo named Lucy and a Congo African Grey named Milo from them Their screenings for these adoptions were very thorough and supportive. They truly care about what"s best for the parrots and you by giving excellent advice on caring for your new "best friend". Two thumbs up!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We always need more fosters and volunteers. Please apply if you live in FL and have a desire to help Volunteer