Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
153 Reviews
1234.980395
Write A Review
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary (FEBS) is a very-very special place filling a most urgent need. People from all over Florida and indeed the country believe, usually for a short while, that they want an exotic bird in their lives, but soon, they realize that these amazing bird were never meant to be stuck in a cage (no matter how big) and once the bird becomes lonely or depressed and acts our and/or just acts like a bird does, they become expendable. These amazing creatures that can live as long or longer than most of us. They didn't choose this life and for most parrots, it only gets worst for them as the years go by. That is why FEBS is so special and critically needed. At FEBS, the staff has a true passion for these poor animals, many of them neglected or abused. Outside of living in the wild like they were meant to but cannot now because they are dependent on humans for survival, the Florida Exotic Bird Sanctuary is the next best thing for the helpless creatures. I implore anyone who reads this to visit the sanctuary, and the next time you see a bird flying wild, think of these precious animals and instead of getting your usual Starbucks that week, send a donation to FEBS - and let us all thank them for the incredible, much-needed safe harbor they offer the birds in their good care.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

As a prior breeder of African Grey's, and with having rescued numerous large parrots over the years, it was a relief to find an organization dedicated to providing permanent homes for parrots outside of the pet trade. The economy hit hard in my home, and I needed to find the right place for my Moluccan Cockatoo and Citron Crested Cockatoo. After much research, and speaking with Pat, I knew that this was the right home for my girls. And having seen my parrots happy and thriving, I know I made the right choice. FEBS is well run, and every member/volunteer cares about the well being of every bird in the sanctuary. Thank you Pat!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been supporting FEBS for a couple of years as their veterinarian. I must say they take care of the animals with full understanding of their needs. The birds get check ups and veterinary care regularly. These birds are happy, healthy and cared for with love.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As a retiring veterinarian moving to a more northern climate, I needed to rehouse my 20 year old Macaw, Dude in a situation that would meet his needs and my protective instincts. My research led me to Pat and FEBS. After meeting Pat and touring FEBS, I quickly came to the conclusion that I had found Dude's true sanctuary. I found both the facility and the philosophy and commitment of FEBS staff and volunteers to be outstanding. It has been a relief and a blessing to have FEBS there to soften the impact of having to 'leave' my friend. His adjustment was compassionately managed, successfully, and he even has a Blue & Gold Macaw girlfriend now! I recommend and commend FEBS for their dedication and compassion for these special, intelligent and social creatures.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have know Pat Norton and this Sanctuary for many years. I respect the work that is being done there and is a well run and efficient org. This facility is very clean and impecably maintained. The need for this Sanctuary is huge and I hope that they attain some Corporate funding to help them with this very important work and much needed expansion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Learn about and interact with over 300 Rescued Parrots! Volunteer