Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.538465
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

My wife and I were House Parents / employees for the Florida Keys Children's Shelter for 57 months and never met the CEO. During this time 12 other couples were hired then quit, resigned, or dismissed which was unfair to the many kids and teens they were primary caregivers to. We were denied the opportunity to speak to the last three couple hired prior to their employment, which is a travesty because we had to work together, plus share an off-site apartment with one of the couples. For the sake of the foster kids in Monroe County, I am pro-active to bring about Child Welfare Reform in Florida which will hopefully reduce foster kids from living in restrictive group homes and emergency shelters. (We were not volunteers, but no "employee" option from "Your Role" menu.)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change "leadership," and limit the term of leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2009

more

September 30, 2009

I volunteered for a fundraiser and helped at a Christmas party that the children attended. The Services this organization provides for the children in our community is unavailable anywhere else in ths county. The staff I dealt with were enthusiastic and dedicated to their cause. The many hours they put in was all in hopes that the fundraiser would bring in much needed finances. Unfortunately their expectations were not realized in this particular fundraiser.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

so dedicated, they spent much of their spare time traveling and attending community events to promote this children's shelter and learning more about the county and state agencies in order to be on top of any support they may qualify for.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 29, 2009

more

September 29, 2009

I was a Guardian Ad Litem volunteer who visited clients at the Shelter on a regular basis. The staff, from the kitchen to the counselors, offered full assistance to my efforts. The children knew they were surrounded by people who care.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the caring and family atmosphere and the efforts to make the shelter feel like a true home.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 29, 2009

more

September 29, 2009

I volunteered in the office of the Florida Keys Children's Shleter and can vouch for the staff's professionalism and concern for children in our community.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

learning that the children come first and sadly, that their is real need for its services.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers