Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

What an absolute JOY it was to visit the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary in January. I learned of this extraordinary sanctuary while doing estate planning for my five companion parrots. The moment I stepped foot on the property, I was struck by the beauty of the sanctuary and the peaceful, welcoming environment created for these Ambassadors of the Parrot Nation. I practice and teach the healing arts, and after touring the sanctuary, Pat Norton allowed me to play Native American healing flute for the birds and to participate in serving a client who was relinquishing their beloved male Indian Ringneck parrot to the sanctuary. I listened to joyful calls from a female Indian RIngneck parrot already living at the sanctuary to this new bird, and watched and played the flute while Pat introduced them. It was an amazing experience, as one bird welcomed the other as if she had been missing him her entire life! I witnessed Pat's incredible, comforting Presence and expertise as she talked to the family and the birds, creating for all of us a serene space of transition for family and parrot to a new life. After the family left, I walked the grounds and visited each flight. Then, Pat helped me through my fear of working with macaws by taking me into the macaw flight, and showing me how to feed them almonds. Once I overcame my fear, one by one, these beautiful macaws would land on my arms and take two almonds from my hand or the bucket I held containing these precious treats! I spent many hours at the sanctuary, witnessing the incredible compassion and love Pat, her family, and the volunteers have for all the birds. I left part of me at the sanctuary, knowing I had found the future home of my parrots and me, as my dream is to transition my birds to the sanctuary and volunteer there for the remainder of my life. I became a member of FEBS, and hope to return there permanently as soon as I can relocate. I am helping the sanctuary now by donations, and am so relieved to know that my family of five have the very best home awaiting them at FEBS. I am ever so grateful to have met Pat, whose loving presence and friendship is also helping me through the trials of being the sole caregiver for a family member with a chronic illness. You see, the love and concern Pat has for the parrots also extends to every living Being whose life she touches. She is a fantastic manager and business person, too, with a vision to expand the sanctuary so that more parrots and families like mine can be served in the future. I also participated in a matching funds program, which doubled the contribution I made to FEBS. I highly recommend FEBS as one of the Great Nonprofits in our country, and am deeply grateful to Pat and her staff for the loving work of their Hearts and Hands for our parrot companions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I needed a safe and as close to natural setting available for my parrot and Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary was perfect. The intake process of bringing my bird to the sanctuary, learning what the quarantine process was, and then seeing the aviary he would be joining was great.

I came to
visit several weeks later and my bird was doing great! The aviary is large and open with plenty of room to fly, play with the other birds and toys, and be a bird. This is what I wanted for my baby. He also has found a buddy who preens and loves him. I couldn't be happier.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

Yes, my brother, only 3 years older than me, had passed away. He left his two exotic Amazon Double Yellow-Head Parrots (Cisco and Ciara), and a large, wonderful cat that I now call, Chappy. I fostered his parrots for about 7 months, and it was a love affair from the beginning, but at my age then (65) realized they were just too much for me to handle in a way that was the best for 'them'.

I began an intensive research on what would be the best environment for them regarding a new home: Try to find someone to pass them over to, or surrender them to a bird sanctuary! I talked with others I knew that had parrots, and I GOOGLED for sanctuaries across the USA. I found several, a couple in California, one near the east coast, and two in Florida. After reading about them, and making contacts with some of the sanctuaries, I decided - WITHOUT A DOUBT - the best place for them was the FLORIDA EXOTIC BIRD SANCTUARY (FEBS) in Wesley Chapel, Florida (currently).

As I talked with Patricia (Owner/Founder, and Avian Veterinarian) of the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary I realized this was the best place for any domesticated parrot. From the time we pulled into the driveway at the FEBS we were immediately greeted by a volunteer and Patricia. -- My parrots were both very, very keen on all the sounds of all the many, many parrots (380) already residing at the sanctuary. -- We transferred Cisco & Ciara into a large 'holding' cage (that they had waiting for them) located in the holding area. Then, we were given a thorough tour of the sanctuary.

FEBS is a wonderful, non-for-profit organization, that truly understands and cares for the needs of these beautiful birds. This sanctuary does now allow the bird to breed, nor do they sell or adopt out any of the birds; the parrots will live out the remainder of their life socializing with other parrots of their kind; feeling free and able to actually 'fly' as they were naturally meant to live. All of the parrots that are surrendered to the sanctuary are gently cared for by the staff and volunteers.

I surrendered my brother's parrots (Cisco & Ciara) to the sanctuary in November 2013 and I plan to visit them maybe this Fall 2014. I am hoping they will remember me, and I cannot wait too see how they are getting along, if they have grown, and how happy they are now . . . socializing with other Amazons and feeling free!

I cannot find the best words to express how I feel about the sanctuary that Patricia has founded, from her love of birds / exotic birds, and from her keen awareness of the need for such a sanctuary.

Barbara Spanknoble, Lenexa, Kansas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes . . . but I know that changes are in place for enlarging the sanctuary, and for building more and larger aviaries for each parrot group. It will be wonderful!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 8, 2013

In early 2013, it became abundantly clear that our beloved 20 year old Yellow Nape was no longer getting the attention she so richly deserved. I was working long hours and my wife worked from home and... more

July 11, 2014

Patricia Norton (and her staff at Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary) is just an extraordinary individual that has given her life to the rescue of exotic birds. She tirelessly works to care for over 300 birds on a daily basis in addition to her ongoing fundraising efforts to support the needs of the birds and sanctuary grounds. We took our beloved yellow Nape "Alex" to her 18 months ago and I Thank God everyday for Patricia and FEBS. There is no finer exotic bird rescue in the United States and I wholeheartedly will continue to support Patricia and FEBS for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

In early 2013, it became abundantly clear that our beloved 20 year old Yellow Nape was no longer getting the attention she so richly deserved. I was working long hours and my wife worked from home and did not truly have time for Alex who was my bird from the start. I was quite distraught but realized that placing her was best in the long run for all of us. I did not ever want her to be adopted but instead placed in a "sanctuary" where she could live her life with other birds.

I looked all over the country and was so blessed to find Patricia and FEBS. After multiple calls and emails, final plans were made to take Alex to Florida.

I boarded the plane, sitting in the last row against the window with Alex on my lap. She drew quite a crowd! Landing in Orlando, I got my rental car and off to FEBS I ventured. Knowing this was my last time with Alex, I put her on my shoulder (her favorite place to ride in the car), turned up the radio and off we went.

Arriving 75 minutes later at FEBS, I was greeted by Patricia and given a tour. We put Alex in her acclimation cage and I decided I'd better go. I was absolutely overwhelmed with grief! I know, she's just a bird but unless you've had one, you just don't get it.

Over the next few weeks, Patricia kept me updated on how Allie was doing and sent some photos. All good in her getting acclimated to Florida, the other birds, the food, everything. It was amazing to me how Patricia had a plan for getting Allie comfortable one step at a time.

About 45 days later, I got additional photos of Allie in the AMAZON Flight with all the other Amazons. She could finally "just be a bird". Incredible relief to me.

There is no better place that Alex could be than FEBS. I'm grateful every single day for the care and sanctuary that Patricia and her devoted staff and volunteers provide. I plan on going to visit over the holiday! Thank you, FEBS!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 15, 2013

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary continues to do great work in helping abandoned or neglected parrots. Recently through the help of a supporter they were able to rescue a parrot that was poorly treated ... more

July 11, 2014

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary continues to exceed my expectations as they work hard to expand their facility. They have used your generous donations to purchase land that has the potential to let them double the number of birds that they can care for. With an ever increasing number of birds that are relinquished or abandoned because of economic issues, they are bursting at the seams and need the space. They are creative and successful in approaching and getting help from local businesses. Any dollar donated here is well spent and maximized.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary continues to do great work in helping abandoned or neglected parrots. Recently through the help of a supporter they were able to rescue a parrot that was poorly treated and had plucking issues. This bird is now happy and growing new feathers. This is just one of many success stories for this organization. Check out their website, subscribe to their blog and learn about all they do. Then contribute what you can so they can expand their work. We do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

My husband and I were recently excited to find a quality sanctuary for exotic birds (parrots) close to our home. We had been looking for a place to place our parrots when our health no longer allows us to properly care for them. Many pet parrots live for 60-80 years and are shuffled from person to person as their owners become debilitated or pass on. FEBS gives these birds a forever home where they can be birds. They are housed in outdoor cages and flights where they can fly, call each other and interact with their own species. The grounds and cages are immaculate and the director, Patricia Norton, is extrememly knowledgable. FEBS has an impressive Board of Directors and a good volunteer and donor network. They are currently looking to buy a larger property and expand because there are many more birds that need homes than they can accomodate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

My much loved Blue and Gold now lives at Pat's sanctuary. Hardest decision ever made but the best one ever made too... He loves it there. He is free to fly and now has a girlfriend mate. I don't h... more

July 23, 2013

Three years ago I brought by Blue and Gold Macaw to live at the sanctuary. I have visited a few times and he is happy, content and, I think, in love.... I could not have picked a better place for my beloved bird and knowing he is happy makes me happy. I now donate regularly to Pat's sanctuary as a way to take care of him and other birds that are so kindly adopted by Pat. I hope that everyone understands how hard it is to take care of these wonderful creatures and helps to keep the sanctuary going.

Best Regards,

Nearly New Thrift
Benefiting Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

My much loved Blue and Gold now lives at Pat's sanctuary. Hardest decision ever made but the best one ever made too... He loves it there. He is free to fly and now has a girlfriend mate. I don't have to worry because I know Pat takes good care of her birds. I will always love him but I know I did the right thing. thank you pat...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

As age related health issues became an issue as to how well we could provide a quality social life to Sugar (Mollucan cockatoo) we began our 2 year search for a quality home . After checking adaption ... more

April 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After 2 years of searching and investigating I found FEBS. Several visits reenforced my hopes for a sanctuary that had large flights, was clean, not overcrowded and fed the birds a great diet. I placed Sugar, Mollucan cockatoo, there to have a happy social life with room to fly and never be sold or bred. During my recent visit I was invited into the cockatoo flight where I was instantly welcomed by friendly birds that wanted to perch on me and be stroked. I know without doubt that I've placed my love of 20 years with the finest sanctuary. Bless Pat norton and her dedicated staff

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As age related health issues became an issue as to how well we could provide a quality social life to Sugar (Mollucan cockatoo) we began our 2 year search for a quality home . After checking adaption sites from Florida to Washington state we twice visited FEBS and found it to be a beatifully maintained facility staffed by hard working and very compassionate people under the leadership of Pat Norton. The adapted birds of all species enjoy a life in large flights. Surprisingly in spite of the number of birds, Pat and her staff know each one by name. Sugar was carefully introduced into a large flight with other cockatoos and is now enjoying life as a family member. This was an extremely dificult decision to part with him as we had him from the time he was a 14 gram neonate til now(22 years). It is comforting to know that he will always be fed, cared for and never be sold to anyone as a breeder or pet. Hopefully in the near future FEBS will find a larger property so they can expand their mission.Let us not forget that they need our continued support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I appreciate all the loving work that goes into caring for these amazing, smart animals. Great job!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary took in our Sun Conure Dexter. My family is so happy and thankful Dexter has a home that he will enjoy and be safe. This organization is amazing and provides an amazi... more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A truly amazing organization and very thankful for the sanctuary taking care of our sun conure. Will always be a donor to the Exotic Bird Sanctuary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary took in our Sun Conure Dexter. My family is so happy and thankful Dexter has a home that he will enjoy and be safe. This organization is amazing and provides an amazing home for birds. It is very well run and we are very lucky to have them. I would again like to thank the FEBS for everything they do. Forever Grateful

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I was really impressed with the way FEBS cares for all their birds and you can tell that all their feathered residents are happy, healthy and absolutely adore their caretakers. FEBS makes sure that al... more

April 10, 2013

I am overwhelmed by the work that the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary does. Never have I seen so much compassion and love devoted to such a wonderful cause. The birds that come to this sanctuary need tons of attention, love, and caring and they ALL get just that. It's amazing! So many of these birds would never have had an opportunity to live a happy, healthy, quality life of just 'being a bird' had it not been for this organization. All the birds that make FEBS their 'Forever Home' thrive here even the ones that come in bad shape. With lots of love and attention they all relax, recover, and settle in with their new family - human AND feathered! Because of the passion and compassion that FEBS maintains my fiance and I have sponsored one of the birds there! This is an organization that I can stand behind and support! I hope you decide to as well!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I was really impressed with the way FEBS cares for all their birds and you can tell that all their feathered residents are happy, healthy and absolutely adore their caretakers. FEBS makes sure that all the birds that come to live at their Sanctuary are healthy and happy and have plenty of interaction which is the thing that they need the most. They also provide an environment where birds can just be birds. The giant flight aviary that they have allows the birds to fly as they would in nature. FEBS also does not breed or adopt out. The birds that go to FEBS go there either because they've been abused, their stressed out or their families can not provide for them well enough anymore for whatever situation. When these birds go to FEBS they are arriving at their 'Forever home' where they can be a bird once again. I love this organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer